We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good some bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West
Ranked #8 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
okla
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Some good some bad.”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

They claim to be pet friendly, yet before the check in was even done, I was told if my dog barks the owner will have it removed> OMG What? of course my dog didnt bark she was very quiet the whole stay, but that remark made me think I may come back to the hotel and have no dog. The bathroom is tiny, the door would not close all the way. The carpet below the fridge and microwave was nasty, my dog wanted to keep licking it. yuck!!! The bed was comfortable. Was very nice and quiet. The pool almost gave me hyperthermia, very very cold, had to get in the spa after sticking just my feet in the pool to warm up and this is June summer time. Not sure if the neighborhood is good or not, someone at night tried to syphine gas out of our vehicle, yet new vehicles you cant do that anymore. thank goodness, we know cause our vehicle told us that morning when we went to get in it, the gas tank was open. It wasn't open the day before.. but I did like the quiet and comfortable bed, prices were good. This was my first time at country inn and suites, not sure I'll stay at one again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OklaOnthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    145
    69
    25
    18
See reviews for
222
108
28
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our way home from a very long summer vacation! The location is very convenient; lots of restaurants nearby. The check in was quick and the clerk was very friendly. The room was comfortable. There is a nice selection of pillows, and everything in the room was in good working order. No broken towels racks or torn furniture here! We loved the pool and hot tub. They were huge! The hot tub was at a perfect temperature to soak after a day on the road. The breakfast was great, biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit, waffles, sausage, to name a few. They gave us a great military rate. It's hard to beat that price and that quality combined.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Wonderful hotel in a great, safe and clean location in Amarillo. We were traveling with a small dog and pulling a trailer; we discovered there was no place to park our large SUV and trailer but Sandra at the front desk came up with an ingenious idea that worked for us!!!! Rooms were clean and updated....we WILL be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fordism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We arrived here early morning on our way to NC. The hotel outside is big and beautiful made of brick. I liked the country design of the lobby and it had a nice scent in the hallways like a special spray. My room was mostly clean. The carpet looks old and is dusty if you look behind the bed. Unfortunately, our sink was clogged and since it was early in the morning when we arrived, I didn't want to call someone to come fix it. I told them in the morning and all they said was "sorry." It would of been nice to be compensated for the inconvenience. Love the breakfast. They had a big pot of a huge Quaker Oats container filled with Oatmeal which was perfectly made. The also had fruit salad, waffles, eggs sausage, ham bagels, pastries, cereal etc. I would advise to get down there early to eat. There is plenty of space and food. I went down early to get coffee and a bagel early, but when I went back with my family 30 min before breakfast was over there wasn't much oatmeal left or fruit salad so it seems like they don't replenish at the end of the breakfast time. Another plus is how they also offer bold coffee along with the regular for us strong coffee drinkers. This is the 3rd hotel I have stayed in on my cross country trip. It's not my favorite but overall I would stay here again. The area is nice and quiet and looks new.

I give it a 3 rating due to the clogged sink which someone should have discovered, not clean to my standards.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deeishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Right off the interstate, close to a bunch of chain restaurants that everyone would love and Target. Good for a good night's sleep after two week of travelling when we needed to restock! Not sure if Amarillo has a downtown/heart of the city but this wasn't it. If you really want to taste the city this seems more like a stop on the outskirts.

Clean hotel, very nice! Hate the comforters (I like the all white linens in most hotels and I'm wary of colored comforters) but it's a small bone to pick.

Thanks Country Inn & Suites.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpschu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka,In
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel was a block from I-40. No highway noise. Everything was very nice and clean, seemed almost new. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was more then expected. The beds were comfortable. The shower and bathroom were excellent. Stayed one night on our tour of route 66. Safe area and safe parking. Will stay again in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the north side of the hotel. Desert for as far as you can see. No noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndianaJoe4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We like everything about this hotel and have stayed several times on our way to and from Colorado. Our room is always clean, spacious, nice linens/bedding, and all we need for a 1 night stay. Breakfast is ample. Check the rates. We think under $100 for this high quality is a very good value.

Room Tip: The only reason service did not receive "Excellent rating" is that the receptionist was al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wagon Master
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
0.5 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#12 of 72 in Amarillo
373 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 72 in Amarillo
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West
Address: 2000 Soncy Rd, Amarillo, TX 79124-2396
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amarillo
#4 Family Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites Amarillo I-40 West offers affordable accommodations, thoughtful amenities and a convenient location near top attractions, making it the ideal place to land while visiting the Amarillo, TX area. Our hotel in Amarillo is just off I-40 West and near downtown Amarillo and Historic Route 66, putting guests in the perfect position to enjoy such attractions as Palo Duro Canyon State Park, Wonderland Amusement Park and Amarillo National Center. To ensure our hotel guests an enjoyable stay in Amarillo, the Country Inn & Suites offers attractively styled rooms and suites, an indoor pool and whirlpool, an on-site Fitness Center, a Business Center, complimentary high-speed Internet access and a free hot breakfast daily. Other points of interest nearby include Amarillo West Medical Center, Westgate Mall, Rick Husband International Airport, Amarillo Civic Center and Splash Amarillo Waterpark. Book your stay online today and experience comfort and style at the Country Inn & Suites Amarillo I-40 West hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Country Inn And Suites Amarillo
Country Inn Amarillo
Amarillo Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing