We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Hotel”
Review of Camelot Inn

Camelot Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Camelot Inn
Ranked #55 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Reviewed January 7, 2008

Saw the billboard on the freeway for $25.99 was not really expecting much but I was very surprised. Room was clean and big. Queen bed a couch, table. I have no Complaints about my stay. What really can you expect for 25.99. Not much. You cant camp at they KOA for that amount. I would stay here again if I'm ever in Amarillo.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hailteam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 52 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2007

I won't be the first to point out area billboards advertise rates unavailable at the Hotel; but it's true. Misleading signage should have been the first clue that an impromptu visit to the Camelot Oct 4, 2007 might hold more surprises.

It was apparent the young lady at the front desk in the early evening was well practiced in delivering the news to the arriving public that the billboards were out of date. Probably due to being road weary from the endless trip from Dallas to Amarillo. I plunged ahead with the transaction, and shouldn't have.

I spoke to the desk clerk about needing four additional pillows due to a medical condition. A breathing condition actually, but her curiously had not been roused at any rate. After hemming and hawing about not really having extra pillows, and my comment observing all of the hotel guests must be out to dinner as vehicles in the parking lot were scant; she finally thought out loud that she might be able to do me the favor of find two. Her next observation was that if I knew I needed pillows that I should travel with them. Were it not for a bad memory I would have been, but the comment was uncalled for and offensive. Before completing ending the conversation upon my request she provided a photo copy of the registration card and hand wrote the room rate ($35.99) and noted the tax and total. I asked for a machine receipt. You won't be surprised to hear she said "this is our receipt".

Room 125 was as poor a room as I've ever seen. The drapery, carpet, furnishings, mattress and bed linens were worn beyond any point that their use by the public could be justified. The upholstered furniture was stained and filthy. Close examination of the sofa arm couldn't help identify the stain living there. The possibilities and mental images of how such a stain might have been caused weren't comforting. I sat on the bed every moment with the bedspread completely removed and placed on it's near cousin the sofa.

The bathroom condition matched that of the sleeping room. It was interesting to see the fixture lighting the mirror had numerous bulbs in a line, like those fixtures we enjoyed in the 70's. The bulbs were mismatched, covered in dust and grime and all but the end bulbs unscrewed partially so they would remain unlit. I wonder if it was to save power or if regular guests to the Camelot might not want a full view of themselves in such a place.

Stay here? You better not..

Stayed: October 2007
4  Thank mpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2007

I was stuck in Amarillo overnight on business. My children thought the Camelot would be a neat place to stay based on the exterior. WRONG!!
The price was twice what the sign on the outside advertised to begin with. However, we were tired and ready to find a place to stay.

We were in the room less than 15 minutes when my son went to the restroom and the toilet overflowed. The desk clerk came with a plunger, plunged a little bit, then said it was good. I flushed the toilet as she walked out the door and it overflowed again. She said she would send somebody else up in a few minutes.

I asked to change rooms. She moved us a couple of rooms up the hall. The door to the balcony would not lock. The handle to the main room door was broken.

She put us in smoking rooms depite my asking for non-smoking. The rooms and really the whole property were not maintained except for the lobby area. There were tiles coming out of the ceiling and the interior was just plain dirty. The hallways stunk.

The desk clerk was nice, but the facility was horrible. I got my money back and went to a different hotel.

Stayed: June 2007
4  Thank melama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
NY, NY
213
Reviewed November 29, 2004

We should have asked to smell the room first. Clean enough but totally airless and they'd used some kind of heavy duty chemical laden scent to cover up what might have been a mold problem.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrey_Borisenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Marga A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bjoerndunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Amarillo Airport/Grand Street
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
7.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#18 of 72 in Amarillo
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
7.1 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
7.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Inn

Address: 2508 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103-4117
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range: $34 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Camelot Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Camelot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Hotel Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing