We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A not so secret gem”
Review of Piccolo Mondo

Piccolo Mondo
Reserve with OpenTable
Piccolo Mondo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 804 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Collins
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A not so secret gem”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This place was only a secret to me and my friend. Wow, what a find, and then I learn my other friends had not shared it with me. Great piano and sax player at the bar, or you can stay at your table for the evening and enjoy conversation with friends or your date and have the music in the background. It was splendid from head to toe. Dinner for two and we split a bottle of wine under $90. I'll be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1959tapdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    51
    16
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in town!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Arlington has a lot of chain restaurants, so it is wonderful to have one that is not that is so good!
From the moment one walks into the restaurant you know it will be a good experience. Everyone is greeted in friendly and gracious manner. I love the fact that you can actually hear your companions' conversation without talking too loud. The food is delicious, the service excellent, don't miss this restaurant

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank erialcTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful. Every Time.”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is my absolute favorite Italian restaurant in Arlington. They have amazing service, ambiance, and food. I always get a starter caeser salad, veal marsala, and sometimes dessert. I cannot rave enough about their marsala wine sauce. They also have an excellent wine selection!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Much better than most Italian restaurants”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Dining Italian in the US is typically quite different from the real thing - both in food and ambience. I once asked a chef-owner from Tuscany why this was and he said that he and other Italians changed the style of their cooking to suit American palates. Now I recognize that I don't expect the real thing any more but it's a pleasant surprise when I find it as in the case of Piccolo Mondo. Italian food is not about pizza and stuffed pasta in a ubiquitous red sauce - it's about fresh ingredients, delicate herb flavors and sensible portions. All of these were in evidence here; the chef's selection of antipasto were great and a filet di manzo just perfect. Great value for an authentic taste of Italy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rowley32256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very good Italian food”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Have not found many good Italian restaurants in Texas. Steak and Mexican tend to dominate and there is not much in the way of good Italian here (well for a guy from the New York area anyway). Piccolo Mondo is an exception. Well prepared food, comfortable seating, good service and a nice atmosphere for dining. In the Whole Foods mall off Collins.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelnperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccolo Mondo also viewed

 

Been to Piccolo Mondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing