We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Jewel”
Review of Blue Cypress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Cypress Hotel
Ranked #14 of 62 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We choose the hotel based on the lovely photos and very reasonable prices along with reviews, but still skeptical since I mostly stay in 'named' hotels. These days it seems you never know even with a 'chain' hotel. We were very pleasantly surprised. Absolutely loved the decoration style. We didn't use the indoor pool or gym, but the area was huge and seemed to be well maintained. The room was lovely. Included refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot and hairdryer. Most hotels we stay at in a slightly higher price range only provide the coffee pot and hair dryer standard and you pay extra for the other appliances. Rooms were clean, bed firm but soft and inviting, everything in good repair. He only concern I might have with the room was you have to step up into the tub which could be hard for an older person.

Seemed to have a very small staff, but did an excellent job. Noticed minor spills in common areas were handled quickly by front desk staff. I could see if they were much busier they would need more staff, but everything handled well.

Breakfast was the usual for this price range of hotel: cereal, waffles, boiled eggs, pastries, bagels etc. Normal for the price: free, included in hotel price which if you compare was $30-50 less per night that other hotels near the convention center.

Staff: pleasant and helpful, very responsive to any questions.

We will definitely stay here again if we travel back to Dallas for business again.

Room Tip: Only wish we'd stay in the Jacuzzi Suite....would have been nice after a long day of business.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TSTJG45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hshall, Manager at Blue Cypress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

We always love to hear what people liked about our hotel. Your review tells a lot about our place and we really appreciate it. We hope you will join us again by staying in our Jacuzzi suite. We assure you, it will be an exceptional experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 420 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed there Feb 6,2013. The lobby & bar area was real nice & clean. Breakfast area was clean as well. Our room was nice & clean. Great place for the price. Close to alot of attractions. They are remodeling and so far doing a good job. Will stay there again when in Arlington. Checked out the weight room & pool looked good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hshall, Manager at Blue Cypress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thanks for the kind note. We are glad to know you found us accommodating. Thanks for staying with us. You come back see us when back in Arlington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel is located in the perfect location in Arlington near Cowboys stadium, six flags, and the rangers stadium. We stayed near this location for the cowboys game and had the best experience. Highly recommend for anyone the hotel is renovated and is gorgeous!!! They also have a Huge gym for a quick good workout.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hshall, Manager at Blue Cypress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thanks for the kind note. It always gives us joy to know that we could cater your needs during your stay at the Blue Cypress. Thanks for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This place isn't terrible, but I would urge you to check elsewhere.

The location is terrible as it's not in a safe part of town and isn't next to any other hotel or restaurant. The place smells. Smells like raw sewage in some areas and smoke in other common areas. I'm not sure why the place smells as it seemed that the place was clean.
Limited options for TV channels.

I actually thought the staff was fine when I needed something. The fact is there are numerous hotels nearby that are better quality at about the same rate. Check into those places.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OB08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hshall, Manager at Blue Cypress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Your review really surprised us since our hotel has been used by hundreds of schools around the US for their lodging needs when in Arlington. We are preferred vendors for many hospitals around the area for their Doctors' and Nurses' accommodation needs. We also host many UTA, Government and State employees throughout the year. Our guests love our location and an easy access to the highway. We are sorry we couldn't make you feel the same.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The hotel was nice and all, but it wasn't worth putting up with the awfully rude and snide staff. Those people should not be in customer service. We made our reservation with Expedia, and paid the pet fee through them. When we arrived their the staff gave us evil looks and curt attitudes without even asking us who we made the reservations with. They were extremely rude to my whole family even though we made sure they had all I the payments. Never staying here again

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NavyWife0530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hshall, Manager at Blue Cypress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

We are sorry you felt that way. We want to make sure that the guests bringing pets with them are placed in the right room, and therefore we expect that the staff is notified about the pet upon arrival.Expedia does not collect the Pet Fee, it's due upon check in. Sorry for all the confusion. By no means staff was trying to be rude.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

American Airlines gave us this referral as a "partner" discounted hotel room for "distressed passengers"... uh, yeah - after AA cancelled two flights and left us stranded in DFW overnight. Well, we were very apprehensive but the AA agent assured us it wasn't a rat trap, and they were RIGHT. This is a lovely hotel, well managed and clean, comfortable and trendy. Great gym and restaurant, free WIFI, and a great price. We were pleasantly surprised, and would stay there again.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank pshorrosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hshall, Manager at Blue Cypress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

We are very grateful for your wonderful words. We are preferred vendor for American Airlines distressed passengers and we exactly know how painful it is to be stranded in the middle of the trip. We try our best to accommodate all our passenger needs and make them feel like home. It was a pleasure having you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The staff and the new Renovations are top notch. I was extremly happy to see the new look and feel of this hotel. We utilized the hotel for our photo shoot and the staff accomidated us wuth whatever we asked. We will come back again and again.

Room Tip: The Jacuzzi Room is ery affordabel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shameikia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hshall, Manager at Blue Cypress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Glad to know you liked our Jacuzzi Suite. Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Arlington North 6 Flags Dr
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Arlington
Holiday Inn Arlington
#7 of 62 in Arlington
434 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Arlington
Hilton Arlington
#1 of 62 in Arlington
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Arlington
Hyatt Place Arlington
#4 of 62 in Arlington
415 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Arlington Hotel
Sheraton Arlington Hotel
#5 of 62 in Arlington
398 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Arlington DFW South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Cypress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Cypress Hotel

Address: 117 S Watson Rd, Arlington, TX 76010-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 62 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range: $103 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Cypress Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a new sense of chic at Blue Cypress Hotel - an eclectic and thoroughly unique Arlington boutique hotel. Comfortable discreet yet light and playful. This elegant modern hotel exudes a cozy, relaxing vibe. The perfect mood to go out and explore or stay in and enjoy a night at the Ultra sleek Zuri Restaurant & Lounge . Intimate and uniquely elegant, our Boutique Hotel provides a place for you to get away or for a Corporate convention in Beautiful Texas. The Blue Cypress Hotel is located at the intersection of Hwy 360 & Abrams, is near Six Flags, Hurricane Harbor, AT&T stadium and Globe life Park. Amenities include an in-room refrigerator & microwave, free high-speed wireless internet access, outdoor pool, Fitness room. Also includes Free Parking and Complimentary Continental Breakfast. We offer large Family Suites and Jacuzzi suites and Banquet and Meeting facilities. We would love to have you stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Cypress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing