We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Bad ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Amarillo
Ranked #60 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Reviewed October 9, 2012

As others have already noted, we had high hopes for this "older" property. And, yes, the staff was pleasant and courteous. The hotel facilities, however, were very substandard. Our toilet ran all night, the TV was old and had very poor reception, light fixtures were dim, ice machines were out of order, and one elevator was out of order. Only one wash cloth had been placed with the bath linens, and after calling the front desk for more, it took over an hour for them to be brought to us. We learned later from a hotel staff person that the owner ("Dan" Patel) had instructed the housekeeping staff to place only one wash cloth in each room. On the third day of our stay, we returned from a full day of activity (having left the hotel at 8:00 a.m., and returning at 4:00 p.m.) to find that our roooms had not been cleaned / made up. Again, we learned from a hotel staff member that servicing the "stayover" guests' rooms last is a standard operating procedure at the Ambassador. In response to my complaint, we received a $15 coupon to be redeemed at the adjacent TGI Fridays (to be shared by four guests). No doubt, this is a property destined for demise.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sesdfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1300, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Amarillo, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Hi Sesdfw,

Thank you for staying with us while you were in town. We apologize that your stay wasn't as you expected. We are currently working to make guest accommodations more comfortable. Your feedback will be shared to ensure better future stays.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 650 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

Upon arriving to this hotel we held quite a lot of optimism. The reviews were good and the TGI Fridays attached was a bonus after some of the hotels that we had stayed at previously for Route 66.

The service and check in was pleasant and efficient barring the receptionist balancing 3 customers and a phone call.

The room was large, clean and tidy. We were given a room that was already taken which was a bit embarrassing opening the door, however, it was sorted quickly.

The disappointing fact about this hotel was that my girlfriend injured her leg on a piece of metal sticking out of the bed in the room causing a laceration to her leg. Any contact of greater force would have caused a hospital visit. I had to give all first aid attention as none was offered by the hotel staff. They simply took an accident form and apologised. Not enough in my book, and shoddy customer service.

This has been taken up with the travel agents (Virgin Holidays) as part of a wider complaint.

Breakfast was ok, however, the choice was poor and didn't look as if much expense was spared.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Wild87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1300, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Amarillo, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Wild87,

We appreciate you staying with us while you were in town, and are glad you enjoyed the TGI Fridays located in hotel. I apologize for your experience with the room assignment issue, but glad that we were able to correct it quickly. I am deeply sorry for the injury your friend experienced, and for the unattentive customer service regarding this matter. This is not something that we take lightly, and would like to speak with you further about it. Please contact cclark@ambassadoramarillo.com when it is convenient for you.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The property is older, as many reviewers have said, but it is clean. I've stayed in more modern chain hotels that lacked the Ambassador's cleanliness. Everything in my room was well maintained and pleasant. The only negative feature was the dingy sheets, but the pillows were very comfy.

The Ambassador gets a very good rating from me because of the outstanding staff. I loved all the smiling faces--the over-all friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1300, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Amarillo, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Hi Shelley C,

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate you sharing your feedback. We take pride in ensuring that all guest accommodations are comfortable, and most importantly, clean. It's great to hear that you were pleased with the level of cleanliness in our hotel. We apologize for the sheets, and will share this comment with our housekeeping staff to ensure that this is corrected. Please consider staying with us again if you return to the area.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I was expecting alot more as my local contactr suggested this was the place to stay. Check-in staff were great, fast and efficient, the free breakfast was pretty descent too, but...... The free internet was hopeless, not possible to stream or download anything. Room was old and tatty but clean and comfortable. I was on the ground floor right by the swimming pool and on a weekend it is extremely noisy, especially when your working 1st shift and have to go to bed early. when leaving for work at 5am I would always put the 'clean my room immediately' tag on the door and on 2 of the 4 nights I stayed when I returned at 4pm the room still hadn't been serviced. The road surface outside is appalling with 2 huge craters right by the side door.
Its OK but needs lots of money spending on it to bring it up to the same standards as other local properties.

Room Tip: Stay away from the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew_Steward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1300, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Amarillo, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Hi Andrew S,

We appreciate you staying with us, and for sharing your experience. It's pleasing to hear that you had an attentive and efficient check-in, and that breakfast was to your liking. We apologize for the speed of the Internet you experienced, the noise level, and a delay in servicing your room. We are working to make improvements to ensure our guests are even more comfortable in the future. Your comments will be shared with the team in order to implement a plan to better improve our services and amenities.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My family and I stayed here on the way through town. It was easy to find and centrally located. I was impressed with the friendliness of the staff, not just upon arrival, but at each interaction and from the front desk to the hostesses at the free breakfast buffet. The hotel features a large open atrium with garden space and a pool at one end. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. They didn't have HDTV, but the old style still worked fine. We paid only $57 using Priceline.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 7th floor and had a nice view above the atrium out over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caraduras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1300, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Amarillo, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Hi Caraduras,

Thanks for staying with us, and for the positive comments. We enjoy to hear that guests have a great experience with us, and it seems that you did. Nothing less than excellent customer service is acceptable, and your feedback will be shared with the team. We hope that we had exceeded your expectations and met your needs. Please keep us in mind for your next venture to Amarillo. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had never been to Texas, dealing with so many smiling, friendly people made a great impression. All the staff at the Ambassador and the attached T.G.I. Friday's restaurant were friendly and professional. The hotel is nicely designed with an atrium covering the lobby, breakfast area and pool. Quite a few rooms face into the atrium but most do not and have open views of the Texas sky. Our room with 2 queen beds was larger than average but lacked a mini fridge. It was clean and well kept but the furniture and tv (flat screen) were a little dated as we head towards 2013. The breakfast space was very pleasant and the food was good, if not fairly standard. Oddly, your room key will not unlock the door to the business centre, you have to ask for a separate key at the front desk. We rate this property a bit above a 3 and think most guests would be satisfied with the accommodation. There are many decent places to eat near The Ambassador. T.G.Friday's food is quite industrial, no surprise.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank protravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1300, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Amarillo, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Hi protravel1,

We are glad that you had your first experience in Texas with us! Overall, it is a very friendly state, but we do everything we can to go above and beyond to make our guests feel welcome. Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to accommodate you again if you return to the area in the future.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My family and I recently stayed here while I was on a business conference in Amarillo. This was an excellent place to stay. The staff is super friendly, helpful, and accomodating. The interior is very nicely interiorscaped with various plants. The rooms were clean with comfortable beds. They have a fabulous complimentary hot breakfast. Check in and check out procedures were extremely easy. If I have any complaint; be it a minor one; it would be that the elevators and hallways were not air conditioned. This is probably not normally a problem but the daytime temperatures were in the triple digits every day while we were there which made them a little warm. Overall a great hotel especially for the price and I would highly recommend the Ambassador to anyone planning a trip to Amarillo.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSU84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1300, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Amarillo, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear TSU84,

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your great feedback and recommendation. We strive to ensure that every guest has a pleasant experience while in town, and it seems as if you did. Please consider staying with us again the next time you are in Amarillo for business.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#17 of 72 in Amarillo
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
3.4 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Amarillo

Address: 3100 I-40 W, Amarillo, TX 79102-2201 (Formerly Magnuson Grand Hotel Amarillo)
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range: $109 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Amarillo 3*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarillo Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing