We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and perfect little place hidden in a neighborhood”
Review of La Casita Del Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amarillo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Casita Del Sol
Ranked #2 of 14 Amarillo B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was our first trip to Texas and we knew nothing about the Amarillo area, but have stayed at many bed and breakfasts before, so really wanted to find one there. We stumbled upon La Casita and just LOVED it from the first second we walked in. The room was so cozy and warm and beautifully decorated, I slept great on the giant fluffy king bed. Bonnie is an amazing cook, and they have said it many times, but her homemade jelly and biscuits are AMAZING. If we return to Amarillo, I would stay there every time!

Room Tip: Choose "La Encantada" the king suite, you will not regret this gem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ebu527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 59 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Actually stayed Dec'08 and Jan2009 and 2010June! Repeat stays. Bonnie is a wonderful propritor and chef :) Her remodled home is the most unique in history and fun stories. Her homey kitchen is great for a family/friendlly atmosphere. I pray she is still there when I go thru Amarillo again!
Ruth

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank logs4mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Last Casita del Sol is a winner. The hospitality of owner Bonnie is great. The rooms are comfortable and wonderfully decorated. The house has intriguing architecture. I would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: The suite with a skylight is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ynchvvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

La Casita is simply wonderful; superlatives just don't do it justice. The rooms are very neat, clean, quiet, and charmingly decorated with great creature comforts like excellent matresses, high threadcount sheets, and plush towels. There is a lovely large walled garden for relaxing and the B&B is walking distance from most downtown locations and Amarillo College and otherwise is very conveniently located near I40. But best of all, the Innkeeper, Bonnie, is delightful company and makes fantastic made-to-order breakfasts. She does everything possible to make your stay perfect without hovering, making you feel welcome in her lovely home. As far as I'm concerned, this is the ONLY place to stay in Amarillo if you want to ensure a truly enjoyable, restful visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelerdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

If I needed a place for out-of-town guests or for a special occasion, I would go to La Casita del Sol and its innkeeper, Bonnie. Bonnie has created a haven of good taste, unusual and artistic decor,, and welcoming comfort. Besides being an inveterate renovator, Bonnie is an accomplished cook. The inn has welcomed bridal showers, rehearsal dinners, birthday celebrations, as well as overnight guests in one of its three cozy and beautifully decorated rooms. The King Suite is suitable for even honeymooners. The yard-garden takes up two lots, is surrounded by an adobe wall, has a grape arbor and cedar potting shed, along with a teepee for the two garden cats. Bonnie makes delicious jams for sale, having such flavors as strawberry-rhubarb, raspberry-jalapeno, or ginger-apricot. Breakfast is served either in the kitchen or at the dining table. Guests can relax in a colorful living room,or the foyer. TV and Wifi available. La Casita is located two blocks off I-40 in an older neighborhood with brick streets.

Room Tip: All rooms have garden view. Despite being near downtown and two interstates, La Casita is an oasis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kcw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Don't be put off by outside appearance & neighborhood. This is very comfortable, great hosess & excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We spent the night in the La Casita Del Sol on our way to Santa Fe, NM. It was a great place to stay. We enjoyed the hospitality and great personal touches around the living areas. The breakfast was good and got us off to our destination with a smile on our faces. Give it a try, don't forget to go out back and look at the court yard. It is very nice and peaceful. Nicely decorated.

Room Tip: Look at all of the rooms. We stayed in the "La Encantada" It is the largest room. You w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dudetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
5.1 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
5.2 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Amarillo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#18 of 72 in Amarillo
393 reviews
5.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casita Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casita Del Sol

Address: 1607 Harrison, Amarillo, TX 79102
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Amarillo
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
La Casita Del Sol Hotel Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing