We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo
Ranked #13 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
niceville, fl
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nightmare”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The first time we stayed in this hotel it was a wonderful experience. A year later we left the hotel the same night. The room was clean and large just as we had expected, but the clanking noise that kept repeating, almost like someone tapping on a pipe with a wrench, was unbearable. Now between my husband and I, well, I am the picky one, so anyone that hears that it was my husband who decided we must leave knows it surely was bad. I reached out to the cocky desk clerk in regards to the noise and she said all the rooms on the 3rd floor hear the noise. I asked if we could change rooms, and I was told they were full and there were no rooms. My husband phoned 15 mins later and was laughed at and told he could come get ear plugs. Hmm...he went downstairs and was gone for a while so I decided to go down to the desk myself. I walk up and hear the clerk tell another couple, "I will give you this room and I will just give them (us) your room". After I questioned her I found out there had been a room available when I first asked...she just didn't want to help...she was eating. So, we moved to our new handicaped room...I was disgusted by the dark, smelly room. The furnature was placed in way that a wheel chair person could not move about. I can not believe they would put people in that depressing atmosphere. So, we left.

Room Tip: I would avoid the upper floors just in case the wind blows
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank murch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHIE-AMA, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
murch1: Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize again for your experience at our hotel. Immediate corrective measures were taken to assure this type of situation does not occur in the future. Customer Service and Guest Satisfaction are very important to us and I apologize for the behavior of the agents you dealt with. If you are willing, I would love for you to stay with us in the future so that we may attempt to win you back over!
Thank you,
Kashion Smith
General Manager
806.322.3050
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    76
    19
    4
    8
See reviews for
85
83
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Perfect really describes this hotel!! It was so clean, as soon as you walked in the door it smelled clean. The room was nice and extremely clean. The front desk staff were extremely nice. Bathroom was awesome and the shower head was so nice. This will be my hotel of choice when in Amarillo!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracyumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I have stayed at many Holiday Inn Express hotels, but this is my favorite. The front desk and breakfast staff are very friendly and helpful. The beds are extremely comfortable and provide a pleasant sleeping experience. Room temperature is controlled by thermostat on the wall. I find that many hotels either have inadequate A/C, or they leave you shivering in bed in the middle of the night. Climate control at this hotel was more like home, where your central A/C keeps you comfortable and is well balanced. The entire hotel - rooms, breakfast area, bathrooms, etc. - was clean. The location is great - near downtown and also along the route to Colorado if that is where you are headed. The hot breakfast is good and includes a number of solid options - whether you want eggs and sausage or a more healthy fare like oatmeal and fruit. We travel through Amarillo at least once a year, and plan to stay at this hotel every time. I didn't give it 5 stars because it really can't compete with hotels like the Omni, but as far as affordable travel options go, this is as good as it gets.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasualTravelers96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This property was very convenient to I-40. It offered plenty of parking and adjacent to a Texas Roadhouse restaurant. Staff was professional and efficient. Room was very clean with comfortable beds. Had to leave before 6AM so I was not able to sample the free breakfast, but it smelled very good. Also offer an indoor pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadian, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I got this hotel on the luck of the draw through hotwire. I was very impressed, everything here was quality. Even the little shampoos were decent. Staff wasn't just real friendly, but the quality and comfort here made up for it. Lots of variety for breakfast, and it was actually good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnincanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iredell, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Our stay was extremely wonderful. The room was very clean, cool, quiet, and comfortable. We always enjoy a good breakfast and we were provided with everything we wanted plus some. We would recommend it to anyone who wanted to stay in a nice hotel with a courteous staff.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor and there was no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rexie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumwater, Washington
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

I fly into Amarillo on a regular basis for business. Although there are hotels closer to the airport this is by far my favorite. They have all the same features I have come to expect from a HIE and a outstanding staff to boot. Today was an excellent example... As I was checking out at 4the am a customer was being overly abusive to the night shift clerk, Teresa.. over a technical problem that was out of her control.. despite the customers continues badgering she kept a very pleasant, and professional demeanor. My hats off to her and all the staff. Always a pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHornback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 73 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
3.6 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Amarillo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo
Address: 2806 Wolflin Ave, Amarillo, TX 79109-1633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
#10 Family Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo, Texas, home of the American Quarter Horse headquarters and Museum. Our Amarillo hotel is centrally located just 3 miles from downtown, the medical center and Westgate Mall. We feature stylish executive suites and spacious standard rooms. All rooms come fully equipped with a microwave, wet bar and refrigerator. This Amarillo hotel features a spectacular indoor heated pool with hot tub, and a fitness center with a flat panel TV. And yes, we are that hotel with the waterfall, located directly behind the Texas Roadhouse. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, our hotel invites you to enjoy the 100% smoke free and pet free environment, together with the free, hot Express Start breakfast (mmm cinnamon rolls). Local attractions: Amarillo Civic Center, Tri State Fairgrounds, Amarillo Globe News Center for the Performing Arts, American Quarter Horse Headquarters & Museum, Heritage museum, Wolflin Village, Historic Route 66, Cadillac Ranch, Palo Duro Canyon featuring the official play of the State of Texas, La Paloma golf course, Amarillo Country Club, West Texas A&M, Amarillo Community College Local businesses: Rick Husband Amarillo International Airport, Tradewinds Airport, Bell Helicopter, Blue Cross Blue Shield, Pantex, Tyson Foods, Owens Corning, BSA Hospital, North West Hospital, and The Laser Center for Vision. We look forward to seeing you in Amarillo! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Amarillo
Holiday Inn Express Amarillo
Holiday Inn Amarillo
Amarillo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing