We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate, but wouldn't stay there again...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Arlington/dfw South
Ranked #16 of 62 Hotels in Arlington
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Adequate, but wouldn't stay there again...”
Reviewed April 14, 2007

Hawthorn Suites was ok, but I won't stay there again. This Hawthorn is an older suites hotel. It was older than I expected, but it was clean. The bed was pretty comfortable and the kitchen area was clean, but the furniture, cabinets, walls and carpet showed the age. When we arrived, it was immediately following some really bad storms which included tornadoes. The young lady at the front desk (Carrie) was very friendly, asked how our trip had been through the storms and said she'd even prepared ahead in case the power went out and had pulled all of the keys and room reservations when the tornado sirens were going off. She gave us directions that we needed for the next morning and we settled into our room. Unfortunately, the problem we had is something the hotel had no control over. There was a very large church group that was staying at the hotel. Our room was surrounded by the rooms where the little boys were staying. I never knew kids could make that much noise! The walls and floors are thin, so we could hear them loud and clear. The 2nd night we were there, I called the front desk. Carrie was there again and said she'd call the rooms and ask them to quiet down. She called and it worked for awhile, but the noise started up again. Finally they went to bed. The other problem was that because there were so many kids, we were unable to take advantage of the breakfast buffet. Carrie was also able to give us directions when we wanted to go to Grapevine Mills to shop. Without hesitation she offered to print the directions from Mapquest and also gave me a pre-printed sheet with directions to other places that were close by. SO, Carrie was awesome, the hotel was adequate, but because of the age of the hotel and the noise level, I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Liked — The service from the front desk & the clean bed.
  • Disliked — The paper thin walls and loud, noisy neighbors
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    123
    65
    50
    33
See reviews for
181
44
17
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Richmond, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2007

I knew that we had booked a suite just to have extra sleeping space and privacy for our daughter we had been planning on taking. At the last minute, she did not go along but, we kept the reservation anyway. I expected a separate bedroom from the combined living and kitchen area. We got that and then some. The kitchen was complete with full size refrig, stove, microwave, dishwasher and a raised counter with barstools. The living room including a woodburning fireplace.

The bathroom had more cupboard space than mine at home and the walk-in closet was big enough for a samll bedroom. This hotel room was more like a small apartment. Everything was great! Room service was good and the front desk personnel gave us directions and maps to ease our way around better than Expedia had.

I would recommend this place to all!

  • Liked — space
  • Disliked — nothing to complain about
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaymoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2006

We stayed in a two room suite with another couple. We are all in our mid 20's and were on a 4 day get away to Texas. The room suited us perfectly. It had two spacious bedrooms with a living room and kitchen in between. The rooms were in very good shape and the kitchen had every appliance and utensil that you would ever need. The hotel was very close to 6 flags, and right in the middle of Dallas and Ft. Worth. We booked online and got a very good deal when compared to calling the reservation desk, so it was very affordable. Also, there is a complimentary breakfast buffet each morning and complimentary drinks from 5-7 on weekday evenings!! (there is a limit of 3 drinks per person though, Texas state law). The drinks could be enjoyed in an air conditioned room or out on the patio surrounding the pool. The only drawbacks to this hotel are small bathrooms that could use a good cleaning/updating and a rather small swimming pool.

And if that is all two couples can find to gripe about in 4 days, the hotel must be doing something right!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scout1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2004

I'm amazed that this property is included in the Hyatt family of hotels. There is nothing of the Hyatt quality to be found here. Was expecting something similar to the lovely Homewood Suites of Hilton. Not so! Quite old....25-30 years...and it shows. Dark, dingy rooms....and, a pet peeve, housekeeping had not bothered to plug in all light fixtures & alarm clock, necessitating some furniture-moving on my part, which I hate to do! Piece of ceiling over shower was missing; some of exterior plumbing was corroded. Bathroom was miniscule. Miserable PC access in room....no work desk, and dataport next to small circular table did not work. Was reduced to unhooking phone and using the bed as a desk. "Suite" accommodations merely consisted of mini-fridge & microwave next to bureau in standard 2-bedded hotel-type room. This is time travel to an era of hotel accommodations I do not wish to revisit!

Helpful?
5 Thank LynnB_Huntsville_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 18, 2004


Good Value. We stayed there last July and are planning on another stay this year. Just made the reservations. Very quiet place to stay and the staff was friendly. It was close to the attractions we wanted to see and it was on the Trolley stop so that saved on parking fees at the attractions.We thought the breakfaxt was very good and filling. The rooms are large and it's nice having the sleeper sofa for the kids. Kitchen could have used an update and the pool needed cleaning. The pool was not that bad, there had been a groiup staying there and just so many people had been in the pool. My son loved it all the same.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 11, 2003

The Arlington location was in a good area and very close to where we wanted to go. The hotel needed some updateing, but overall it was a good place to stay. Most of the staff was friendly. My husband enjoyed the breakfast, but it was a little under cooked for me and ended too soon, as soon as we got the kids up and dressed they were closing down the breakfast. The pool was small but my kids enjoyed it the same. They had evening evening snacks, but we always missed it because it ended too soon. The rooms were very large and most accomodating, I wish I had brought more grocery. The TV had many chanels something for everyone.
This was a good place to stay for a family and we would probably stay they again. The value for the money is great.

  • Stayed July 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
1.7 mi away
Blue Cypress Hotel
Blue Cypress Hotel
#14 of 62 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Arlington
Hyatt Place Arlington
#8 of 62 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Arlington
Comfort Suites Arlington
#7 of 62 in Arlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Arlington
Hilton Arlington
#1 of 62 in Arlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Arlington North 6 Flags Dr
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Arlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Arlington/dfw South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Arlington/dfw South

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Arlington/dfw South
Address: 2401 Brookhollow Plaza Dr, Arlington, TX 76006-7507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Arlington/dfw South 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Arlington/dfw South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham - Arlington Dfw South Hotel Arlington
Hawthorn Suites Arlington
Arlington Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing