We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at great price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
Ranked #16 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Reviewed September 23, 2009

The room was very clean and quiet. Perfect night's sleep on very comfortable bed. All at a great price. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gtgColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (980)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

947 - 953 of 980 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2009

I was somewhat disappointed by this Hampton -- compared to the typical Hampton property, this seemed a little worn. It has the feel of a very old remodel which has undergone a bit of more recent patchwork. It is definitely a candidate for a complete remodel, although I wonder if next time I pass through I'll find out that it has become a Days Inn.

On the plus side, the price is a bit lower than the typical Hampton, probably reflecting the condition of the motel. It's very convenient, on the I-40 frontage road just east of central Amarillo. Since the rooms don't face the freeway, it's actually very quiet. Check-in was fast and friendly. There is fast food within walking distance. The room was very clean, the A/C was quiet and effective. The TV had lots of channels.

On the minus side, the room was generally worn, with faded carpet and dings in the walls. The drapes were kind of raggedy, and the towels smelled a little smoky in the non-smoking room. There was raw spackle on the room door. The bedding looked like the usual Hampton style, but the thick-looking pillows went rather flat, and had a plasticky crinkle to them. The bath was odd and a bit cramped with a 45-degree door and corner vanity, although the 3-way mirror effect is kind of nice for shaving and what-not. There was no hair conditioner, so I almost accidentally put moisturizer in my hair. The tub could use some non-skid tape. The breakfast area was somewhat limited by Hampton standards.

All in all, this was above average for a roadside motel, below the standards you expect from a Hampton.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
2  Thank Cadillac22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

We stayed here one night on a roadtrip out west. The room was comfortable and we had all the typical Hampton Inn ammenities. We brought our dog with us and he was allowed to stay in the room too. Breakfast was hot with a nice variety of choices. A good hotel for what we needed. The location is fairly close to a neat portion of RT 66 running out of downtown Amarillo. We had dinner at the Golden Light Bar & Grill. This bar looks sketchy from the outside but if you can get through that, you will have one of the best hamburgers around for dirt cheap.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

this was nice size room and very clean. the staff was friendly and they had a very good, hot breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArkansasBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Would recommend this hotel. Nice and clean. We enjoyed our stay in every way.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackiekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2008

Positives: Clean typical Hampton Inn with typical Hampton Inn breakfast fare

Negatives: No exercise room in the hotel; you are given a free membership at a local club but that means nothing at 5:00 AM when I want to exercise.

Concerns: Small bathroom with the door opening to block the passage from the room door and the rest of the room. No closet, only a cabinet which is too small for my hanging bag. There is a hanging bag hook on the wall but it is so close to the cabinet that it can't be used. I was on the first floor but I didn't see an elevator.

Food: Not much within walking distance. Usual fare west on I-40 and to the east on I-40, the famous Big Texan Steak Ranch where if you can eat the 72-oz steak, it's free

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RedSpyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

We stayed at Hampton Inn in route to Santa Fe, New Mexico. I was so glad to finally see the Hampton after an all day drive! The rooms were a nice size and the bedding was comfortable. The bathroom was smaller than most Hampton Inns and there was no elevator! This was unconvenient for carrying up heavy lugguage. The price was very reasonable for a two queen bed room. This seems to be a very busy motel for business travelers. There are lots of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank XNAGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
6.4 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
0.5 mi away
Ashmore Inn & Suites
Ashmore Inn & Suites
#25 of 72 in Amarillo
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites West Medical Center
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Amarillo East
Days Inn Amarillo East
#35 of 72 in Amarillo
677 reviews
6.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#15 of 72 in Amarillo
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East

Address: 1700 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103-2114 (Formerly Hampton Inn Amarillo)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range: $54 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East as of January 1, 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing