We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wyndham Garden Amarillo
Nearby Hotels
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo(Amarillo)
$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Amarillo(Amarillo)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (650)
Filter reviews
650 results
Traveler rating
86
106
136
147
175
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
106
136
147
175
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
455 - 460 of 650 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Upon arriving to this hotel we held quite a lot of optimism. The reviews were good and the TGI Fridays attached was a bonus after some of the hotels that we had stayed at previously for Route 66.

The service and check in was pleasant and efficient barring the receptionist balancing 3 customers and a phone call.

The room was large, clean and tidy. We were given a room that was already taken which was a bit embarrassing opening the door, however, it was sorted quickly.

The disappointing fact about this hotel was that my girlfriend injured her leg on a piece of metal sticking out of the bed in the room causing a laceration to her leg. Any contact of greater force would have caused a hospital visit. I had to give all first aid attention as none was offered by the hotel staff. They simply took an accident form and apologised. Not enough in my book, and shoddy customer service.

This has been taken up with the travel agents (Virgin Holidays) as part of a wider complaint.

Breakfast was ok, however, the choice was poor and didn't look as if much expense was spared.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Wild87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1300, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Amarillo, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Wild87,

We appreciate you staying with us while you were in town, and are glad you enjoyed the TGI Fridays located in hotel. I apologize for your experience with the room assignment issue, but glad that we were able to correct it quickly. I am deeply sorry for the injury your friend experienced, and for the unattentive customer service regarding this matter. This is not something that we take lightly, and would like to speak with you further about it. Please contact cclark@ambassadoramarillo.com when it is convenient for you.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The property is older, as many reviewers have said, but it is clean. I've stayed in more modern chain hotels that lacked the Ambassador's cleanliness. Everything in my room was well maintained and pleasant. The only negative feature was the dingy sheets, but the pillows were very comfy.

The Ambassador gets a very good rating from me because of the outstanding staff. I loved all the smiling faces--the over-all friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1300, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Amarillo, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Hi Shelley C,

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate you sharing your feedback. We take pride in ensuring that all guest accommodations are comfortable, and most importantly, clean. It's great to hear that you were pleased with the level of cleanliness in our hotel. We apologize for the sheets, and will share this comment with our housekeeping staff to ensure that this is corrected. Please consider staying with us again if you return to the area.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I was expecting alot more as my local contactr suggested this was the place to stay. Check-in staff were great, fast and efficient, the free breakfast was pretty descent too, but...... The free internet was hopeless, not possible to stream or download anything. Room was old and tatty but clean and comfortable. I was on the ground floor right by the swimming pool and on a weekend it is extremely noisy, especially when your working 1st shift and have to go to bed early. when leaving for work at 5am I would always put the 'clean my room immediately' tag on the door and on 2 of the 4 nights I stayed when I returned at 4pm the room still hadn't been serviced. The road surface outside is appalling with 2 huge craters right by the side door.
Its OK but needs lots of money spending on it to bring it up to the same standards as other local properties.

Room Tip: Stay away from the swimming pool
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew_Steward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1300, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Amarillo, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Hi Andrew S,

We appreciate you staying with us, and for sharing your experience. It's pleasing to hear that you had an attentive and efficient check-in, and that breakfast was to your liking. We apologize for the speed of the Internet you experienced, the noise level, and a delay in servicing your room. We are working to make improvements to ensure our guests are even more comfortable in the future. Your comments will be shared with the team in order to implement a plan to better improve our services and amenities.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My family and I stayed here on the way through town. It was easy to find and centrally located. I was impressed with the friendliness of the staff, not just upon arrival, but at each interaction and from the front desk to the hostesses at the free breakfast buffet. The hotel features a large open atrium with garden space and a pool at one end. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. They didn't have HDTV, but the old style still worked fine. We paid only $57 using Priceline.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 7th floor and had a nice view above the atrium out over the city.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caraduras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1300, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Amarillo, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Hi Caraduras,

Thanks for staying with us, and for the positive comments. We enjoy to hear that guests have a great experience with us, and it seems that you did. Nothing less than excellent customer service is acceptable, and your feedback will be shared with the team. We hope that we had exceeded your expectations and met your needs. Please keep us in mind for your next venture to Amarillo. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had never been to Texas, dealing with so many smiling, friendly people made a great impression. All the staff at the Ambassador and the attached T.G.I. Friday's restaurant were friendly and professional. The hotel is nicely designed with an atrium covering the lobby, breakfast area and pool. Quite a few rooms face into the atrium but most do not and have open views of the Texas sky. Our room with 2 queen beds was larger than average but lacked a mini fridge. It was clean and well kept but the furniture and tv (flat screen) were a little dated as we head towards 2013. The breakfast space was very pleasant and the food was good, if not fairly standard. Oddly, your room key will not unlock the door to the business centre, you have to ask for a separate key at the front desk. We rate this property a bit above a 3 and think most guests would be satisfied with the accommodation. There are many decent places to eat near The Ambassador. T.G.Friday's food is quite industrial, no surprise.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank protravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1300, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Amarillo, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Hi protravel1,

We are glad that you had your first experience in Texas with us! Overall, it is a very friendly state, but we do everything we can to go above and beyond to make our guests feel welcome. Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to accommodate you again if you return to the area in the future.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews