We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one night stop!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Amarillo
Ranked #57 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great one night stop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2005

We stayed here for one night while crossing the USA from New York to San Francisco. We were attracted to it by the discount voucher which we picked up at the state line information center.

The hotel is easy to find off the interstate. Checking in was fast and friendly and we were asked which floor we would like. We accepted the top floor and had a superb room. I think the cost was $59 plus tax

Breakfast was a buffet with eggs and toast freshly cooked to order. As per normal in 95% of hotels worldwide with buffet breakfasts it was only luke warm.

Overall in terms of the standard of room, staff friendliness and the cost it was the best value for money stay we had during our whole trip across the USA

  • Stayed April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JRW120548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    106
    136
    145
    170
See reviews for
199
110
30
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2005

This is the nicest you will find in Amarillo. We stayed here on our way up to Colorado for ski trip, and then on the way home. Both nights were very nice. If you have kids, the pool and hot tub area are a huge plus especially if you have been in the car all day traveling. Walls are thin, so we heard the couple wake up early in the morn for a quickie... twice. :) Gave us a good laugh.

On the way back through, we actually stayed there on New Years Eve. They had some overpriced party (like $80 couple) in their lobby that looked pretty lame, and there were drunk teenagers running around everywhere. But what do you expect from a hotel on New Years Eve? It was still enjoyable and the pool was open until midnight that night.

Check around to find a good rate. I think I found on travelocity for $60/night, and then if you call hotel directly, they will beat any online price by $5, so $55/night for this hotel was great. Cheaper than La Quinta!

DONT eat a TGI Fridays at the hotel. The service was the worst I have ever had. Our waiter was waiting on about 10 tables, and was not very apologetic even after spilling a bowl of soup on the couple that was with us.

DO eat at the restaurant in the lobby for breakfast. It's like $6.95 for the buffet and you can get omlettes, pankakes, waffles, eggs, bacon, cereal, fresh fruit. Great way to kick off your day, and all very fresh.

Give it a try if you can swing a good deal.

Helpful?
6 Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2004

We chose the Ambassador on a recommendation from a friend. We booked through Travelocity and prepaid 4 days in advance. Upon arrival, the clerk had no information about our reservation. However, this was cleared up quickly. When we got to the room (standard), we were disappointed that the room did not come with a microwave or mini fridge or a complementary breakfast. When I called the desk, I was told that this was a concierge level (10 floor) amenity. The second day we returned to the room around 4 o'clock after being out since early morning. The room still had not been serviced or towels replaced. When I called the front desk, I was told that housekeeping had been very busy and was behind. A few moments later, the desk called back and told me the reason the room had not been serviced was we had been checked out. We were checked back in and finally got clean towels. For a top hotel, it was a big disappointment. When we checked out, I told the clerk how I felt about the stay and they apoligized by saying their rating came from having convention facilities and an on-site restaurant. I would recommend families staying in the area go to the Comfort Suites or other hotel farther out on I 40 West.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amarillo hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2004

Greeted with the statement "We're the only 4 star Hotel in Amarillo," the place lived up to it. We were treated like royalty. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable and quiet. The view lovely overlooking the city. We found the atrium to be soothing and relaxing. We were able to enjoy the pool and had a fantastic breakfast feast in the atrium cafe.
We'll be back to this gem! It was an excellent value for the price.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2004

We stayed at the Ambassador Hotel for three nights over spring break. We treated ourselves to a stay on the concierge level of the hotel. The accomodations were very nice and the service was superb. We really enjoyed the happy hour refreshments and the early morning continental breakfasts. They were satisfying and convenient. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Would stay at the Ambassador Hotel again. A very pleasant experience!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottie4851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
3.1 mi away
Amarillo Inn & Suites
Amarillo Inn & Suites
#28 of 73 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
2.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 73 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#27 of 73 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ashmore Inn & Suites
Ashmore Inn & Suites
#22 of 73 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
3.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Amarillo

Property: Wyndham Garden Amarillo
Address: 3100 W Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79102-2201 (Formerly Magnuson Grand Hotel Amarillo)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Amarillo 3*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarillo Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing