We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Food is Just OK, But The Place is Well Worth a Visit”

Big Texan Steak Ranch
Ranked #8 of 513 Restaurants in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Voted as the #1 Eating contest in America by Huffington Post.Voted as 1 of the top 10 places by Draft Magazine to drink a beer at.The list goes on and on. This place is full of action and what the Wild West was all about. 2,000 Square foot gift shop that even has a live rattlesnake in there. We have 12 Hand-Crafted beers made on site with a beer style to fit almost any beer drinker. From Raspberry Wheat to Whiskey Barrel Stout with Seasonal beers to fill in such as Oktoberfest Lager & Pecan Porter. Same Lee family for the last 54-years serving 3-generations of guests. Young man, We fed your grandfather! We're Glad your Here!
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Food is Just OK, But The Place is Well Worth a Visit”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

OK, this is not a fine steak place, but that is not what you are here for, any more than visiting Disneyworld for the food. If you have ever watched the Food or Travel channels, you've seen this place. If you are in the area with friends or family, and you have a sense of humor or just like kitsch or have a hankering for a Stew Leonard's-like version of the wild west, have lunch here and then travel down the highway ten minutes or so to see the Cadillac Ranch. The food is anywhere from 2.5-4 stars, depending upon what you get and how familiar you are with the types of foods they serve (I am a KCBS certified barbecue judge, and I will say that their ribs, while not great, were better than most of what passes for "barbecued ribs" in New York, where I live). If you are accustomed to aged steakhouse steaks, leave your expectations at the door -- the steaks were just OK, but plenty of it, the help is friendly (this is the Panhandle, after all) and the over-the-top wild west environment helps the food taste a bit better than it probably is. Great gift shop, candy, ice cream area. Just do it and don't forget your cameras! Your kids will love it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,050 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,614
    1,340
    662
    254
    180
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Classic U.S. Roadside Attraction”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Iconic Route 66 and western decor, this is worth the time and money. Take your camera with you because everyone needs a picture with the huge cow! Wait staff was attentive and friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HunBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very entertaining”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stopped by here on our way through Amarillo, TX. We've seen this restaurant in t.v. shows before and was curious to see it. We were very surprised to see how busy it was at 9:30 p.m.! It was very fun western decor and plenty of things to see while we waited for a table. Once we got our table, we were ready to see what they had on the menu. We all had steaks and were extremely pleased. Cooked to perfection! To add to the excitement, there were men going around from table to table, playing songs. It was a very nice experience. When we travel through Amarillo, we will definitely stop here again!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank javanut1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun Atmosphere for Kids but...”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The food was pretty good. The wait was long. The restaurant had fun decor and a bubbly wait staff. It was an experience and my boys loved it! Parents of young kids should beware that some of the side attractions are a bit scary and gory. One of my boys was very disturbed the the bloody headless neck in the lobby

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tigger340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Consistent Quality”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I have a well-deserved fondness for dining on steak when we come through Amarillo a few times a year. That is because the Big Texan consistently has the best steak for good price anywhere. The quality is such that we are never disappointed with the food.
The service is also very friendly, if overworked. There is always a certain apprehension people should have when dining at the Big Texan, given that it is such an attraction: feeding a lot of people at once means sacrificing service. It is to be expected that the wait staff isn't always available to you.
But, when they are with you - and this has always been our experience - they give you their undivided attention, get your order right, and are timely with refills. Given the quality of the food, it is a small sacrifice to make. And I'm leaving out another important note: They are about the friendliest wait staff you'll find anywhere.
While all the steaks are pretty good, the ribeye is always phenomenal. I highly recommend stopping in for a bite.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Texan Steak Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Big Texan Steak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing