We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a unique Texas BBQ joint”
Review of Cokers Bar-B-Q

Cokers Bar-B-Q
Ranked #88 of 799 Restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“a unique Texas BBQ joint”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

OK, the restaurant itself needs freshening to both outside and interior. The Coca Cola memorabilia is cool. As for the food, five of us came looking for Texas BBQ from local (not chain) BBQ joints and Cokers did not disappoint.

The five in our party tried just about everything and loved it all, especially the pulled pork, brisket, chicken, smoked sausage, and coleslaw. A few items were a bit over-salted and a few items were not quite as smoke-flavored as we'd expected. However, the portions were generous. Our server was excellent.

We agreed that we’ll return, individually or together.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wind_walker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cranfills Gap, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good service made up for average BBQ.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Waitress was very pleasant and helpful. She came around often and made sure we were fine. But with only 3 tables with customers, there was no rush.

BBQ was dried and ribs had little meat. They are cutting costs by buying cheaper meat. Vegetables were plain and there is no originality in the kitchen. But, no surprises and plain unexciting food, probably last time we go there. We love BBQ, but we can buy stuff like this at SAMs.

Did I say the staff was nice and service excellent?

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Texakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had experienced less than stellar BBQ on our trip to TX but the hotel staff reccommended this place it was very tasty, service was friendly and attentive, but the place is a little sad, our table cloth was shabby and would be so inexpensive to replace... the rug could use a stretching (trip hazard) and a cleaning, but it didn't take away from the good smoked ribs, and sampler plate we enjoyed. Reasonably priced too. Our waitress sent us on our way w/ a take out of our drinks and tasty dessert, banana pudding and blackberry cobbler Yum!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Food was average,service was great”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This barbeque establishment had average food, the ribs were full of meat and the barbeque sauce was sweet. The beverages (Coke is recommended) were adundant. Service was exceptional as was the cobbler.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vernon NY
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great service, decent food”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Went to Cokers because Dave's was closed on Mondays. Meat was very tender, but not steeped in BBQ sauce, all you can eat dinner was a great value and the staff was great and accomodating. Recommend the pulled pork. Worthy of note: they serve no alcohol but allow you to bring your own.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cokers Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Cokers Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing