We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older, but kept up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Amarillo
Ranked #58 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Sherman, TX
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Older, but kept up”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hotel is older but it has been kept in good shape. The people working here are so nice. I was attending a conference at the hotel, so appreciated the banquet hall and service. If you're looking for something remarkable, you'll be disappointed; however, if you want something solid, this is a good, but not great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanstexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1300, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Amarillo, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hi jeanstexas,

Thank you for selecting our hotel for your recent business travel accommodations and for taking the time to share your experience with us and future travelers. Feedback from our guests is always appreciated and helpful in creating the optimal travel experience possible for our guests. We are so pleased to hear that our associates were able to make your stay an enjoyable one and that our banquet hall services met your expectations. We truly look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you back again.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    106
    136
    145
    171
See reviews for
199
110
30
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Appeared top class; nice decor, on-site restaurant. Short of staff -friendly, helpful, and hard-working. Management needs to hire. Hot breakfast, slow needs buffet line. Bathrooms in rooms and in lobby were stinky - bad plumbing, seemed clean, but musty, moldy smell. Not really 4 -5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Check room before assigned. Let staff know about problems. Stinky plumbing slow running drain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dglukach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1300, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Amarillo, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hi dglukach,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and committed to making your experience a positive one. We would like to apologize for those aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations and be assured that we will share this information with our team in order to ensure future better stays. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back should your travels bring you to our area again.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

we just finished a three day conference held at this hotel we stayed at. While the place is a little outdated, the rooms were very spacious and our bed was comfortable. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. I enjoyed the free breakfast and the TGIF restaurant was connected to the hotel lobby which made it possible to socialize in the evening and not worry about driving back to our room. The hotel was easy to get to, right off the Interstate and close to other dining opportunities. The business center did have one working computer and printer which served our needs since while I used the free WiFi for my computer in our room, i did not have a printer.All three elevators were working and the glass wall on the back of the elevator made the ride up to our room interesting. We did take advantage of the fitness center and the spa. The rooms were quiet and the cable TV choices and the remote control were functional although the TV was the old type and not the flat screen most modern hotels have in their rooms nowadays. I probably stay there again when we visit Amarillo.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXtravelinMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1300, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Amarillo, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hi TXtravelinMike,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and share your travel experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We are delighted to hear that your stay was a positive one and that our in-house accommodations such as TGI Fridays, our Business Center's features, free WiFi and breakfast were convenient for your conference travel. Our staff's goal is to make every guest experience special and I’m so glad we were successful with your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future for both your business and personal travel needs!

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The exterior of the building leaves a lot to be desired and seems very dated, however, the indoor pool and reception area are gorgeous.The staff is very friendly, and very helpful. The banquet halls are lovely. That's really all I have to say that's positive. The hotel is very dated and lacks refrigeration in most of the rooms. They also don't offer bathroom amenities, or if they do my room was skipped over. The central air/heating system only had two settings... on. and off. Which meant that you'd wake up hot or cold and have to turn the machines on or off. The carpets are rather stained and I know that some of that cannot be helped and is due to normal wear and tear. Our room keys failed us four separate times, and the front desk couldn't give us a reason other than... oops. (they did send up engineering to check it out though and fixed up new cards each time, but that's a bit of a pain.) I was really excited to stay here as I love older buildings, but I really just wish someone with a little extra money laying around would help this place out! Seriously! the fixtures are all old, but not in a kitschy way. You can hear other guests down in the lobby areas VERY well and that's a bit of a bother.The shower curtain doesn't stay closed so you end up with a draft. Just lots of little nit-picky things I guess. I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinamazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1300, Director of Rooms at Wyndham Garden Amarillo, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi erinamazing,

We appreciate your stay with us and for taking the time to provide feedback. We are happy to hear that our staff was friendly and accommodating and that you were pleased with the pool and lobby area as well as the banquet facilities. Unfortunately it sounds as though some aspects of your stay were less than perfect and we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with your room. Be assured that we strive to provide our guests with the best travel experience possible. Should your travels bring you again to our area, we do hope to get a chance to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amarillo hotels

Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is decent. It is good for an overnight stay while passing through. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable. There are not many outlets so it is not business traveler friendly. The business center was non-functioning. However, the service received while at a conference here was not good. They are disorganized in airport shuttle reservation, and they were understaffed for the event. This is an average hotel with a less than average continental breakfast (the website states that it is free...it is not.).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carriep75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1300, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Amarillo, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hi carriep75,

Thank you for staying with us during your business trip. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while you were here. It's our goal to be sure that every guest has a great experience here, so we appreciate you bringing these things to our attention. They will be shared with the team to ensure better future stays.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
308 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I was told that this was the best hotel in Amarillo. Perhaps. However, my stay was mediocre at best. Outdate lobby was the initial impression, connected to a TGI Friday's. The desk staff was helpful, if not the most professional. Check-In was reasonably quick. Through the center of the "holidome" feel center of the hotel and over a small cheesy "river" to get to the elevators. Hotel looks a bit worn. Elevators to fourth floor and into my room. Dingy is the best word I can use to describe it. Even with windows open to the "holidome", not much light. Pad on the desk, but no pen anywhere to be found. Internet worked, but was a slow as a long legged Texan. Room could use an update and bathroom could use a deep clean, although I would not go as far as to say it was "dirty". Breakfast, included in the rate, was limited and did not drive me to have anything beyond a cup of yogurt. Time to leave for my meeting and the airport. Glad it was only one night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1300, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Amarillo, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hi Russell P,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We apologize that your stay wasn't as expected, and are working on improvements to make for a better overall guest experience. Your comments will be shared with the team. We would love for you to give us another try if you return to the are in the future.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
347 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed on the Club Level of the Hotel for one night on a trip across the country. The staff were really quite lovely. The hotel has seen better days, but it was just fine for a night or two. The room was large, the bed was comfortable, it was just fine. We had access to the Club Lounge, there was a nice Happy Hour staffed by a really lovely bartender. I have to say the people in Amarillo are all very nice. There is a TGI Friday's attached to the hotel, it was just fine. So, overall, a good place to stop for a night. It is, literally, one minute off of I-40.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KWS63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1300, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Amarillo, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hi KWS63,

Thanks for staying with us during your trip across the country. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations, and found our staff to be friendly. We strive to ensure that all guests have a great experience here, and it sounds like you did. If you return back to the area in the future, we would love the opportunity to accommodate you again. Your comments will be shared with the team.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
3.1 mi away
Amarillo Inn & Suites
Amarillo Inn & Suites
#37 of 72 in Amarillo
77 reviews
2.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#24 of 72 in Amarillo
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Amarillo-Western Crossing
3.6 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
3.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Amarillo

Property: Wyndham Garden Amarillo
Address: 3100 W Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79102-2201 (Formerly Magnuson Grand Hotel Amarillo)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Amarillo 3*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarillo Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing