We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful retreat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sanford House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sanford House
Ranked #1 of 3 Arlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
McKinney, Texas
1 review
“Wonderful retreat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I attended a Mom's Retreat at the Sanford House in March. The grounds are beautiful! Everyone enjoyed the luxurious rooms and dining, which felt like a treat, but not stuffy. We enjoyed various spa treatments at Sanford Spa (next door). The staff was over-the-top friendly, helpful and professional. We walked down to Babe's Chicken (just a block down the street) for dinner one night, but ate the rest of our meals at Sanford House. Everything was great. We have already booked Sanford House for our event next year, and I'm personally planning on going there for a weekend on my anniversary.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    27
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
25
134
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We held a moms retreat at The Sanford house for two nights and rented the entire facility. The staff was amazing and very accommodating. The meals were wonderful and the rooms were spacious and beautiful. We also utilized their spa across the street and it was a great treat! I would recommend this hidden jewel to anyone looking for a spacious retreat facility in the midst of the city!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, PA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I spent three nights here recently while on business at UT Arlington. Perhaps I would be more effusive had I been here with my husband, but as a business traveler I found it good but not exceptional. My room was huge and luxurious (the Strauss room- it was the old honeymoon suite), but the bath products were of questionable quality, and I had to share a coffee maker with a neighboring room. You also couldn't see the t.v. from the bed (it was located in a sitting area). And frankly the decor struck me as a bit overdone, even for a pseudo-Victorian B & B. The room seemed very hot- other guests had the same complaints about their rooms. Some people complained about being able to hear the train, but I never heard it. My biggest problem with this property was that there was no fitness room, and the neighborhood wasn't ideal for running (I ran anyhow, but there isn't much to see, and I was told not to run north since the neighborhood gets dicey at a certain point.) In its favor is the lovely dining room, where I was served a delicious breakfast, and the bar, which is charming, and the front desk staff, who were very competent and friendly. I forgot both my toothbrush and a comb and they had extras. I don't know that there are a lot of other options in Arlington.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PSU_travel_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Enjoyed a lovely "girls' night" in the villas. Every employee was wonderful. We highly recommend this jewel!! We loved the decor in the rooms and in the main building. The villas were very clean and situated to be very private. We had a secure parking area right by the building.

Room Tip: Villas do not have a DVD player.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

This place is Adorable!!! Great Customer Service. Great Food. Great Atmosphere. We have used The Sanford House for several small events and have been delighted with every experience; we will definitely be back! Everyone was so friendly and welcoming, and the food is always delicious!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I didn't know what to get my husband for Christmas, so I planned a staycation at this fantastic bed and breakfast! From the start they were friendly on the phone and asked what they could do for me! Of course, they offered a bottle of champagne and chocolate, so I decided to splurge! We had the Beethoven suite in the house, it has a fire place, which we got to use! So perfect and comfy. Great breakfast the next morning as well. Would highly recommend for an in town getaway~

Room Tip: If you want a fireplace, choose the Beethoven suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patlikestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Had an awesome weekend here. In town for a getaway and Dallas Stars game. Spent two nights in one of the cottages (Bristol). Dinner and breakfast was excellent. Staff was friendly. Was everything we could have hoped for. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SOS26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
2.8 mi away
Blue Cypress Hotel
Blue Cypress Hotel
#14 of 61 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Arlington
Hilton Arlington
#1 of 61 in Arlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Arlington
Comfort Suites Arlington
#5 of 61 in Arlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Arlington Hotel
Sheraton Arlington Hotel
#9 of 61 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Arlington
Hyatt Place Arlington
#7 of 61 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Arlington North 6 Flags Dr
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sanford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanford House

Property: The Sanford House
Address: 506 N. Center St., Arlington, TX 76011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sanford House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanford House is a luxurious Boutique Hotel located in historic downtown Arlington, Texas. With its 12 elegant accommodations, a fine dining restaurant, and a full service spa, a stay here is a remarkable experience. The Inn is conveniently located just minutes from the Cowboys stadium, Texas Rangers ballpark, University of Texas at Arlington, and Six Flags over Texas. A full breakfast is included with all overnight stays. Homemade cookies are customary in your room on arrival. Restaurant 506 at The Sanford House features inspired American cuisine. The culinary team creates delicious seasonal menus which are hand-made with the freshest ingredients. The Award Winning Sanford Spa & Salon is a stunning venue where men and women can experience an abundant selection of salon and spa services. The professional technicians are available Tuesdays-Saturdays to provide all personal care services. Treat yourself to a relaxing getaway at The Sanford House Inn & Spa. Book your stay today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sanford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sanford House Hotel Arlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing