We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast and Excellent Food in Downtown Arlington”
Review of Flying Fish

Flying Fish
Ranked #25 of 799 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fast and Excellent Food in Downtown Arlington”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My husband and I eat her at least once a week. We really like the fast service. It typically only takes about 10 minutes to get your meal once you place an order at the counter. The prices are average for a seafood place, ranges from $7-15 for most options. Flying Fish does serve alcohol. We enjoy dining at the picnic tables on the covered outdoor patio. The interior decor has a retro diner vibe mixed with lots of fish kitch on the walls. There are a couple other restaurants (order at the counter style) and a bar on the same block: Freebirds, Twisted Root Burger, and Hooligan's Pub.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FangirlBritta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    53
    12
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Granbury, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood in a fun atmosphere!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

They have a great menu. Prices are what you would expect from a seafood place. The atmosphere is very casual and fun.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Average Catfish”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I visited Flying Fish during the early hours of lunch on a weekday. It has a nice Cajun ambiance similar to Razzos with hardwood picnic tables, and paper towels on the tables. It took less than 10 minutes to place my order, (catfish basket) and to receive it. The catfish was bland, it probably should have cooked three minutes longer, as I prefer a crunchy breading and seasoning. The fries weren't anything to write home about, but the hush puppies were flavorful and moist.

The DFW area has limited choices when it comes to seafood, but I have tasted better fried catfish from cheap to moderately priced restaurants in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Precious89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great for lunch in downtown Arlington”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We've enjoyed lunch there a couple of times. The chicken strip was average but the catfish & shrimp were light & tasty! It's so nice to have so many new options for lunch in downtown Arlington!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington,texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“dinner review-the fish meal is one of the best meals we have had in many months.”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

the fish dinner was the best meal we have eaten in the last several months.we definitely plan on going back for another wonderful dinner. the cost of the dinner was very reasonable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ned2618484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Fish also viewed

 

Been to Flying Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing