We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good, homestyle chicken”

Babe's Chicken Dinner House
Ranked #2 of 799 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We wanted a sit-down restaurant where people really feel at home. Where your neighbors wait on you and your whole family.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Really good, homestyle chicken”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I had a very good meal at Babe's with a group of colleagues. I'm not sure why there are previous reviews complaining about the salad - this is clearly a chicken restaurant, and it does chicken very well. Forget about the salad.

The meal started with some delicious "biscuits" (not like UK biscuits!) that were served warm, with maple syrup and honey. They were awesome.

Sides are unlimited, but I particularly recommend the excellent creamed corn, though the gravy was also exceptional.

As for the main event, the fried chicken, it was outstanding - if you're used to KFC, be prepared to never be able to go there again when you taste how it's supposed to be done. The downside is that it must be close to impossible to finish the portions; on the plus side, you can take it home.

Staff were very friendly throughout.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank largebrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    515
    184
    50
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Chicken”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I agree word for word with Texmark comments below. Good food and atmosphere, but the salad is the worst I've ever had.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xxPoisonOkiexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“I hate their salad dressing!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I've eaten here many, many times during the past 2 years and Babe's never disappoints. I've also been to the ones in Burleson and Sanger (I prefer the decor in Sanger - more rustic). The food is consistently the same at all of their locations. They make very good fried chicken, but not much better than a Church's or a Chicken Express. However, their fried catfish is comparable to the best you can get in Arlington (like Catfish Sam's). What makes them unique is the BEST Chicken Fried Steak in the area. I love their green beans, creamed corn, and mashed potatoes & cream gravy, but I'd prefer dinner rolls over their biscuits. Also, their salad consists only of limp iceberg lettuce with a sacharine-sweet dressing. Yuck! I've complained to them many times.but many people must like it. Many of the waitresses are students at the nearby University of Texas at Arlington. They are very attentive and provide excellent service. The atmosphere is "country" and sometimes the waitresses perform to the Chicken Dance. If it's your birthday, you get to wear a chicken hat. This is a very good family restaurant, but can be very noisy. Expect to sit in their covered outdoor waiting area during peak hours. I hope you find a seat near a heater if it's cold weather (and under a ceiling fan if it's hot weather).

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank texmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“For Fried Chicken. GO HERE!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Ok so friends have been telling us to go here for quite some time. They all said the fried chicken is the best and the chicken fried steak is so good, so on and so on so finally we went. And it was the best fried chicken we have ever had. So I packed up the familia and made the 10 minute trip and all I can say is I'm glad we didn't have spaghetti for dinner that day. There is no menu, so you can choose from fried chicken, fried catfish and some good 'ol chicken fried steak. The train that goes around the ceiling line had my son captivated but once the chicken got there he was focused on eating his chicken leg. Everybody gets standard sides brought to the table. Mashed potatoes, corn casserole of some sort (my favorite side), green beans and some amazing rolls. Enough said, go eat here. I gave it 4 stars because it was a little pricy per plate $11.99 but that readily fed one adult and one child.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Go hungry. Leave full.”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

What a great place to eat. I have never seen the amount of food in my life. My family of four each ordered the chicken tenders, and even after eating, we took a large bag of leftovers. Other than your drinks, the only choice we had was the meat. Veggies (corn, mashed potatoes, and green beans) came family style. Two big bowls of each. Endless supply of biscuits. Great find while in town seeing the sites.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Prouddaddyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babe's Chicken Dinner House also viewed

 

Been to Babe's Chicken Dinner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing