We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicken polo Asada”
Review of Jalapeno Tree

Jalapeno Tree
Ranked #2 of 65 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Good for: Bar scene
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Chicken polo Asada”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely love it, which includes a butter sauce, rice and beans, two chicken breasts to die for and a complimentary ice cream cone.

Helpful?
Thank Nuthead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    32
    18
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great green sauce, good enchiladas, great service”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Visited around lunch time. This is my fav Mexican restaurant in Athens. Love the green sauce that comes with the chips. The salsa is good also. I had beef enchiladas and some charro beans. I ordered alacarte, so my total bill was less than $5 which was quite a deal! Took half home for later, great even microwaved as leftovers.

Had great service. I was alone, and I drink a lot of water. Only had to wait a minute or so one time, so the waitress did great keeping up. I probably had six glasses. Not keeping my water filled is usually my pet peeve. So I tipped well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azle, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Try the green dipping sauce that comes with the chips. It is amazing. Everyone in our group was impressed with the food. We showed up with 9 people, and they were able to seat us in a banquet room where we could talk and laugh without disturbing others.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“First Tex-Mex experience. HIGHLY recommended”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Yes, even though I married a Texan, this was my first "official" Tex-Mex dining experience. My brother and sister-in-law took me here and I was quite impressed.

Soon cold and frosty XXs were on the table to compliment the chips and salsa. Always a winning combination.

I ordered the smoked brisket tacos and they were very good. However, if I had to do it again I would order the well Kabob's. My BIL offered me a bite of his and after accepting it I realized that he had chosen the better portion. He also offered me one of his grilled Jalapeno peppers. I of course accepted it but immediately regretted it. If one is from the NW land of Germans and Scandinavians like I am, PLEASE be cautious here. I sampled the smallest bite possible from the pepper and nearly DIED!

The Jalapeno Tree is a must stop when in town. I will be back

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good service, not bad Tex Mex-”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had been to several other higher-end Tex Mex restaurants over our four-day visit in the Athens area, and frankly, this was pretty good. Service was quick, although we didn't get the margarita we had ordered (strawberry), the regular one was pretty good. Free ice cream machine was broken, so the 8-year-old was disappointed, but other than that, we enjoyed it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank wingbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalapeno Tree also viewed

 

Been to Jalapeno Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing