We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below Average La Quinta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Amarillo West Medical Center
Ranked #54 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Below Average La Quinta”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stay at La Quinta on a regular basis due to the fact that they allow pets. This one needs work so don't expect typical La Quinta quality. Automated phone service did not allow us to contact the front desk when we needed help.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twowolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    128
    143
    152
    133
See reviews for
292
150
59
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
East Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We frequent La Quinta on our vacations. We drove in from Pagosa Springs, CO and were in dire need of rest to continue on to Longview, TX. Upon opening the door of #130, it looked ok. Advancing to the bathroom the floor needed sweeping/mopping, there was a USED bar of soap at the sink, as well as, a USED bar of soap in shower and a wash cloth on the floor. The carpet by the table and chairs was filthy; looked like someone had spilled a cup of coffee and ignored cleaning it up.

This is the worst LQ we have visited and we will not return to this one again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank XLoveDestinX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amarillo hotels

Leonard, Texas
Level Contributor
405 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 473 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

This is not an average or above average La Quinta location. The rooms are clean but old, dirty carpets, below average sheets and towels. The staff was very nice and helped all they could. This location really needs to be updated badly. My company stayed there for several nights because of doing business in the Medical center. The location is great for that.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jack2148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2011

I have stayed in a number of La Quinta properties and this one is the worst I've ever stayed in. The carpet was filthy, a dirty wash cloth was left in the bathroom because the maid service did not see it on the shower curtain bar, room smelled odd, the reclining chair had pet hair on the side that had been there a while and breakfast was minimal at best.

Bed linens were fresh and the pillows were ample and fluffy (king room) but the furniture was beat.

I travel to Amarillo on business and this property was close to where I work but I will not be returning regardless of price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bsccp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

In my cross-country trip (I'm moving from Sonoma County California to Knoxville, Tennessee) I chose La Quinta as my first choice in hotels wherever I stayed.

Several reasons factored into the stay. Since I would be travelling 10 hours a day, I wanted a hotel where I KNEW that the beds would be top quality, the rooms clean, free wi-fi to keep my family and business associates updated, reasonable prices and a breakfast.

This was my first visit at this particular Amarillo property and I was terribly disappointed.

After 10 hours on the road, I was looking forward to spending some time in the jacuzzi, but they had none and the pool was closed.

The one word I could use to describe this property is "TIRED." They need to do some serious sprucing up in order to get a return visit from me (which even then isn't likely).

The linens on the bed were fresh and clean, but when I jumped into bed, it was definitely NOT the quality I've come to expect of La Quinta. The mattress was lumpy and definitely needed to be replaced.

The smoke detector had been sealed off by a plastic bag -- my son told me that the former occupants of the room probably wanted to smoke in the room so disabled the detector. The bathroom floor tile was dirty, the bathtub had several large nicks in the porcelain which exposed black spots and the water temperature in the shower pulsated between cold and hot every few seconds.

The breakfast was lacking in that there was only one egg choice: boiled, and no yogurt was left in the buffet tray.

This disappointing stay will not deter me from selecting La Quinta again because I know their overall quality is much better. But this trip to the Medical Center West property will definitely not have me returning.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Urbanzenmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed here on 9-24-11 as a rest stop during our move to California. The price was fair, rooms were clean, and the service was average. They also were pet friendly which was a huge plus for us ( there is also no pet deposit!) However, it's very motel like, and pretty sketchy. All in all, I would say this isn't a bad place to stay if you're just staying the night.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Overall, this hotel was a decent value, especially for traveling with a pet. While the facilities were somewhat dated (i.e. room access directly from outside, exterior paint and landscaping) I had few complaints with the service or room condition. For the price, I felt it was a satisfactory stay while traveling with a pet.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RufusLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
5.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area
0.7 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn West Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
#43 of 73 in Amarillo
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 73 in Amarillo
662 reviews
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Amarillo - West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Amarillo West Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Amarillo West Medical Center

Property: La Quinta Inn Amarillo West Medical Center
Address: 2108 S Coulter St, Amarillo, TX 79106-2514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Amarillo West Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn Amarillo West Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Motor Inn Medical Hotel Amarillo
La Quinta Medical Center
Amarillo La Quinta
La Quinta Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing