We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful NEW Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East
Ranked #32 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Reviewed October 5, 2008

Arrived in the evening, check in was great. Was very pleased with Hotel. VERY nice and new. Front desk employees very friendly. Room was very clean. Morning breakfast was good - hot food as well as typical cold foods. Will definitely stay here again when passing through town.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Gawoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 185 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2008

Driving through Amarillo on the way from Dallas to Albuquerque we needed to spend the night. Not many choices, so we deceided on this hotel because it is new. We were pleasantly surprised. Late check-in after 11pm no problem. Quick and we were off to our rooms. Very clean and spacious. We had a 1 bed king suite. Very comfortable beds. Every thing was spotless and new. Breakfast is included, very average, only fruit choice was banana. Cereal, rolls, muffins, toast and bagels. Eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy(we are in Texas). Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank abqgirl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2008

We stayed here one night, on our way to Aspen from Dallas.

We arrived at midnight and there was a sign up at the front desk that said "I will be back in 8 minutes, thank you for your patience."
Not exactly what I was hoping for, after a long day of driving, but fortunately - the attendant showed up in a few minutes.

The lobby area is nice and clean... nothing elaborate. Very typical.

Our room was on the 3rd floor, overlooking the parking lot.
I was immediately impressed with the updated style of the room. It had a mediterranean feel to it, and had great color schemes, furniture, accents, etc...
The bathroom was spacious with a nice long counter top... and little lotions, make up removers, shampoo, etc... The only thing that bothered me was the small live roach type bug that was crawling around outside the bath tub/shower --- and then I discovered there was a 2nd one, already dead in the shower itself.

Aside from that, everything went well.. the breakfast was good. Cereal, juices, hashbrowns, toast, cinnamon buns, yogurt, etc.. Plenty to choose from...

Overall, not a bad place to stay - esp. given your other options in Amarillo!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TripsAh0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2008

Very nice accommodations, but beware when confirming your reservation. We booked two rooms online with separate reservation numbers. The day of arrival around 3 or 4PM, we called the 800 number to guarantee late arrival for each room with a credit card. The lady on the phone was obviously not too bright as she gave me a guaranteed confirmation number before I even gave her the cc number. But after clarifying, she confirmed the first reservation, then we went through the details again for the 2nd reservation. She verbally told me each guaranteed confirmation number, but I asked her to email it so I didn't have to write while driving. I can retrieve email on my phone and about 15 min. later I could see one of the emails came through, but not the other. I figured it would eventually come and then I forgot to recheck. The next thing we knew we were in the lobby around 7:30PM and they only had one room confirmed, but the other one didn't show to be guaranteed so they dropped it at 6PM. Now the hotel was full and our party would have to split up. The guy at the front desk tried to make things right and upgraded us to a suite but it was all one room and we had 4 adults and 2 kids and felt uneasy about sharing one room. So my husband and I took our kids down the road to America's Best Value hotel and found it to be a lot nicer than expected. But it was still hard to swallow because this Days Inn is the nicest motel/hotel we've ever seen - rooms are beautiful! And after a long road trip, we were really wanting a nicer room. And we did everything right as far as calling to guarantee the rooms, etc. Fortunately the front desk was also kind enough to offer for us to come back the next morning with the rest of our party and have the free breakfast, which we did. And it was a VERY nice breakfast - way better than the usual fruit/cereal/muffins. Because he tried so hard to make things as "right" as he could, we would try to stay here again. Just be sure you get a confirmation number showing the room is guaranteed for late arrival or call the hotel directly to be sure its in the computer. When calling the 800 number, Lord only knows where the person is you're talking to - but most likely they're in the Philippines and barely speak English. A final note, go eat dinner at The Texan steakhouse down the road. What a TREAT!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DallasSocrmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2008

We booked this hotel because it was a newer hotel and always looking for a very clean hotel to stay at. We got in late about 11 and the front desk was extremely helpful (even let the kids swim). The room was great, very comfy beds and very clean and new. Would stay at this hotel again without question. Great breakfast also.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denverbroncos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2008

New HI Express East of Amarillo. Everything was top notch, but the price was too, $108.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank wsteinhauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2008

If this is what a new Holiday Inn Express is like I want to stay in them from now on. Extra large room beautifully decorated in designer colors. Granite & tile in the bath, arched entry into our 2 bed room (used points for the stay). Nicer than a Hampton or Courtyard. Full breakfast with bacon, eggs etc. My husband & I drive from Sandpoint, Idaho to New Smyrna Beach, FL twice a year so we stay in a lot of hotels. Our 2 service dogs travel with us. They didn't even flinch when i told them about the dogs when checkin in. Many bonus points for such a refreshing attitude. This hotel is a very nice surprise.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Amarillo Airport
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo East
8.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Amarillo-Western Crossing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Amarillo Airport
11.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Amarillo I-40 West, TX
11.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East

Address: 9401 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79118-6960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range: $115 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Amarillo Hotel Offers Convenient Location Enjoy a comfortable stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of East Amarillo, located within a mile of Amarillo Rick Husband International Airport (AMA). You can take the family for a day of fun at Wonderland Amusement Park, just 10 miles from our Amarillo hotel! If you're more in the mood for shopping, the Westgate Mall is only 10 miles away. Amarillo offers attractions for nature lovers as well, and you can check out Palo Duro Canyon or Historic Route 66. Lodging in our Amarillo Airport hotel while in town for business means you have an ideal location close to the airport! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Amarillo East
Holiday Inn Express Amarillo
Holiday Inn Amarillo
Amarillo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing