We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heads Up EV Owners!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casita Del Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amarillo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Casita Del Sol
Ranked #2 of 13 Amarillo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Heads Up EV Owners!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Spent 2 nites (one travelling west to Phoenix and one traveling east back to northwest Arkansas.)
What a gem. Interesting home. Needed more time to just take in the beauty and loving restoration. And then there is the hostess Bonnie..such a multi-talented lady! I wish we could have spent a week with her In her home.The frosting on the cake is the Nema-1450 charger! Do give her a call!
Cleary of Northwest Arkansas

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Lila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
31
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johns Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Unique house, lovingly restored with handsome, colorful guest rooms and a charming hostess. We were welcomed with the aroma of home cooking which we realized is a constant at La Casita, if not banana bread or biscuits, then Bonnie's own chili verde sauce. Our room was spacious and comfortable, and breakfast the next morning was outstanding. Highly recommend!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MJCharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canon city
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was our first time to Amarillo and to La Casita Del Sol.
We arrrived late and had to leave early to explore Palo Duro Canyon, the quarter horse hall of fome and the art museum.
Our stay was restful, pleasant and interesting.
Bonnie our host happened to be busy that week-end, however, she managed to put a healthy breakfast together very quickly and very nicely.
We only regretted not to have enough time to appreciate the Mexican art that cover her rooms and learn more about the history of La Casita being built in 1924 (?) and renovated sometime ago.
We promised ourselves to come back sometimes soon.

Room Tip: we only looked at the suite, but it looks fantastic, our room was quiete looking over the large gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maryvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla, Missouri
Level Contributor
137 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed two nights on our way out to NM. Bonnie is an excellent hostess. Our room (the king) was very comfortable. She has an amazing story on how she raised this old building from the grave and how she lovingly restored it. Our breakfasts were amazing both mornings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flamingotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

My 3 girlfriends and I took over this B&B for a long weekend. It was perfect. We each had a bedroom and bath (the king room is best!!). Bonnie gave us the run of the whole house. We had more friends over for wine and cheese in the evening. And in the mornings we got our own coffee early in the kitchen and headed outside on the deck to enjoy the squirrels and birds. Breakfasts were delicious and hearty and beautifully presented. This B&B is hidden away but worth the search near downtown.

Room Tip: The KING room is best especially for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SKP62942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

An historic neighborhood location worth the trouble to find it, delightful hostess, great breakfast , grab the Encatada king when available. Spacious house owner has done her own renovation, roam the backyard, enjoy the deck.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Etfortworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We loved our experience here for our wedding anniversary! We will be back just to spend more time with the inn keeper and buy more delicious jam. The breakfast was so amazing but that was why I picked it from the reviews. Now I have been craving it every since! A cat walked across the skylight above the bed right as I woke up which started my day off perfectly. We picked our room because it had access to the garden and a private bathroom and it was beautiful and comfortable as well. Thank you Casita del Sol for such a memorable time in Texas!

I am not sure what the recycling situation is but it would be nice if there was one available, we usually just take the recycling home with us instead.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelkittens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
5.1 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Amarillo Downtown
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 73 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
5.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casita Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casita Del Sol

Property: La Casita Del Sol
Address: 1607 Harrison, Amarillo, TX 79102
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Amarillo
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
La Casita Del Sol Hotel Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing