We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Room was clean, but hallways need some attention” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area
Ranked #45 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
New Mexico
Level Contributor
149 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Room was clean, but hallways need some attention”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a King Suite for one night, while traveling through, and it was clean and quiet.
But the king mattress was old and lumpy...and granddaughter slept on the pull out couch...that mattress was ready for the trash years ago.
Ok, but not worth effort to stay unless there is nothing else available.

Room Tip: Would pick upper floor, and to the back of the building as the hotel is right on the frontage road o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jshanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    154
    142
    108
    108
See reviews for
237
164
67
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blue Bell
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

This "hotel" looks like an old Days Inn that was converted to a La Quinta. It's motel-style with doors that lead outside, not to a hallway. This is great if you have dogs (La Quinta allows two to stay in the room for free) and want quick access outside, but it is not quite what I expect from this chain. It is located just off I-40 and is walking distance from a barrage of fast food restaurants and a short drive to many others. It's fairly well located for sight-seeing. The rooms are clean and while mostly updated in terms of paint and bedding and decor, there's a little bit of shabbiness to the bathrooms and as "House Hunters" would say, "the finishes." The pool is clean albeit small and also slighty older looking. But on balance, the hotel really is clean enough. The staff is friendly enough. The breakfast is good enough. My only concern is that, when my husband took the puppy out at 430am, a guy came up and asked him for money. I'm not sure if I'd stay here if I was a single female. But it's a value stay for sure, especially with pets. Just be wary of the area.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyssa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Room was dirty when arrived. The bath room floors were gross. Shower curten was dirty and we didn't want to touch it. Loud guests around us. Someone tried opening our door twice at around 3 am. So didn't get much sleep because I was worried about my families safety.It was close to everything we needed it for ie (resturants, liesure activities, air port, etc...) the staff was nice but not very knowledgeable. Asked for a wack up call and never got one.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank Damon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amarillo hotels

Eloy, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We always travel with two small dogs. The rates other hotel/motels charge when traveling with pets is often very expensive. Whenever possible we stay at La Quinta's where pets stay free. We never expect a 5 star hotel experience (we stayed at many of those hotels when traveling on business). However we EXPECT a clean, comfortable room at a fair price. On 5/12/14 we stayed at this La Quinta. They met our expectations. We were very happy with our room here. Although the bathroom was small, the floor tiles appeared to have been replaced not long ago. The carpet and bedding appeared to have been updated too. Our bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet and clean. It was conveniently located off I-40 with many restaurants nearby. Three years ago we stayed at the other La Quinta in Amarillo (on Coulter). At that time, we thought the hotel was shabby and in need of renovation. We have never stayed at the Coulter La Quinta again. I relied on other trip advisor reviewers who said the La Quinta East Airport was the nicer of the two. My husband and I totally agree.

Room Tip: If traveling with pets, request a first floor room when making your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florissant, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

This is an older place, but well maintained. Bed very comfortable, people VERY nice, room clean. Six restaurants in walking distance, more a short drive away. I come through Amarillo a few times a year, and I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, TX
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

We received this hotel via bidding and received it at a good rate. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and roomy, and the breakfast was on par with other continental breakfasts offered at chain motels. The location off of I-40 was pretty good as well. The doors are facing the outside, so the card readers seemed to have problems due to exposure to the elements.

This was really a 2.5 experience, and perhaps this was a one-off, but the guests that this motel attracted were a bit of a problem which made the night we spent there somewhat restless. The doors and walls to the outside must be fairly thin, as we heard everything going on outside. Kids were running back and forth screaming until midnight. Around 2:00 in the morning we were woken up by people fighting outside. By 2:30 a couple of shady-looking gentlemen were banging on our door. This eventually subsided until around 5:00 in the morning when a man and lady were knocking on our door. At 5:30 another banging on the door which we ignored. We ate breakfast quickly and had to catch up on sleep when we got home.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank txninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Amarillo
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Amarillo East
Red Roof Inn Amarillo East
#35 of 72 in Amarillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Amarillo East
Days Inn Amarillo East
#37 of 72 in Amarillo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
6.5 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
0.2 mi away
Amarillo Inn & Suites
Amarillo Inn & Suites
#31 of 72 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area

Property: La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area
Address: 1708 I-40 East, Amarillo, TX 79103-2114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your La Quinta Inn Amarillo East Airport Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Amarillo East/Airport Area Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo La Quinta
La Quinta Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing