We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good breakfast but had to fight the guests AND staff for a chance at food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo
Ranked #31 of 70 Hotels in Amarillo
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good breakfast but had to fight the guests AND staff for a chance at food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

On a 5 day drive from San Antonio to Seattle, this Comfort Suites was the first night's stop. Good bed, huge room, clean bathroom, and quiet hallways. Breakfast was good but we had to fight what looked like a staff member's children for the best choices. They were messy and very loud and seemed to be oblivious to the guests that were trying to get a quick meal before the end of breakfast hours. We later saw these children cleaning rooms!! These children were very obviously too young to be working at this hotel and their attire was definitely not indicative a hotel employment. Ever heard to Child Labor Laws?? No skin off my teeth but seems like someone would be concerned. Overall a good stay. Out of the 4 Comfort Suites that we stayed in on our trip, this one was second best.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vitlsigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    49
    32
    21
    11
See reviews for
54
38
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forney, Texas
Level Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

We've stayed here twice - once while visiting Palo Duro Canyon, and again on our way to California. Both times we found this hotel to be clean, and the staff has been very kind and helpful. If visiting Palo Duro Canyon, this hotel is close enough to visit the Canyon in the morning, return to the hotel for an afternoon rest, and then drive back out to see the "Texas" play that evening.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDF71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

First off I used my rewards since this was a family outing. Stayed in a suite with two doubles and a pull out. Sink in the room didn't have a handle on it plus there was no water to it. Bathroom sink OK.
Went to the pool, 1 of 3 lights working, very dark in the room, Sprayed down non slip around the pool was loose and caused tripping hazards.
The sauna ??? No Knobs so it didn't work.
Beds were broke down rolled to the middle or offf the bed.
Then the breakfast was not the best, I have stayed at a few Comfort suites and this one was not close to the top.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nascar43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amarillo hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Only stayed overnight on the way to another destination. Hotel was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was ok. Has plenty of choices. Would stay again if going that way.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heydawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

We stayed March 2011 in room 106 which had the worst beds we have ever slept in. They were worse than an old pull-out sofa bed. They squeaked each time we moved; caved in the middle; thin and lumpy. The pillows were tiny squares... your head could not stay on them. In hindsight, we should have checked out and made the effort to change hotels. There are several good hotels in the area.

We would have slept better on the floor.

We will never stay there again.

The internet service had one bar in the room and full bars in the Lobby. The front desk staffer said she would call Sudden Link. I sat in the Dining Area working on my laptop and notice she never called anyone about the slow internet service. She was all happy talk, and no action. Her shift ended 30 mins later and she went home without addressing the issue.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesignLady2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

We stay in this hotel periodically. Our most recent stay was a let down because the management decided not to have maids clean the rooms because there were not many guests. This was a first for us anywhere. That aside the desk staff were friendly and capable, the room and bed comfortable, and breakfast adequate.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Texasskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Road
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Staff was courteous. Breakfast was not good (one of the worst I’ve had at a “free” hotel breakfast) and the hotel was a little dirty. Our room was not cooled upon arrival and it took a while to cool to a comfortable point. In addition, the wall by our bathroom trash was not cleaned and trash by outside entrance needed emptied.....did not like trucks and trailer beds parked on access road. ...this seemed unsafe.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChetH1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South
5.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#28 of 70 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
7.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 70 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 70 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
7.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Airport
Sleep Inn Airport
#24 of 70 in Amarillo
3.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo

Property: Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo
Address: 6318 Ventura Dr, Amarillo, TX 79110-4808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 70 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Comfort Suites Amarillo
Amarillo Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing