We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East
Ranked #28 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Another great experience!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The two of us are traveling coast to coast and staying at Holiday Inn Express the entire way round trip. This is the third night of this adventure and there is nothing negative to say. The room is clean, certainly large enough for two people, large bathroom and comfortable. The inclusive breakfasts continue to surprise us with the many choices and there are always those tasty cinnamon buns. I'm a yogurt and hard boiled egg person but my husband likes egg and sausage and neither of us has been disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBaillieul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Lets hear it for the Holiday Inn Express Complimentary Breakfast!! We are so glad you were pleased with the breakfast selection and the rooms! We are happy that you enjoy the recently expanded selection of our great complimentary hot and cold breakfast! Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    46
    30
    10
    8
See reviews for
73
39
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Azle, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

When we have had, or plan, a long day of driving we go out of our way to swim.
What is the point of not opening the pool until 9 AM? They open the Fitness Center machines at 5:30 AM. (It’s the same at the East HI Express, near the Airport). I asked the Manager, Varun Chitkara, who kindly listened. Otherwise, a very nice hotel
but will not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tico8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for the kind words about our hotel! We really appreciate the great feedback. Generally the pool does not open until 9:00 am so that the guests may enjoy a peaceful nights sleep. Next time please inquire at the front desk, as long as the pool is enjoyed quietly we will usually be able to accommodate your needs. Our guests love our indoor pool and whirlpool with the neat waterfall feature. Thank you so much for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I have stayed at many Holiday Inn Express Hotels in the past with very good experiences. This time was a disasterous. We had been traveling most of the day and final reached the hotel @ 1230 in the morning on 22 Sep 12. We stayed in room 309 and the bathroom toilet did not flush, trash in the trash cans, and worst of all - the air conditioner did not work. The room was a toasty 84 degrees all night. My wife and I did not sleep all night, and had a full day of traveling ahead. They offered to take $20 off of the bill. I really would have desired a free stay to make up for the my worst hotel experience in my 47 years. I have stayed at this establishment on 3 separate occasions in the past overnight withoout a problem.

Room Tip: Ask for the king suite - I stayed in one of these last night on a return trip from Florida - Holiday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay! We would have liked an opportunity prior to you checking out to actually fix the problem. In the future if you are experiencing issues with a stay at any hotel it's pretty likely that you would be able to move to another room or there is help just a phone call away and any issues can be remedied quickly and you would be able to enjoy the rest of your visit. I am available to the staff and hotel 24/7 and gladly respond quickly to create great hotels guests love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We were on our way back from a trip to Colorado and arrived late. The lady at the desk was very courteous and professional. Big well lit parking lot. Room was clean, mattress was only average and a little bit of a dissapointment. I give it a good overall score even with the mattress quality.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate you staying with us! We will be sure to pass along your compliments to the night agent. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is our go to hotel in East Amarillo.
Easy to get to, nice staff, convenient breakfast.
Even close to the Big Texan, if you like busy once might be enough touristy food joints.
And an easy get of town going east.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbahama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your review! We appreciate that you like our location, staff and breakfast! We must admit, we also like to enjoy The Big Texan too! We know you have a lot of hotel choices in Amarillo, we really appreciate you staying with us! Next time you stay with us we would be happy to share some of our other favorite places to eat! Most of us are foodies too! Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This was probably the nicest HI Express hotels I've seen. It was very clean and had some very nice and fancy features. Nicely decorated. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it highly. Complementary breakfast was the usual.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
That is quite a compliment and we REALLY appreciate it! We are glad you found our hotel to be one of the nicest and best decorated. We certainly appreciate your feedback, you can be assured that it will be shared with our staff. Thank you once again for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Helpful staff made check-in easy (pets too!) and pleasant (after a very long day of traveling)...even found numbers for ordering food to be delivered. Rooms are comfortable and clean! Great experience!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bwbryson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluntramblings, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We LOVE pets and we are so glad you stayed with us! We are so that happy check in was a breeze, your pets were comfy and you got to enjoy some of Amarillo's food without having to travel back out. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you (and your pets) soon! We are happy to be pet friendly and a 100% smoke free hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo Airport
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo East
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Amarillo
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Amarillo Mid City
11.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East
Address: 9401 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79118-6960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Amarillo Hotel Offers Convenient Location Enjoy a comfortable stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of East Amarillo, located within a mile of Amarillo Rick Husband International Airport (AMA). Our East Amarillo hotel's location off I-40 offers close proximity to businesses and medical centers as well as area attractions. You can take the family for a day of fun at Wonderland Amusement Park, just 10 miles from our Amarillo hotel, or visit Splash Amarillo, a water park just three miles from our Amarillo accommodations. If you're more in the mood for shopping, the Westgate Mall is only 10 miles away. Amarillo offers attractions for nature lovers as well, and you can check out Palo Duro Canyon or Historic Route 66. Lodging in our Amarillo Airport hotel while in town for business means you have an ideal location close to the airport, and also easy access to area businesses and medical centers such as Medical Center Coulter Street, Wells Fargo and Northwest Texas Hospital. Our hotel in Amarillo has a meeting room with 1,000 sq. ft. of space, offers free high-speed, wireless Internet access for your convenience and provides a 24-hour Business Center. Stay Smart at our Amarillo Airport hotel and wake up to the complimentary, hot breakfast bar. You can relax in a triple-sheeted bed while you surf the web with free high-speed Internet access. Check out our East Amarillo airport hotel's deals and rates today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Amarillo East
Holiday Inn Express Amarillo
Holiday Inn Amarillo
Amarillo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing