We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect except for a couple things”
Review of The Sanford House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sanford House
Ranked #1 of 3 Arlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2010

We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa. Our villa was clean and decorated very nice. The main reason we we were disappointed was the jet in the jacuzzi was spitting out nasty grim and we didn't notice until after we got in the water. This really bothered me that the jacuzzi was not maintained properly and checked when being cleaned. The staff went out of their way to treat us kindly. The bartender even brought us free drinks to the pool; very above and beyond. It is located in a bad neighborhood but their is a wooden gate around where you park and it seems secure. They do not offer enough choices for breakfast. It is eggs or egg tacos which really didn't go well with our son who hates eggs. We also had a horrible iron in our room which did nothing but soak my clothes and leak water. Overall the grounds are beautiful and peaceful. We loved walking through the grounds and hanging out at the pool. It is a great place to relax. I did tell them about the jacuzzi when I checked out so they could get it fixed. It is a nice place to stay if you are in the area; however our children only liked the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreamyone21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 249 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Regency cottage and everything about it was just wonderful. The room and bathroom were beautiful, spacious, the perfect for a romantic getaway.
I saw some negative reviews for the breakfast, but it must have changed, because it was great. Delicious fruit, coffee cake, eggs, bacon, breakfast potatoes and biscuit, (there are more options) just thinking about it makes me quite hungry. My husband is not a breakfast person but he got the breakfast tacos and loved them. The cookies and juice in the room were also beyond delicious.
The only thing that wasn't great was all the road construction going on around the place, but it didn't cause too much of a hassle. I would seriously recommend staying here to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomasinakl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

The room, the staff, the setting, the breakfast were all absolutely wonderful in every way. This was my first visit to Arlington and I would definitely plan to stay here if I visit this lovely City again.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elderassoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

The sandford house has beautiful decor and very nice garden. Breakfast was ok. Only two chioces and both are eggs. Day receptionist was a bit snooty but night receptionist was great. That is overlooked due to the service. There was a houskeeper... I wish I got her name... that went beyond the call of duty. My husband and I were enjoying sitting by the pool and she brought us water in an icebucket. We didn't ask for it but she brought it and said she would like water if she was in our shoes. Thank you so much to the tall blonde housekeeper for all of your efforts. We will definatly return because we were treated like family instead of guest.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonh46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Pros-Amazing service by the staff at the restaurant,front office and house keeping.

Cons-Located in a very run down neighborhood,,didn't feel safe to step out at night.
Approaching it as a hotel would have helped not a nice B&B for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

The two negative aspects of this stay were that the Sanford House is located in a questionable neighborhood and the drive way gate was broken. Whenever we wanted to leave or park our car by the Villa, we had to call the front desk so someone could come out and manually open the gate. My fiance even had to open the gate once by himself! Dinner was pretty good, but not spectacular.
But, other than that, I will say that the room more than made up for it. We stayed in one of the Villas and it was wonderful! Beautifully decorated with an oversized spa tub in the master bath, complimentary refreshments and flat screen TVs! I never knew this gem was located in Arlington and I would definitely go back! I can see why people have weddings here- the garden area was beautiful as well. I highly recommend this place for a weekend get away.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niks10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

My wife and I stayed overnight in the Verona Cottage. The furnishings, bedding, drapes, and woodwork were lovely; what you would expect to find in a 4 or 5 star Inn, B&B or hotel. However we feel more attention should be paid to the details that often stick in the minds of guests and may determine if they will return for a second or third visit. We found a straight pin and a staple stuck in the bedroom carpet, and a discarded laundry receipt alongside the dresser. The ironing board attached to the inside of a closet door was a unique location except for the fact the cord on the iron was not long enough to reach an outlet, so we required an extention cord. The bottom of the iron was scorched black and unuseable. It was replaced with another iron that spit out black flecks along with the steam that soiled my wife's blouse. The television required 15 to 20 minutes of tinkering by the maintenance man before it would work. We also noticed the grill for the A/C return duct in the Seasons Cafe was caked with dirt. These are the kind of details we thought were lacking and ultimately took away from the beautiful furnishings. On the brighter side, we found the staff delightful and helpful.

Charles and Cheryl Terry
[--]

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C00l_Granny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Arlington North 6 Flags Dr
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Arlington Hotel
Sheraton Arlington Hotel
#7 of 62 in Arlington
420 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Arlington
Hilton Arlington
#2 of 62 in Arlington
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Dallas Arlington/Entertainment District
2.7 mi away
Blue Cypress Hotel
Blue Cypress Hotel
#16 of 62 in Arlington
422 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Arlington
Holiday Inn Arlington
#6 of 62 in Arlington
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sanford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanford House

Address: 506 N Center St, Arlington, TX 76011-7145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Arlington
Price Range: $188 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sanford House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanford House is a luxurious Boutique Hotel located in historic downtown Arlington, Texas. With its 12 elegant accommodations, a fine dining restaurant, and a full service spa, a stay here is a remarkable experience. The Inn is conveniently located just minutes from the Cowboys stadium, Texas Rangers ballpark, University of Texas at Arlington, and Six Flags over Texas. A full breakfast is included with all overnight stays. Homemade cookies are customary in your room on arrival. Restaurant 506 at The Sanford House features inspired American cuisine. The culinary team creates delicious seasonal menus which are hand-made with the freshest ingredients. The Award Winning Sanford Spa & Salon is a stunning venue where men and women can experience an abundant selection of salon and spa services. The professional technicians are available Tuesdays-Saturdays to provide all personal care services. Treat yourself to a relaxing getaway at The Sanford House Inn & Spa. Book your stay today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sanford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sanford House Hotel Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing