We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food to Smoky”

Big Texan Steak Ranch
Ranked #8 of 505 Restaurants in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Southwestern, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Voted as the #1 Eating contest in America by Huffington Post.Voted as 1 of the top 10 places by Draft Magazine to drink a beer at.The list goes on and on. This place is full of action and what the Wild West was all about. 2,000 Square foot gift shop that even has a live rattlesnake in there. We have 12 Hand-Crafted beers made on site with a beer style to fit almost any beer drinker. From Raspberry Wheat to Whiskey Barrel Stout with Seasonal beers to fill in such as Oktoberfest Lager & Pecan Porter. Same Lee family for the last 54-years serving 3-generations of guests. Young man, We fed your grandfather! We're Glad your Here!
Fort Worth, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Food to Smoky”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you are a smoker, you will not notice the VERY smoky flavored steak. I am NOT a smoker and could not eat my steak. The steak tasted like I licked a dirty ash tray. Would not recommend the steak. Did not try any other meat. Did get to watch someone trying to eat the 72 oz steak meal in 60 minutes to eat for free. This person failed to eat all the meal in 60 minutes so they had to pay $75.00 for their meal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,440
    1,239
    610
    230
    172
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
612 reviews
352 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Worth Going Once”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I were driving back to Colorado from Baton Rouge and planned to overnight in Amarillo just to experience the Big Texan. It was worth the stop.

Of course, they are most famous for being the home of the "free 72 oz steak" ... that is if you can eat it and all the fixings in one hour. Unfortunately, no one was trying to eat it while we were there. It would have been very entertaining.

This place is all about the atmosphere, so don't accept a table upstairs in a back corner. Get a place on the main floor, even if you are seated at a community table.

We had to wait about 20 minutes for a table (even at 730 pm on a Thursday), but there's plenty to do in the waiting area. But, once seated we found our server attentive. We split a double filet mignon, each having a 6 ounce filet. The meat was deliciously spiced and perfectly cooked. The sides were serviceable, if not spectacular. However, the homemade bread was excellent.

A very pleasant and unexpected surprise was the number and quality of craft beers available. We each tried and enjoyed two. Excellent.

A raucous, crowded, touristy place, to say the least, but we enjoyed our meal and have now crossed it off of our bucket list.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Order rare, get well done”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Don't know if it was a new cook or what. Have been here before and had a pretty good steak. Last time was here, took a good 45 minutes. When finally arrived steak was way over done. Service was slow. Was during mid week and didn't really seem to be that busy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wgb7428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Must Stop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Great food, service & atmosphere! We had a great time & will always remember it! Glad we finally stopped after driving past it for years traveling from Texas to Colorado!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saosassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worst restaurant on the planet!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I'm almost speechless. That's a first. World famous? Gimmicky is more like it. No drink refills. Waitress was too busy talking to the next table about her college plans. Horseback riding. That she doesn't eat meat. Food came out cold. Over cooked. Burnt. Took another 10 minutes to get her attention. Get this: when I told her the steak was over cooked and tasted burnt...she actually said "did you taste it ?" I have NEVER given a rating this low. The manager was even more unprofessional than the waitress. No customer service whatsoever. It was a "you don't like the steak? Oh well" attitude. I have wanted to eat here for years. It's world famous after all. Biggest dining disappointment of my adult life. I actually wrote on the receipt "stop talking & serve your customers". Probably end up on YouTube or Facebook tomorrow.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Texan Steak Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Big Texan Steak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing