We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected! Excellente!”

El Bracero Mexican Grill
Ranked #12 of 505 Restaurants in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Better than expected! Excellente!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Thanks for all your reviews, that is why we went. Overnighted in A'rillo on way to Colorado. I had the ceviche .... Unlike any I've had.... Big chunks of fish....really good! Then followed that up with the seafood enchiladas that were grilled fish n shrimp. We are wimpy when it comes to spicy, so we asked for sauce on the side, it was a little spicy, but good. The salsa was obviously homemade and very fresh tasting and spicy. Not what I would call a hole in the wall. I' ve been in some of those! Owner very nice, fast service, easy to find too. I'm stopping on the way back!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank unclegrumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    49
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good salsa, good staff, everything else ok.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is a pretty small place, and add another reviewer stated, it does look like a converted taco bell or other small fast food place. The staff was really nice and service was good. The salsa was good but a bit on the spicy side. The food want amazing though, in my opinion. It was ok, good enough to eat, nothing to complain about..but I don't think I'll go out of my way to get it again. There was a lot of cheese on everything, more than I would have preferred, but some people might see that as a plus. To me it seemed like all the food was relying solely on cheese for flavor. we had an enchilada, taco, chalupa, and chimichanga. I would eat here again off it was convenient, but wouldn't go out of the way for it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RikaConfesses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good salsa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We eat frequently at the El Bracero on Bell Street. The owner is friendly, the service is fast and we love the salsa. The enchiladas are yummy, but if you are really hungry, try the grill.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank amalawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
198 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Don't let the outside fool you!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a little hole in the wall type place with really good food. The Ceviche was amazing!!!! Fajitas are good and the salsa was wonderful with a very nice kick to it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesH2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
444 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Great Food... Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We didn't think of mexican food in Amarillo, Texas, but after looking at reviews of restaurants there, El Bracero just kind of stood out as a likely place for a nice lunch. My wife ordered beef fajitas and I ordered the carne asade. Both dishes were absolutely great. Hot, not a long wait, extremely nice staff, and an amazing roasted jalapeno. The roasted jalapeno was a first for me. I tasted it not knowing the kind of pepper that it was. It was salty and mild... and very very good. Not at all hot, but just right. We have now officially put this restaurant on our list to visit each time we go through Amarillo.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IverJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Bracero Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to El Bracero Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing