We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast but had to fight the guests AND staff for a chance at food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo
Ranked #36 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Reviewed June 18, 2011

On a 5 day drive from San Antonio to Seattle, this Comfort Suites was the first night's stop. Good bed, huge room, clean bathroom, and quiet hallways. Breakfast was good but we had to fight what looked like a staff member's children for the best choices. They were messy and very loud and seemed to be oblivious to the guests that were trying to get a quick meal before the end of breakfast hours. We later saw these children cleaning rooms!! These children were very obviously too young to be working at this hotel and their attire was definitely not indicative a hotel employment. Ever heard to Child Labor Laws?? No skin off my teeth but seems like someone would be concerned. Overall a good stay. Out of the 4 Comfort Suites that we stayed in on our trip, this one was second best.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vitlsigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 166 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2011

We've stayed here twice - once while visiting Palo Duro Canyon, and again on our way to California. Both times we found this hotel to be clean, and the staff has been very kind and helpful. If visiting Palo Duro Canyon, this hotel is close enough to visit the Canyon in the morning, return to the hotel for an afternoon rest, and then drive back out to see the "Texas" play that evening.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDF71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

First off I used my rewards since this was a family outing. Stayed in a suite with two doubles and a pull out. Sink in the room didn't have a handle on it plus there was no water to it. Bathroom sink OK.
Went to the pool, 1 of 3 lights working, very dark in the room, Sprayed down non slip around the pool was loose and caused tripping hazards.
The sauna ??? No Knobs so it didn't work.
Beds were broke down rolled to the middle or offf the bed.
Then the breakfast was not the best, I have stayed at a few Comfort suites and this one was not close to the top.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nascar43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

Only stayed overnight on the way to another destination. Hotel was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was ok. Has plenty of choices. Would stay again if going that way.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heydawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We stayed March 2011 in room 106 which had the worst beds we have ever slept in. They were worse than an old pull-out sofa bed. They squeaked each time we moved; caved in the middle; thin and lumpy. The pillows were tiny squares... your head could not stay on them. In hindsight, we should have checked out and made the effort to change hotels. There are several good hotels in the area.

We would have slept better on the floor.

We will never stay there again.

The internet service had one bar in the room and full bars in the Lobby. The front desk staffer said she would call Sudden Link. I sat in the Dining Area working on my laptop and notice she never called anyone about the slow internet service. She was all happy talk, and no action. Her shift ended 30 mins later and she went home without addressing the issue.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DesignLady2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

We stay in this hotel periodically. Our most recent stay was a let down because the management decided not to have maids clean the rooms because there were not many guests. This was a first for us anywhere. That aside the desk staff were friendly and capable, the room and bed comfortable, and breakfast adequate.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texasskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Staff was courteous. Breakfast was not good (one of the worst I’ve had at a “free” hotel breakfast) and the hotel was a little dirty. Our room was not cooled upon arrival and it took a while to cool to a comfortable point. In addition, the wall by our bathroom trash was not cleaned and trash by outside entrance needed emptied.....did not like trucks and trailer beds parked on access road. ...this seemed unsafe.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChetH1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#17 of 72 in Amarillo
388 reviews
7.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Amarillo
7.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#27 of 72 in Amarillo
187 reviews
7.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
7.5 mi away
Ashmore Inn & Suites
Ashmore Inn & Suites
#25 of 72 in Amarillo
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo

Address: 6318 Ventura Dr, Amarillo, TX 79110-4808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range: $63 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Comfort Suites Amarillo
Amarillo Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing