We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”
Review of Blue Cypress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Cypress Hotel
Ranked #15 of 62 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here last night in order to go to a concert at the Grand Prairie Verizon Theater. There's not much choice near the theater itself, so I highly recommend Blue Cypress - it's only a short 5-10 minute drive away. It's just a stone's throw from Six Flags and the stadiums as well. For the first time we traveled with our dogs. We have two small pups, and at $20/each for them to stay, it was much cheaper than boarding them! Perhaps this is standard for hotels that allow pets, but there was a separate hall for those with animals with a separate entrance. We thought that was great for those that are allergic or don't want to be annoyed by pets next door - very considerate and made us feel better about not irritating any neighbors with the occasional yip!

We booked through Priceline and they didn't have our reservation. They said it happens sometimes with Priceline, and we forwarded them the email confirmation and they honored it and accommodated us. Not a big deal unless they were booked up, but if you're worried I might suggest you give them a call after you book if you do so through Priceline. The room was clean and stylish, and the bed was plenty comfy. There was a nice big fridge and microwave as well, which was nice for leftovers. My only complaint was the room was terribly humid. If I had been at Six Flags all day in the heat and humidity, it would've been even more annoying, I'm sure. The rest of the hotel was fine, so perhaps it was just our room.

We ate a pizza at the restaurant in the hotel - it's called Zuri - and it was quite good! The manager said the food is all made fresh, and it was definitely better than I typically expect from hotels. We were a bit peckish around 11:30 after the concert, so we went back, and to our surprise it was converted into a nightclub/bar with a DJ and smoke machines and laser lights. There were a good number of patrons as well. Not our thing, but I'm sure it'd be nice for some of you! We didn't use any amenities, but they have an indoor and outdoor pool as well as an absolutely massive gym. We also heard that the night before they had live music and a party at the outdoor pool.

It was definitely much nicer than we expected for the price, and we'd stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    96
    55
    27
    27
See reviews for
126
76
15
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel was such a great find! As soon as we walked in, it smelled fresh and clean. There is beautiful decor and the front desk Manager and other staff were very accommodating. At the last minute, we asked to upgrade to a Family Room and our request was quickly and easily met. Definitely coming back when we are town. Many thanks!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2013

With this trip being important to my husband and I, we were looking for a nice hotel. We did not have a lot of money and the Blue Cypress fit our needs. When we arrived, I was pleased with the look and décor of the hotel. The room was nice and clean. While we were there, the staff was very pleasant and helpful and did not hesitate to help when we had any questions. They gave us advice on sites to see in Dallas. They were quick with a smile and it put my husband and I at ease. If we ever need to go to Arlington again, we will definitely choose the Blue Cypress Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just a perfect hotel fit for our family vacation! From Ahab at the front desk, to the spacious family suite, to the huge welcoming pool, we could not have asked for more. Fluffy hot waffles in the morning for me, cereal for the grand babies, breakfast was a breeze. Two exits from Six Flags, convenient to Cowboy Stadium or Ranger Ballpark. If you are wanting to dance and have a drink , club and resturant right on site. The one and only problem we had was our remote and Ahab had that fixed right away. This vacation had been long awaited and they made our week a relaxing and enjoyable time. Will definitely stay here each time we travel to this area!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimMargWheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Had to make an emergency trip to Dallas. Glad we discovered the Blue Cypress neatly standing out in the city of Arlington. The building itself is located just off the highway with it's large cypress trees adorning the property. Once walking inside, we were taken back by the wonderful marble floors and brightly colored interior walls and stylish furnishings. Once you past the friendly and polite staff, you discover the rooms which include state of the art electronics and i especially liked the automatically lit bathrooms so you don't have to turn on the light at night. The bed's are like giant pillows with plenty of bedding to keep you warm or cool while sleeping. While the hotel is located next to railroad tracks, you'd never know it. A look out the window, there's the theme park to look at which was nice. Overall....great stay, will be going back again.

Room Tip: All locations are good...but stay on first floor so you can run to the nearby restaurant facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I'm always so worried about choosing a hotel to stay at but since they recently renovated their rooms I thought we'd give it a try. Staff is very friendly when you come in, no matter what time day/night. They were very helpful in letting us know our options for late check outs and whatnot. The location was great, super close to attractions and restaurants. It's also close to other towns, like Grand Prairie, which is why we made the trip for a concert. The room was gorgeous, clean, and bed was nice and comfy. They have a pretty big gym if you are interested in working out during your trip. There is also an indoor pool, which I would say was the only let down.

Room Tip: I would recommend to choose a recently renovated room. Right now not all rooms have been redone but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca-Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I don't get date night often so on a whim we decided to last minute book. Actually since we live in Arlington we just drove up to see if they had availablity. Even though it was the Taylor Swift concert the hotel was booked but they thankfully had a room left. We honeslty thought the Hotel was not going to be the greatest. Boy were we wrong! The Hotel is stunning. The lobby is nicely decorated, huge check in counter. Everyone was so friendly. Our room was on the 6th floor. The elevators and elevator lobbies were so nice, with modern decor. Our room was fantastic! So big. We had a King Size bed and a full chaise lounge, along with a desk. The modern decor was so nice and sleek. The best thing I thought about the room was the hidden fridge. It was underneath the TV, shut away in the armoire. I hate when you go to hotels and the fridge just sits out in the open. Now my husband's favorite thing was the bed and the pillows. He loved them so much I had to look to see what kind of pillows they were so I can order him some. They were Comforel pillows by the way. Everything was so clean. You could walk around with out your shoes on.The bathroom was spotless! Another plus for me was the makeup remover towlette pack they leave in the bathroom. Those little extra touches are really great! I would totally recommend staying here, I really wish it had been longer. Even though it was only one night it honestly felt like we had a mini vacation out of town. The people were so friendly even apon check out. By the way they also have a night club/restrauant/bar that we did not get to check out because it was dress to impress and we were wearing jeans but we saw several people going in and they looked like they were having a blast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Arlington
Hilton Arlington
#1 of 62 in Arlington
1,196 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Arlington
Comfort Suites Arlington
#7 of 62 in Arlington
235 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Arlington
Hyatt Place Arlington
#8 of 62 in Arlington
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Arlington
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Arlington North 6 Flags Dr
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Arlington
Holiday Inn Arlington
#5 of 62 in Arlington
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Cypress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Cypress Hotel

Property: Blue Cypress Hotel
Address: 117 S Watson Rd, Arlington, TX 76010-2402
Location: United States > Texas > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 62 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Cypress Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a new sense of chic at Blue Cypress Hotel - an eclectic and thoroughly unique Arlington boutique hotel. Comfortable discreet yet light and playful. This elegant modern hotel exudes a cozy, relaxing vibe. The perfect mood to go out and explore or stay in and enjoy a night at the Ultra sleek Zuri Restaurant & Lounge . Intimate and uniquely elegant, our Boutique Hotel provides a place for you to get away or for a Corporate convention in Beautiful Texas. The Blue Cypress Hotel is located at the intersection of Hwy 360 & Abrams, is near Six Flags, Hurricane Harbor, AT&T stadium and Globe life Park. Amenities include an in-room refrigerator & microwave, free high-speed wireless internet access, outdoor pool, Fitness room. Also includes Free Parking and Complimentary Continental Breakfast. We offer large Family Suites and Jacuzzi suites and Banquet and Meeting facilities. We would love to have you stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Cypress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing