We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice breakfast buffet!”
Review of Athens Cafe

Athens Cafe
Ranked #28 of 65 Restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: American, Mexican
Restaurant details
League City, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast buffet!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Our dive club was in Athens for the weekend, and we decided to eat breakfast here. I am glad we chose this place, as the breakfast buffet was very tasty with lots of selections at a good price. You can have omelets made to order, and I had mine made with chorizo (Mexican sausage), jalapeno peppers and cheese.

Their version of chilaquiles (a type of egg, tortilla and bean casserole) was packed with flavor.

The staff was friendly and helpful, and our coffee cups were kept full.

We will definitely eat here again the next time we are in Athens.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    14
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas, USA
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Value . . .”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Strip center restaurant. Good breakfasts. Basic American menu heavy leanings to Mexican food. All good but nothing really special except Fajitas night each week. Good service. Reasonable prices. Clean. We go back every now and then but don't make a special trip.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RalphRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty good eats”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Had breakfast and it was good. Place seems popular with the locals. Good prices. Home . Potatoes were a little dry. Service was fine. Is sort of a mexican restaurant that serves American food. Overall a good experience.

Helpful?
Thank elmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, good breakfast”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Had breakfast - eggs, ham, biscuits, coffee. Good and good value. Clean. Little slow on refilling the coffee.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank fonsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good basic Country with a little Tex Mex thrown in”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Title largely covers it. They've got pretty good country cooking (Chicken Fried Steak, etc.) and some Tex Mex options. I've gone several times. Probably the best place in Athens for dinner.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athens Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Athens Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing