We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ew! Food on the walls, stinky room and poor service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fifth Season Inn & Suites
Ranked #55 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ew! Food on the walls, stinky room and poor service!”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed at this place because we had a coupon from one of those little rest stop hotel/motel discount magazines. When we pulled up it looked like a fabulous place to stay! The lobby was very nice, warm and inviting. The room that we got was horrible! There was food on the walls, the carpets were filthy, there was stuff under the beds (garbage), one of the comforters had food stuck to it, the room reeked of cigarette smoke (to be fair it was a smoking room) and the TV didn't work. We called to the front desk where it seemed that I was bothering the girl. She rudely said that someone from maintenance would be there shortly and hung up on me! My husband messed around with the TV and got it to work so I called back to the front desk to cancel the maintenance call (about 10 minutes later) because noone had showed up and my husband had fixed the problem. The girl at the front desk rudely said OK and hung up on me yet again. It was then that I noticed the food on the walls. Since we had already had a bad experience with the front desk and it was quite late we just went to sleep. I would never, ever recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: Don't ever use the coupon out of the hotel/motel discount book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disimile2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    52
    60
    71
    148
See reviews for
159
79
32
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2012

What a disgusting place! We found the air conditioner didn't work, moved to another room same problem! This one had a complimentary crack pipe in the desk drawer with lots of scratch offs. Acoustic hanging from bathroom ceiling, including the vent. Never again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kneegrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amarillo hotels

Claremont, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Why, oh why, did we stay here?

We stayed at the Fifth Season in Amarillo, TX, because it looked decent.
DO NOT STAY HERE!

Upon arrival in the parking lot, we decided that if we had an outside-facing room we would pay for an upgrade, or just find somewhere else to stay. Going inside to check in, the hotel lobby looked nice, but it stank of chlorine - lots of chlorine. The sound of screaming children echoed through the atrium. We wrote off the idea of getting into the pool. We also wrote off the idea of peace and quiet, 'cause the little water creatures were screaming up and down the hallways until well after 11:30PM.

We checked in, and got an interior-facing room on the third floor. Hooray! No meth-lab-esque rooms at the back of the hotel for us! The desk clerk gave us two vouchers for a hot breakfast - which should have been a tipoff. Even at really expensive hotels, they just ask you to show your room key or have you write your room # on the bill.

We decided for the first time since we hit the road that we would unload the entire contents of the car, instead of just the expensive and sentimental stuff. Why? Well, the parking lot looked a little…drug addict-y™. And we’re from the Los Angeles area. We know what drug addict-y™ looks like.

We took the old bellhop’s cart out to the car, and loaded it up. One of the wheels was terribly bent, and keeping the thing going straight was a trial. And at one point an epic fail as the thing careened into the hood of our car.

Finally, with the wonky "cart" all packed up, we headed for the glass elevator. Ooh, fun! Yeah, no. The elevators here were REALLY slow, and the doors took forever to close. There was no "Door Close" button. There was also a weird kid sitting on the floor of the elevator, eating, and staring at the doors (WTF? Kids these days...) when the doors opened. He finally got up, and shambled towards the stanky pool area after a while, but it was still weird...and it reminded us to catch the Walking Dead this week.

Now for the room. The ceiling are low. We moved from a house where the tallest ceiling, thanks to Depressions-era construction, was 7’10”, so if a ceiling feels low to us, it’s low. We could both reach it from the floor. Also, one of the queen-sized beds was sagging badly. Inspection in the morning revealed that the box frame was splintered in the middle.

The bathroom features new granite tile, which is ice-rink fun with wet feet. No floor towels were provided, but plenty of other towels were there.

There was no room service menu, nor did the phone have a dial tone when you lifted the receiver. We were on the third floor, so we thought we would get some fresh air (when we arrived, the room smelled of stale perfume). The window was broken, and unless you propped it open with a plastic ice bucket, it would slam shut. Now we know how it got cracked.

There was a hole in the wall next to one of the beds (the one that wasn’t sagging). There was a patched hole in the door of the bathroom. Any repairman worth their salt should be able to patch both of these quickly, without leaving much visible remnant of the damage. Not so much in this hotel - looked like someone needed to get to that bathroom BADLY. Maybe it was the continental breakfast.

Something that apparently bothered us both enough that we had bad dreams about it - there are no clocks in these rooms. No alarm clock. No wall clock. No clock on the television or phone. Nothing. It's like they don't want you to know how much of your life is ticking away in this hellhole.

Oh, yeah, and bonus points for the mirror positioned so that you have wiz-cam™ as you sit on the toilet - what a view!

Extra bonus points for the large number of beer guts and cowboy hats that stared you down as you walked through the atrium.

Would I stay here again?
HA! Hahahahahahahahahahahahaha!!
No.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. Run away from this place while you still can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaybeTooHonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melvindale, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Let me start by saying that my boyfriend and I were moving across country from Michigan to California. So I had A LOT of stuff in my car as well as a roof top carrier. I told the front desk person that so he put me faaaaaaar away from anyone else, where I was the only car in the parking lot. Directly with the people that live there full-time. Screaming kids, crying kids, people fighting in Spanish. The outside of the hotel looks great and the lobby looks gorgeous. DO NOT BE DECEIVED. The hallway to the rooms has a drop ceiling....that is falling out in places. It stinks like a sewer inside the rooms. There was some kind of bug in our room, I killed it too fast to investigate. No bed bugs, but I sprayed the bed just in case. The room carpet looked like it hadn't been vacuumed in months, there were GANG SIGNS written in permanent marker on the headboard, you could tell the door (to the outside) had been busted in and the lock replaced, and the neighbors' door had some conspicuous looking circular holes in it. When we finally turned off the light to go to sleep, we saw that someone put glow in the dark paint on the ceiling. Didn't wake up to any bugs, and my car was fine, but it was still a nasty room. Save your money and go somewhere else!

Room Tip: Pets allowed with a $15 charge per animal, per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Screenname111112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Ok guys so you know my reviews have been the most honest. Well this place is a complete mess. Never in my life I got a room Without a toilet seat. Never in my life I heard the hotel desk say " were working on that" at least 10 times. The only good thing about this hotel is the location. Next to a pizza hut and a plaza with a good Thai restaurant. There are 13 hotels near this one. Choose one other than this..

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twoandfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Ghetto. Maybe was really nice 20 years ago. When you see weekly rates.. stay clear. All rooms face inside, right towards the pool and jacuzzi. Kids in there all night. Kept begging the front desk to clear then out.... He did but 15 minutes later they are back in. Cracked sinks, wood rot door frames, almost no working vending or ice machines. Gross!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nothappyhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Really liked the set up , large center where rooms doors faced inside. Large courtyard where breakfast is served, indoor pool & jacuzzi. Super slow internet !! Had to wait 1 minute for every 5 seconds of video to play !! Could not do what i intended to on way to seminar .. very disappointing. Asked staff, said they would reboot. Made no difference.

Rooms were ok, liked how they had large windows with curtains where you could look out or have your privacy. we were on 1st floor. Would not accept coupon price & upcharged $20 !! Very dishonest !! Other than internet & upcharge I liked the actual hotel ... if you care not about these things then it is ok for the money

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enrique G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
5.6 mi away
Amarillo Inn & Suites
Amarillo Inn & Suites
#44 of 72 in Amarillo
99 reviews
5.4 mi away
Days Inn Amarillo East
Days Inn Amarillo East
#36 of 72 in Amarillo
655 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
#38 of 72 in Amarillo
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
5.9 mi away
Ashmore Inn & Suites
Ashmore Inn & Suites
#23 of 72 in Amarillo
399 reviews
5.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fifth Season Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fifth Season Inn & Suites

Property: Fifth Season Inn & Suites
Address: 6801 West Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79106-2608
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fifth Season Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Fifth Season Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fifth Season Inn And Suites
Fifth Season Hotel Amarillo
Fifth Season Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing