We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Arlington Ballpark / Six Flags
Ranked #21 of 62 Hotels in Arlington
MOODY
1 review
“Nice”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Hotel was nice, friendly staff, very little noise, very convenient, and within walking distance to Texas Ranger Ballpark. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank CARYE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo2053, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Arlington Ballpark / Six Flags, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your encouraging words and we do appreciate that you took out itme from your busy schedule to write back to us. We will share your feedback with the staff aand acknowledge them for the good work.
we will look forward for your visit in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    252
    213
    94
    90
See reviews for
362
175
62
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tuscumbia, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Older hotel but our room was clean and the 2nd floor is a non smoking floor which is great for me since I do have asthma. Looks like they were trying to clean up other rooms on the lst floor since they were empty. We were there over the weekend for the Alabama-Michigan game and had a do not desturb sign on our door and we were not bothered at all. Some traffic noise from the interstate but turned fan on and it did drown out a lot of that. It is near Rangers stadium, six flags and an On the Border and Steak house. We were able to walk to the restaurants and did walk to Cowboy stadium but it was a 15-20 minute walk which was not bad but since it was 100 F we did wish that we had taken a cab!!! The walk back after dark was much nicer!!! It is true you do get what you pay for...but overall it was clean on the 2nd floor.

Room Tip: would choose 2nd floor for non smokers
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The woman working the front desk couldn't have been any nicer. She really went out of her way to make sure we were taken care of. And she put us in a suite! Okay, so it wasn't a luxury suite by any stretch of the imagination, but still... This hotel is all about the location. It is the least expensive option within walking distance to 6 Flags, Hurricane Harbor, Arlington Ballpark and Cowboys stadium. And, after a day in 100 degree sunshine, the pool felt pretty great, too. I would stay again if going to any of the places listed above.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
455 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Good place to stay if you are visiting the six flags and hurricane habor or even a rangers game or cowboys game!! The only problem is we put a do not disturb sign on our room and a light didnt work in our room. We didn't complain. Just left For the game and came back to a fixed light and they said they never came
In my room, but they just might have because they did and they threw away my contact lens top. A black lid. It's expensive and I called the front office and they said no one came in!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southaven, Mississippi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I had my doubts about staying at this hotel after reading the reviews, but I decided to give it a chance anyway; bad decision. If you have a gut feeling about something, always go with your gut. It is typically right. Upon check-in, the front desk clerks were very friendly and helpful as long as they were taking our money. As soon as we had an issue we saw a very nasty side with attitude and unpleasantness so beware and don't be fooled by the friendly smile. After checking in, we went to unpack the vehicle and on the way to the rooms it smelled like raw sewage between the front lobby and the breakfast area. The rooms definitely are not the cleaniest or in the best of shape. Our kids and our minds told us to run. But we stayed anyway. The very next day, my friend whom I was traveling with had a toilet with poo in it because it would not flush even after she tried flushing five times. She finally called the front desk at 9:00 am to report the problem and they said they would send maintenance to her room. We left the rooms around noon for a day of shopping and fun with our children, when we returned at 7:00 pm that evening the poo was still in the toilet, her room had not been cleaned, dirty towels were still on the floor. Noone came to the room. So upon our return she noticed these things and went down the front desk, they said they don't recall a complaint or maintenance issue. So the front desk clerk, Silvia, came up to her room with a plunger in a nasty pickle bucket with poo from someone else already on the plunger, and said she could not give her clean linens for her bed. Then, we decided that we did not want to stay in this nasty,disgusting hotel another night. We asked to check out and get a refund for that night and the remaining two nights. The hotel refused to give us the money back for the Wednesday night that we did not stay there. They said it was past check out time. Had they cleaned her room and fixed the toilet, we would not have had to move. Then, we paid in cash for the three nights. When they refunded only two nights, they refused to give us cash. The manager said he only had enough cash to give each of us one night cash and the other night on our debit cards. A total mess. So we ended up having to pay for one night twice when we checked into a different hotel. It smelled moldy throughout the hotel and the a/c did not work in the hallways.

I would advise anyone to never stay at this hotel even if your life depended on it.Overall, it was a terrible experience which I would not like to experience ever again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotLady123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arlington hotels

Holly
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hotel was conveniently located to Rangers Ballpark but that's as far as I would go in giving it any kind of positive review. Upon checkin, i found that the 'non smoking' room smelled of a spray cover up. Additionally I found an issue that was security related and did not feel comfortable in the room. The hotel clerk apologized but said they couldnt move me. They offered to clean the air but did not address the security issue. The manager eventually agreed to a move of room although he said it would take a lot to get it done. It was done and the new room at least smelled smoke free. The hallways were stuffy as if there was no a/c in them despite temps outside of close to 100. One of the elevators was broken (closest to lobby), meaning that everyone for the 5 floors was vying for the lone alternative. The shuttle to the game as advertised did take you there but it was 1st on the pick up list and stopped at another just across the street from the park and then proceeded to drive around in a circle away from the park to 5 or 6 other hotels. The hotel could have said it would have been quicker to walk since they were associated with the trolley service (providing the passes). The in room Wifi was spotty and the morning of checkout was totally unavailable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevieyz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpillich
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

To say the least...this hotel should be evaluated by the Texas Department of Health Standards. If you MUST stay here, buy a can of Lysol and spray constantly. I did not make arrangements to stay at this hotel; arrived for a business trip. Needless to say, I will contact my secretary and flag this location as a DO NOT RETURN, and notify my colleagues who travel to this area. I'm not picky. I just know QUALITY; this place is not.

Where do I begin:

Check in- the front desk woman, Dina, was very sweet. Knowledgable. Courteous.

Breakfast- the helper walked around with a v-neck undershirt, saggy work pants (looked like he was either getting off of work at Burger King or on his way to fix a car outside). Totally not acceptable if you are handling food. Hotel food service management is POOR- the worker NEVER had gloves on and again looked like a regular person that just walked off the street...yuck.. I saw him refilling the cereal (no gloves) touching the door to the moldy storage room (no gloves) then refilling/touching cups that our children use. Not acceptable. Go down the street and pay for a breakfast to spare the experience. I trashed my plate immediately after I saw this.

Rooms: I remember seeing this room on television. National Lampoon's vacation. Outdated furniture. Retro patterned ceiling/curtains/light fixtures. Thank goodness I didn't pay for this place!! Mildew on the wall in the bathroom. Tissue dispenser came out after I took one napkin. Sub standard. Bed was unsturdy; leaned to the left. Carpet is breeding place for something biohazard.

I could go on about the property: no onsite laundry room, filthy floors, chipped headboards, mechanic workroom towels... But I'm going to get out of here.

It's obvious the management uses the money on other things besides investing in his business.

Save your money. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpillich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Arlington Near Six Flags
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Arlington
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Arlington
Holiday Inn Arlington
#7 of 62 in Arlington
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Arlington
Comfort Suites Arlington
#9 of 62 in Arlington
237 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Arlington
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Dallas Arlington/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Arlington Ballpark / Six Flags? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Arlington Ballpark / Six Flags

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn - Arlington Ballpark / Six Flags
Address: 2001 E Copeland Rd, Arlington, TX 76011-5135
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Arlington Ballpark / Six Flags 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Arlington Ballpark / Six Flags reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Arlington Ballpark/Six Flags Hotel Arlington
Howard Johnson Express Arlington Ballpark/6 Flags

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing