We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious grilled food...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Bracero Mexican Grill

El Bracero Mexican Grill
Ranked #10 of 501 Restaurants in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
197 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Delicious grilled food...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

El Bracero provides a savory alternative to standard Tex-Mex food. The mouth-watering aroma of the grilled meat greets you as you enter. Located in an old fast-food restaurant, this is a popular, family-friendly spot, with little space at busy hours. Go early. Reasonably priced variety of authentic Mexican grilled meats: beef, chicken, seafood, goat, etc. and a delicious combination of spices, sides, and condiments. Didn't notice much grease or slathered cheese on any of our plates. Clean with good service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kcw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    49
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Jalisco style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Really good salsa, tasted fresh! Had the beef fajitas and it did not disappoint. Dining room is brightly lit, a little fast food-like atmosphere but food is great! Food came out super fast-

Helpful?
Thank Surftexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Some of the best Authentic Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

This is the 2nd location (other on 6th St.) Both are very good. This location is very small needs better ventilation (grill smoke) but worth it for some of the best Authentic Mexican food in town.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Seth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
536 reviews
352 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
“I'm sorry Amarillo but this place isn't that good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We went here based on Tripadvisor. It hasn't led us wrong too often but this was a bad idea. The people that run the place are nice, the place is clean, the food is quickly prepared but:

1. We were served chips and salsa. The salsa was good but not great. The chips were poor. They tasted like they'd been sitting around for a long time, then rewarmed. Yuck.

2. We ordered queso fundido with chorizo for an app. It's the first time when I had a hard time finding the queso. It was mostly onions, peppers and mushrooms. Very little cheese or chorizo.

3. When the queso was served, we ordered our meals. The meals came out within 3-4 minutes. Try eating both an app and a main at the same time. Ridiculous.

4. My shrimp with garlic was okay at best. My husband's carnitas were also just okay.

This was not even close to decent. I don't know if Amarillo has different tastes in Mexican food or if we came on a bad night. But it sucked.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SalfromIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
81 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

My wife and I ate here while traveling to Colorado, based on reviews from TripAdvisor. The recomendations were absolutely on target.

The restaurant is in a repurposed competitor restaurant and is decorated with pictures and paraphenalia of Mexico.

Service: Prompt, friendly, and very helpful, even providing generous samples of some of their sauces which we weren't familiar with.

Food: We had the Enchilada Special and the Beef Lomo Saltado. The Enchilada Special was smothered in the Rancheros Sauce (cooked seasoned tomatoes), while the Beef Lomo Saltado was cooked with onions and jalapenos. Both dishes were absolutely delicious.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sohohe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Bracero Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to El Bracero Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing