We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Mexican food!”

El Bracero Mexican Grill
Ranked #12 of 506 Restaurants in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Thanks to trip advisor for helping us find this great place. I had the carnitas and my wife had the flautas. Awesome! Nice little place were the locals go for good Mexican. Pleasant and friendly staff.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    49
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food at a good price”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

This place is not terribly touristy - saw what appeared to be many locals eating dinner there. The portions are huge and the food was delicious. I ordered the spinach & mushroom enchiladas with sour cream sauce and it came with rice and beans (try the charro beans - so good!) - huge plate of food for $7.99. The queso was average, but the salsa was delicious.

My husband ordered a beef chimichanga and was pleasantly surprised to find chunks of beef and not just ground beef. Kids plates were also ample and cheap - American and Mexican food choices.

All in all, a great meal and friendly service. I highly recommend this place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saritarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unusual and good Mexican food”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This place is a delight, small, nice staff, great colors and above all great food. We ate the pork adobada, the red snapper with Veracruz sauce and the veggie plate and it was all delicious and too much to eat. All this and good beer for $18 a head!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

On our first night in Amarillo, the wife and I tossed up ad decided Mexican (Hey steaks were coming later on in the week) We dropped by and I saw thye were cooking with real pecan wood instead of Kindsford. That was awesome in my book. The service was great, the food was huge and not expensive. Getting to have some great Mexican food from over wood put our places back in Chicago to shame! (Take notes up there!) Definately worth eating and spending the time there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thegardenguroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo
Level Contributor
100 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Love the authentic cuisine!!!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

My favorite is the pork adobada. Spicy deliciousness!!!!! You get the fajita plate with tons of onions, rather than the usual boring peppers other places pile on. The guacamole is fantastic! My husband goes for the enchiladas and always loves them. The service is great and the prices are very reasonable!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debbieAmarillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Bracero Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to El Bracero Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing