We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tourist stop...but fun.”

Big Texan Steak Ranch
Ranked #8 of 504 Restaurants in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Southwestern, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Voted as the #1 Eating contest in America by Huffington Post.Voted as 1 of the top 10 places by Draft Magazine to drink a beer at.The list goes on and on. This place is full of action and what the Wild West was all about. 2,000 Square foot gift shop that even has a live rattlesnake in there. We have 12 Hand-Crafted beers made on site with a beer style to fit almost any beer drinker. From Raspberry Wheat to Whiskey Barrel Stout with Seasonal beers to fill in such as Oktoberfest Lager & Pecan Porter. Same Lee family for the last 54-years serving 3-generations of guests. Young man, We fed your grandfather! We're Glad your Here!
Level Contributor
146 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tourist stop...but fun.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

We arrived right at dinner time on a Friday night. The parking lot was packed. We were told we'd have a 15 minute wait. We were pleasantly surprised by getting seated early. The food was typical steakhouse fare. Prices were reasonable. It was good, nothing exceptional. The place is huge! Plenty to look at if you want to make a night of it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elizabethf1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,436
    1,235
    610
    230
    172
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cool place to visit, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

We had a group event here. We ate chicken fried steak with all the fixings and we had the back patio and beer garden reserved. It was a fun place with lots of stuff to see and good food

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank txbatgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

This place is touristy for sure, but the food was really good, as was the service. They have a great souvenir shop too! If you're in Amarillo, this is a must visit!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
157 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Miguel's Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

The place is an awesome attraction of Old Texas & Historical Rt. 66 and gave these New Yorkers our first experience of Texas. The food was incredible and at tremendous value that in all of its wonder, the thing that made the experience the most memorable was the service from Miguel who made us feel like we were in his home and not in a restaurant. His kindness and consideration of our four children was insurmountable to any service we have ever received. Beyond his extra large Texas hospitality, came efficient service with tremendous counsel on what to order and how to best enjoy this incredulous meal. The six of us shared our steaks, chili, prime rib, sides, rack of ribs and all agreed they loved everything:
the nifty souvenirs,
the band that played table to table,
the excitement of someone going for the 72 oz. Steak
the ambiance (except my 8-yr-old thought a Texas bar should have a mechanical bull)
the fun of two of the kids daring to try the Jalapeno peppers
and especially Miguel.
Thank you
will try to upload photos later

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VacationTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights
Level Contributor
174 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great Roadside Attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

I had the Sunday morning breakfast buffet. This is a famous restaurant that used to be on the old Route 66. It is now located right off off 140. It is not just a restaurant, but there is a beer garden, maze, and gift shop. If you can eat a 72oz. steak with side dishes in one hour it's free!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank THINGS2LIVE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Texan Steak Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Big Texan Steak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing