We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a nice place. I'd recommend sleeping in your car in a rest stop instead”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Camelot Inn

Camelot Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camelot Inn
Ranked #59 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not a nice place. I'd recommend sleeping in your car in a rest stop instead”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

We were driving very late and looking for a hotel in Amarillo right off the I-40. My wife and I both saw the Camelot, which looks good from the freeway. We thought our daughter would be excited by the way it looked (and we were so very tired) so we stopped and checked in.

We should have gone back to the front desk and asked for our money back after we looked at the room. It was a pit. We were so exhausted that I carried my daughter into the room and we unpacked.

The beds, sheets, floor, walls and most everything in the room appeared to be at least 30 years old. There was a relatively new A/C unit that did work (but smelled) and a new looking fridge (that was trashed/dirty inside). We didn't touch the TV so I can't say anything about it.

The beds creaked and were wobbly, the sheets were thread-bare, the pillows were the flattest I've seen in a hotel. There were holes in the walls, cigarette burns in the tub, floor and table. Honestly, the room was probably nice (but not luxury) when it was brand new. But it didn't look updated in the last 30 or more years. And it hadn't been taken care of.

The room was accessed by a hallway accessible by a standard hotel card key. Same with the room door from the hall. There was a door to an adjoining room and a door to the outside that was pretty banged up.

There was nothing new about the hotel except maybe some new stucco and paint on the part of the hotel facing the freeway. We only saw our room - maybe some of the rooms have been updated in the last 30 years?

The next morning we noticed a dead car blocking part of the parking lot. One of the rooms had a cat in the window (and the smell of cat pee coming from the room). We suspect some of the guests were evicted from home or apartment and stay long term in the hotel. It was a scary place.

We paid around $50 for the night. The price advertised on the sign was $27.99. I don't know what better rooms in Amarillo go for but I do know that we stayed in several hotels in other places (Tucumcari NM, Cuba OK and somewhere in Missouri) for less money that were significantly nicer than the "new Camelot".

If the hotel had been taken care of (holes fixed, painted, floors regularly cleaned/repaired) and updated some (beds, sheets) it could be a kitchy cool type place. But it isn't.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Dennis2theD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    11
    7
    7
    24
See reviews for
12
6
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

this hotels advertising is very deceptive all the pictures that are posted were lets say probably taken 20 years ago there is no breakfast as posted on the web site, the pool is broken , the place is very run down had ants all over the night stand and bathtub. got ripped off on the price, would not pay more than 39$ a night if you are desperate. the only thing we got from this experience is something to joke about, like the only thing missing was the body outline and crime tape!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lee9544926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amarillo hotels

Paso Robles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2011

We were so...tired and the kids were ready for bed, we hauled our suitcases and TV up to the room,sure didn't want to leave the TV in the car after seeing the parking lot, and some of the "guests"? We arrived in our room there was a big space between the door and frame, the curtains were barely on the rod, the chair, not sure what was on that. Oh I forgot, on our way to the room the smell in the hallway, the cigarette butts in the stairwells and in the hallway made me wonder if we were in a really bad place. Now back to the room, WOW I was tired couldn't wait to hit my head on the pillow, wrong! Pulled back the covers and OH MY GOODNESS! I don't think they changed the sheets from the last "Guest", I was not sleeping there,nor was I walking on the carpet, or using the bathroom,so...as I packed up the kids and the TV, my husband went back and the lovely clerk gave us our money back, no questions asked, at 1:00 am? No questions, like they were accustomed to this.
My suggestion drive a little further and don't stay at the Camelot in Amarillo Texas.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank HWY40Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

We were tired after a long road trip and needed a place to stay. Camelot seemed whimsical until we walked through the nasty stench in the hallways. It was gross to even touch the doors! The room was big but everything was stained! The sheets were stained too. I considered bringing in our sleeping bags and pitching a tent! We decided to claim allergies to the moldy stench and was given a quick refund. We ended up finding a clean room at sleep inn. DO NOT STAY HERE! May have bed bugs!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Iveth44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mid missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

My husband and I stopped in here late night to watch tv for a bit and get some sleep before heading to el paso the next morning. We were greeted by a very friendly desk clerk who was more than helpful. This place is right off the interstate and the location is not bad at all for the price. I felt safe and secure the whole time. Others who are on here should be going up the road further paying much more for their rooms if they want to be so picky...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walkergirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grabill, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2009

Well, my husband and I were on a short weekend getaway. We were on a very tight budget, we saw the add in a travel guide. Just looking for a place to watch a few minutes of TV and get some sleep before traveling on, we weren't counting on much from the price, but we were pleasantly surprised. The furnishings were certainly outdated, but they were clean. The shower and toilet were clean as well as the flooring. The beds looked fairly new. The only thing I did not like about our stay was you had to go into the hallway to get to your room even though there is a door leading from the room to the parking lot. I think we will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkokies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora, Il
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2009

I stayed here with a couple friends on the way back from California. We were just looking for a clean, cheap hotel and that is what we got. It is in a great location and we felt safe. Its nothing special but was fine for us just passing through.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srtreat83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Airport
Sleep Inn Airport
#21 of 73 in Amarillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Amarillo Inn & Suites
Amarillo Inn & Suites
#26 of 73 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.4 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Amarillo
WoodSpring Suites Amarillo
#40 of 73 in Amarillo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Amarillo Central TX
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Amarillo
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Inn

Property: Camelot Inn
Address: 2508 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103-4117
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Camelot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Hotel Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing