We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of money / rip-off......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Santa Fe
Ranked #11 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Boone, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Waste of money / rip-off......”
Reviewed January 27, 2011

We pulled in after flying in from Charlotte, bought a truck in Denver, drove down to point we were worn out 2:30am.
The guy behind the desk acted strange, said $ 69.99 then when got card wanted $ 80.00
We were to tired to fuss, then room was musty, and crappy old tv, the shower was useless...head was to low, water went from icy to scalding NO WAY TO ADJUST and the shower rod was held in mounts by drywall screws wedged.
The wall A/C / HEATER was smelly and didn't half work either, We got most of our heat from hallway and the large gap under it which let in a lot of noise.
NEVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bubbacom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    178
    87
    39
    34
See reviews for
188
190
44
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pinetop-Lakeside, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

My grandparents and I stayed at this hotel while travelling back home to Arizona from Arkansas. The hotel is ok and the staff very friendly. It was a little difficult to get to and some distance from the nearest restaurant. The beds had little miniature pillows instead of regular pillows to sleep on. I had a roll-a-way and it was terrible -- needed a new mattress. The breakfast consisted of biscuits, gravy, sausage, various pastries, cereals, juice and coffee.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinfoolfromaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We stayed here on a return trip from Phoenix. After driving all day, I picked the motel because it was on the East side of Amarillo, allowing us to avoid any traffic in the morning. Big mistake. The room smelled musty and was a bit dirty. All we really wanted to do was get a good night sleep and be on our way in the morning. This motel is at the top of my list for worst mattresses "ever". We toughed it out and left in the morning after an 'un'restful night.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KS_Cottonwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2010

The hotel was hard to find, and was in an area that smelled badly of feedlots.

Nothing terrible happened during the visit, but a few things were unacceptable:

- could not access wireless internet (one router was in the lobby, we were far from the lobby); irritating!

- the floor and the carpet was damp to bare feet (disgusting)

- the manager at night (11:00) behaved in a way that made us feel as though he was suspicious of us, not welcoming of us (no hospitality?)

- there was not enough parking for the rooms at all, and the spaces were very close making it nearly impossible to unload a vehicle (worrisome!)

Breakfast was okay. Room was nice and large. Slept well, but it was really cold and I didn't want to walk across the damp carpet in my bare feet to turn the a/c off because I was too grossed out, so it just was really cold. Location was somewhat hard to get to. Did not feel like it was in a good part of town, but didn't observe any suspicious activity.

Can't recommend the hotel; wish I had found a nice Hampton Inn instead or something.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hospitality4pt0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2010

The people at the front desk were very nice and helpful. In the hallways it was very stuffy feeling like you can't breath. The room was clean and nice. Then when we got on the bed, it was like laying on plywood! The bed was the worst I have ever slept on. It was like sleeping on the floor. The breakfast was a small continental breakfast, wasn't bad but not the best. It was my husband, myself, and three kids (2 teenagers and one 8 yr old). The pool was okay, was outdoor. We found a nicer hotel for just a few more dollars that had an indoor pool that was bigger, and a jacuzzi.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesnloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego California
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2009

There was really nothing wrong with that hotel, it just wasnt what we were used too. The breakfast area was too small and the breakfast wasnt impressive either. The room was a room, good enough to stay for one night. We are big fans of Best Westerns but i wouldnt stay there again. But they did have Military disscount and they do allow pets which is very importend to us.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwardsfamily2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Michaels, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

After staying at a terrific Best Western in Kansas we decided to book a room here. Big mistake....they are not all equal. Even though it was the same type of room (2 queens, micro and fridge) this was small, smelly and outdated. We had to fix the shower head so it worked properly, the toilet seat was loose, tv remote didn't work properly, pink sheets were ugly, and the towels were like sand paper. My middle son had to use the restroom downstairs and he told me he saw a hole in the wall and watched a cockroach go in it. Gross! There are TONS of hotels in Amarillo so do yourself and your family a favor and pick another place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank militaryfamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
8.6 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
8.5 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
8.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
7.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites West Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Santa Fe

Property: Best Western Santa Fe
Address: 4600 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103-6200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Santa Fe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Fe Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Best Western
Best Western Hotel Amarillo
Best Western Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing