We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TEXAS FRESHWATER FISHERIES CENTER”

Texas Freshwater Fisheries Center
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
TEXAS
Level Contributor
217 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“TEXAS FRESHWATER FISHERIES CENTER”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This another must see if you are in the area, even if you have to drive out of your way.It is all done very well. The staff is well informed and are glad to share it with you. They even have a fishing pond.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BUDCARTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    20
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“DAYTRIP PLUS”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Wonderful site for youngsters and adults. Staff accomodating and clean site. Freshwater fish education interesting and entertaining. Great day trip for family.

Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyler
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well done! Lots of fun =) 100 degrees? Really?”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

It was hot, but we had a cooler with drinks for the kids (boys 8 & 10, first time fishing) and the trees that surround the fishing pond provided refuge; also, water fountains and vending machines are available. Very reasonably priced for family fun, less than a movie, more fun in my opinion (and I don’t like fishing). Outside, fishing (catch & release) with instruction and assistance, walkways, tables, areas for relaxing. Inside, emphasis in the importance of water for life cycles, nice displays and well planned navigation through the fisheries and the aquariums as you walk in from the entrance; finishing, of course, with the gift shop! There is no perfection ☺, but if you’re looking for a cute stuffed catfish, maybe the best ending to a really fun day?

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great for little kids”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We took our grandson to see the huge fish they have, and to fish in one of their ponds. Really fun and interesting. Very well done facility.

Helpful?
2 Thank ggof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lott, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Fun!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I was recently there with a large group of people and had a great time. There was lots of educational things to do and the fishing ponds are great.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas Freshwater Fisheries Center also viewed

 

Been to Texas Freshwater Fisheries Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing