We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Arlington Ballpark / Six Flags
Ranked #23 of 61 Hotels in Arlington
Hooks, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fair”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2009

The hotel is old and is in need of some major upgrades. The $59 price sounded good but then with taxes and everything it was over $80. The sheets were stained, breakfast was nothing much at all. The lady at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. It wasn't bad just I think we could of went on down the road a little ways and got a much nicer motel for less.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    216
    187
    83
    79
See reviews for
308
151
52
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lampasas TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

Yep, my truck was also broken into, as was a previous poster's. Window busted, discovered on a sunday, so had to drive all the way back to lampasas with no truck window. They're not the slightest bit concerned, but will reference a "not responsible for damages" sign that is obstructed by a palm leaf. Noisy. Breakfast? Not really. 2 vehicles broken into on this particular night, even the police officer advised we not stay there again. Very, very disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irock2fast4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arlington hotels

Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

I have used tripadvisor a lot and was very hesitant to stay at the Howard Johnson after reading the terrible reviews. I would have changed hotels but thankfully I prepaid and it was non refundable on travelocity. This place FAR exceeded our expectations!!! It was clean, comfortable and the staff were extremely nice and helpful. This place is also in a great location, walking distance to the ballpark- an 8 minute walk, and there is a free shuttle that will take you to 6 Flags. We stayed here when the Red Sox and Rangers were playing, so it was very full, but the staff handled everything very graciously.

The rooms were large and comfortable, beds and pillows reasonable. The bathroom was clean, and had been re-done with marble sinks/showers. We had balconies overlooking the pool. The ac worked great. The doors to the balconies are not in great shape, but were functional. All in all, for this class of hotel, you can't beat it. For the money, this place was great. I would definitely recommend this hotel, and will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soxfantulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman, ok
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2009

I just got back from taking a group to Six Flags and Hurricane Harbor which included five rooms for two nights at the Howard Johnson Six Flags in Arlington Texas. Even though the hotel is older they have obviously done some work in recent years. Everything was kept extrememly clean but most of all I have to say that it was possibly the most curteous staff I have ever experienced. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gfnorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahlequah, Oklahoma
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2008

Our room rate for a Hojo DQ was $69.99. I could have stayed at the Sheraton across the street for $80. We decided to stay at the Hojo, because they had breakfast...which isn't worth it. Don't stay here, pay the extra money and buy a box of cereal. This hotel was old, dirty, noisy, and not worth the rate. If we paid $45, then I would be more understanding. We couldn't sleep, because of the highway noise (right on I-30 and traffic does not stop). The bathroom still had hairs on the floor and smelled of urine. The coffee pot had a moldy filter. The carpet had stains and needed to be vacuumed. The frig was dirty. The remote to the TV didn't work and there wasn't any room for luggage.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RdTrpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2007

Stay away from this one. Wow, this hotel was disgusting.

If you stay here, expect your car to be broken into (and expect the management not to care, they'll just point to a sign that states they're not responsible).

The room: Cigarette burns in the bed spread (supposed to be a non-smoking room), mold/mildew growing on the walls, holes in the carpet, furniture from 70s, nasty smell, loud freeway noise and an even louder air conditioner.

Other guests: People in the hall slamming doors all night long (church group from Oklahoma) made the nights miserable. Desk person never answered the phone.

I posted pictures, they speak for themselves. One of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in (worst is still the Oak Inn in Austin).

I will say, the maid service was very good. That's the only thing pleasant about this one.

  • Liked — Um, nothing. This was an horrible hotel.
  • Disliked — It's not safe & it's not clean.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Joey-Fisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2007

I don't even no where to begin. Carpet in room had stains everywhere and holes in it, revealing the concrete underneath!!!
had to ask for clean towels. Maid service didn't pick up or empty trash. Had no extra pillows available. Rooms reeked of smoke and mildew! The manager was NEVER in. (we were there 5 days!) Doors did not shut properly. Sliding door to balconey was off-track, so it never shut all the way. A/C unit "trickled" out cold air on "HIGH" setting. Coffee maker did not work. Had 2 bath towels for a room with two double beds? Elevators were always wet with water on floors. Coke machines "ate" money. We asked them to call a cab for us and a Limo service came!!! (obviously the clerk gets kick-backs) wanted to charge us $125.00 to go 17 miles to airport!!! DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!! KEEP DRIVING!! or pay LESS and stay at a MOTEL 6 which I assure you, could only be a step up. Horrible, Horrible, Horrible. OH, and they let gang members hang out in the parking lot till all hours of the morning making noise and screeming profanities - lovely if you have kids as we do.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
Helpful?
1 Thank micahg72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Arlington
Comfort Suites Arlington
#5 of 61 in Arlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Arlington Near Six Flags
1.7 mi away
Blue Cypress Hotel
Blue Cypress Hotel
#14 of 61 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Arlington
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Arlington North 6 Flags Dr
0.7 mi away
Ranger Inn & Suites
Ranger Inn & Suites
#31 of 61 in Arlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Arlington Ballpark / Six Flags? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Arlington Ballpark / Six Flags

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn - Arlington Ballpark / Six Flags
Address: 2001 E Copeland Rd, Arlington, TX 76011-5135
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Arlington Ballpark / Six Flags 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Arlington Ballpark / Six Flags reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Arlington Ballpark/Six Flags Hotel Arlington
Howard Johnson Express Arlington Ballpark/6 Flags

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing