We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Athens
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I cannot even begin to capture in words how truly horrible our experience was in this hotel. We were booked for two nights and the only positive thing I can say is that they didn't charge us for the second night...when we cancelled after staying the 1st night!

There were 11 of us...taking a girl's trip to Canton. 3 rooms. None of the rooms were even close to satisfactory.

Bugs, both dead and alive. Cigarette smoke smell throughout the entire hotel. Air conditioning did not cool. Lock on door was broken. (BTW - rooms had two exterior doors, a window and a door between it and the adjoining room...didn't make us feel very safe.)

We slept with the lights on, because of the bugs.

We debated sleeping in our car, but weren't sure of the safety of the neighborhood.

We went to the front desk to get more towels and were told that they didn't have extra because out of the 80 rooms, 41 were occupied. Huh? So they only had two towels per room...for 1/2 of their rooms? He eventually produced a few more towels, but by that time several in our group bought towels, pillows and blankets at Walmart.

I could literally go on and on about the hotel, but the bottom line is...don't stay here.

Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dk1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviathenstx, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn Athens, TX for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Maintenance was informed of your report of bugs and instructed to look into the matter and see to their complete extermination.
• Maintenance was approached about finding a way to stop the cigarette smoke from entering the non-smoking rooms.
• Maintenance was informed of the Room Lock and A.C in the room assigned to you and instructed to see to its repair.
• Management was approached about the possibility of upgrading the towels and linens.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once
Regards

Hotel Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    3
    5
    18
See reviews for
10
5
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
League City, Texas
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Old and run down. Rooms were very hot as air conditioners were not on so it was a long time before room cooled down. The hotel smelled like smoke even though my room was non smoking. The breakfast was cereal only that had ants crawling all over it and they had ran out of milk. It was disgusting!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviathenstx, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your attempt to stay at Americas Best Value Inn Athens, TX during your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following action was taken:

• Maintenance was informed of your report of the Air conditioners and instructed to see to its repair or replacement.
• Maintenance was approached about finding a way to stop the cigarette smoke from entering the non-smoking rooms.
• Breakfast staff received additional training in presenting a proper breakfast, having the area properly maintained and ready to open at the time designated.

We do take our guests’ reviews seriously and I hope that things will change so that the next time you visit our area, you will feel secure in staying at Americas Best Value Inn Athens, TX. We look forward to welcoming you.

Sincerely,
Hotel Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
204 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

The bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean. Those are the nicest things I can say. The lobby smells of stale cigarettes, the clerk hasn't seen a razor in days. The pretty pool you see in the pictures is empty and covered with a blue tarp. There were cobwebs with dead spiders in the corners of the room. Our dresser was missing a drawer and the lamp shade was stained and cracked. I stay in one of these when I go to Glen Rose and its nice. I don't understand how they could let this one get run down so.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noblehousecatering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviathenstx, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your attempt to stay at Americas Best Value Inn Athens, TX during your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following action was taken:

• I am glad that you find our room clean and bed comfortable. Housekeeping department received our commendation.
• Maintenance was informed of the odor of cigarette smoke you reported smelling in the Lobby area and instructed to see what could be done to eliminate it.
• Pool staff received additional training in keeping the pool properly clean and open.
• Maintenance was informed of your report of possible dead Spider and instructed to look into the matter and to see to their elimination.

We do take our guests’ reviews seriously and I hope that things will change so that the next time you visit our area, you will feel secure in staying at Americas Best Value Inn Athens, TX. We look forward to welcoming you.

Sincerely,
Hotel Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel needs work. There's roaches (dead and alive) all over the place. The beds are pretty comfortable, but the atmosphere is nasty. It smells like smoke everywhere. The service isn't too good either. When the remote in our room stopped working, I had to go to the desk about three times. And when I asked for a TV guide, even though they were right in front of him, he didn;t know where they were. This isn't the best place to stay. If nearby hotels aren't filled up yet, please reserve a spot somewhere else instead.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Austin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviathenstx, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your attempt to stay at Americas Best Value Inn Athens, TX during your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following action was taken:

• I am glad that you find our bed comfortable. Housekeeping department received our commendation.
• Maintenance was informed of the odor of cigarette smoke you reported smelling in the room and instructed to see what could be done to eliminate it.
• Front desk staff received additional training in the courteous, helpful manner in which they are to treat our valued guests.

We do take our guests’ reviews seriously and I hope that things will change so that the next time you visit our area, you will feel secure in staying at Americas Best Value Inn Athens, TX. We look forward to welcoming you.

Sincerely,
Hotel Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

If you are a mother and you long for a weekend away and you wait until the last minute to decide to go to Trade Days, you may be tempted to look past these horrid reviews. I encourage you to not to. The only good thing about the night we spent in this hotel is the horror stories we continue to regale our friends with.

We arrived very late (we both have day jobs and had to arrange child care for the weekend before getting on the road from north Houston) and as we were walking up a man outside smoking informed us that he had just about given away our room as it was the last one uninhabited. This despite the fact that we had called ahead to warn that we would arrive very late. The "disco" within the hotel was hopping but we were ready for some sleep so we could be up early for a day of shopping.

I still don't know why we didn't leave. I guess because we knew there would be no other options (although the car would probably have been an improvement). The room was GROSS. Several LARGE stains and cigarette burns completely through the quilts. Complimentary hairs (long and short) on the towels and pillowcases. I'm pretty sure nothing had been washed between the previous guests and us. The bathroom was also full of stains in the sink, old fixtures that were rusty/stained, etc. We put t-shirts over the pillow cases and slept fully clothed with our pants tucked into our socks.

I realize that such things are subjective. I don't see myself as picky, and certainly I don't mind shabby hotels, as long as they are clean. This place was downright scary. Avoid.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviathenstx, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn Athens, TX for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Maintenance was informed of your report of bugs and instructed to look into the matter and see to their complete extermination.
• Maintenance was approached about finding a way to stop the cigarette smoke from entering the non-smoking rooms.

• Maintenance was informed of the Room Lock and A.C in the room assigned to you and instructed to see to its repair.

• Management was approached about the possibility of upgrading the towels and linens.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once

Regards

Hotel Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

I stayed here this past Feb and was very happy with my stay. The was staff was well trained and rooms were in great conditions. I would stay here again next time i am in town. The location was great and the bar had good drinks..

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Caliguy5983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management1700, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share a review about our hotel. We are happy to know you enjoyed your visit. We take great pride in exceeding guest expectations. We look forward to another opportunity to service your future lodging needs.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athens
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Hotel & Suites
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Royal Mountain Inn & Suites
19.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Gun Barrel City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Mabank
Comfort Suites Mabank
#1 of 1 in Mabank
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
19.8 mi away
Days Inn Gun Barrel City
Days Inn Gun Barrel City
#2 of 2 in Gun Barrel City
3.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Athens TX
Super 8 Athens TX
#3 of 7 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 716 E Tyler St, Athens, TX 75751 (Formerly Spanish Trace Inn)
Location: United States > Texas > Athens
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn is situated in Athens. Guests are served a complimentary breakfast. In addition to an outdoor pool and self parking, Americas Best Value Inn features air conditioning in public areas. Complimentary wireless Internet access is available in public areas. Guest parking is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing