We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice people, wouldn't stay again though” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn West Medical Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Inn West Medical Center
Ranked #43 of 71 Hotels in Amarillo
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice people, wouldn't stay again though”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2009

The people at the front desk were very nice and helpful. In the hallways it was very stuffy feeling like you can't breath. The room was clean and nice. Then when we got on the bed, it was like laying on plywood! The bed was the worst I have ever slept on. It was like sleeping on the floor. The breakfast was a small continental breakfast, wasn't bad but not the best. It was my husband, myself, and three kids (2 teenagers and one 8 yr old). The pool was okay, was outdoor. We found a nicer hotel for just a few more dollars that had an indoor pool that was bigger, and a jacuzzi.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesnloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    90
    80
    53
    45
See reviews for
117
98
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo TX
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2008

Got in and the place is okay - reasonably clean, small indoor pool, guy behind the desk was tattoo-ed with an earring in his eyebrow and when I asked about a fitness center was completely stumped. Fortunately he was not behind the desk alone and a women emerged with a guest pass to a local gym. In the room now and the room walls are thin. Bring earplugs.

Bring noseplugs too. The air quality was fine when we arrived at 6:30 - at 8:00 it now smells like a stockyard in the middle of slaughter season outside. I mean, it stinks bad. I don' t know what the deal is here but if you can find a different city to stay in further down the road I would take it. REAL sorry we stopped here!

  • Liked — Reasonably clean with microwavbe and fridge, allow pets
  • Disliked — Can't get internet to work on 2nd computer, it is noisy and the air quality is terrible.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KoftheR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2008

It was a great hotel to stay at. The front desk clerks were very nice and helpful. The breakfast was very good. The room was very clean and comfortable. I highly recommend it if your looking for a quiet nice hotel.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank HG68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, TX
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2008

Best Western Amarillo Inn is an old hotel about 1/2 mile off of I-40. They originally put us in the wrong type of room. We weren't going to bother changing because it was so late, but then it turned out the toilet in the room didn't work. We were then upgraded to a "suite" which had a kitchenette and separate sitting area. The bed in this room, like the bed in the other, seems very old--the kind that bows in the middle and where you can feel the spring. The carpet is old and coming up. The linens, including the towels and bed sheets, are threadbare and worn. While our stay was relatively inexpensive (~$75), it was not significantly cheaper than other places in town that are nicer (Baymont and Drury Inn). This would be fine as a last option hotel: it does seem clean and relatively quiet. But there are too many other choices in Amarillo to go this way. My advice: find another place to stay. We definitely will.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank lse123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2007

After reading other reviews, we decided to stay at the Best Western while driving through Amarillo. When we arrived there a storm was approaching and it was very cold. Our room just didn't want to warm up so we went to the front desk. Within minutes there was a service person at our door to fix the heat. Everything else was just as we expected. We would stay there again.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank timefortraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2007

Hotel very good. Lovely swimming pool. Good complimentary breakfast.
Felt the receptionist were a bit vague about the layout of the place and the area. Felt a map of Amarillo would have been useful for the guests. They didn't know each room had a guest folder & that it told you about tornado procedures. When asked about somewhere to eat they didn't know.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank East Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2007

I stayed here 7 years ago, and the motel hasn't changed a bit. It is very clean and well maintained. It is on the west side of town, close to the hospitals and shopping. It is a few blocks off I-40 so you don't hear the traffic noise. I didn't eat their breakfast but they had "build your own" waffles that looked good!

  • Liked — the cleanliness
  • Disliked — I liked everything
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank aspenglade22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
#39 of 71 in Amarillo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#12 of 71 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
5.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Amarillo - West
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West
0.7 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn West Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn West Medical Center

Property: Quality Inn West Medical Center
Address: 1610 S Coulter St, Amarillo, TX 79106-1771 (Formerly Medical Center Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 71 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn West Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the friendliest service in Amarillo! We are conveniently located 1/2 mile North of Interstate 40 and in the Heart of the Harrington Regional Medical District. We offer a full range of amenities from our Indoor pool/hot tub, HOT breakfast, and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Quality Inn West Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Medical Hotel Amarillo
Best Western Amarillo Hotel
Amarillo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing