We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Style Food”

Babe's Chicken Dinner House
Ranked #2 of 800 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We wanted a sit-down restaurant where people really feel at home. Where your neighbors wait on you and your whole family.
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Family Style Food”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

If you are hungry for some home cooked food while in Arlington, this is it. The large portions, great service, great atmosphere, and great food make this a must see.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank amber3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    177
    48
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
150 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice decor food ok”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Family style service, unable to choose which kind of chicken pieces you just get some of each. Side servings were not large but refills were quick. Chicken was good however it was no match to Gus's fried chicken in Memphis TN

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don042053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
“Really good chicken”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We got to this restaurant on Sunday evening around 5:45 & walked right in & were seated,got our drinks & food within 15 minutes. But, by 6:30 the place was full & people waiting.
So if you don't like to wait in line, go a little earlier in the evening.
Food was great! Chicken was hot, crispy, juicy inside--a little greasy--but hey it is fried chicken
The sides mashed potatoes were creamy & delicious--not pasty. Gravy was tasty & went well on potatoes and the excellent hot biscuits.. We loved the way the corn tasted, whole kernel but creamy with some sweetness.. The Italian green beans were very good with sautéed onions.
You take home the leftover meat if there is any ( you only get 1 serving but there are 4 big pieces)
They keep refilling the sides & drinks.
My only complaint is that I like to take my drink with me & they do not have to go cups.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very awesome first time experience!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

3 of us went for the 1st time to this restaurant during a Sunday. We went early to avoid the lines other reviews previously mentioned, however it did get busy shortly after opening. 2 of us got the chicken fried steak and the other the chicken strips all with unlimited sides. All three of us enjoyed this place and definitely will be back. I tried the banana pudding which was warm, but I prefer mine chilled, so I will try a different dessert next time. Loved the place overall though!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Underdog737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Real Home Cooking”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My wife wanted some fried chicken one evening while we were vacationing in Arlington. I went on the web and found Babe's which looked good so we decided to try it. Although it was a weeknight at 8:45 p.m. it was crowded, and we were told it would be around a thirty minute wait. That was okay, as they have a nice covered waiting area outside. Once inside, the atmosphere was pretty neat. It's a large room with a very high ceiling, kind of dark, and loud but not bothersome loud. Lots of people mainly at long tables in the center of the room. The perimeter is decorated "Route 66" style with an old gas station, motor inn, church, drugstore etc. My wife and I both ordered the fried chicken, and my daughter got the smoked chicken. Before it came out, our server brought hot, fresh biscuits with honey and molasses. Then along with the chicken we got "all you can eat" home style green beans, creamed corn, and mashed potatoes. All of it was outstanding, very very homemade tasting like momma used to make. When finished we had enough chicken leftover to take to our hotel in their to go bags. And while we were too stuffed for dessert, we took home three slices of their home made fresh daily pies. They were mouth watering delicious. We've visited Arlington once a year for almost fifteen years and have always enjoyed trying new places, but now we have a favorite to come back to every time. Great food and service and also fun.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coldsooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babe's Chicken Dinner House also viewed

 

Been to Babe's Chicken Dinner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing