We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“knock out good meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smokey Joe's Texas Cafe

Smokey Joe's Texas Cafe
Ranked #90 of 495 Restaurants in Amarillo
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
315 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“knock out good meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

a group of us on a hunt stopped on a busy Friday night. Great food and wonderful service despite an overwhelming crowd trying to get in. Would go again and again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank josephbarbknecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    3
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
631 reviews
406 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stopped in on 6th Street for a little lunch and some junk shopping today and landed at Smokey Joe's. We read on TripAdvisor that they had THE best chicken fried steak in all of Texas, so we had to check it out!

Four of us (all girls) shared two orders and were STUFFED when we left. The steak was awesome (two of us went all out and had the jalapeño gravy, while the other two had the regular gravy). We both got mashed potatoes and fried okra. Fabulous!!!!! Can't imagine how we would ever have managed to eat an entire order by ourselves. The wait staff was fun and friendly.

We would have loved to sit outside -- it was a beautiful day -- but the smokers are relegated to the patio and it was too Smokey Joe out there for us!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WednesdayNightGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
237 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“good eats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

A friend and I went there on a Friday night. I had the hot ham & cheese and he had the frito pie. Both were very good. Laid back crowd, excellent service. Eager to go back and try the jalapeno chicken fried steak!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
193 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Second visit even better than the first.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

I had their jalapeno chicken fried steak. It was just about perfect for my taste. Some bite from the jalapeno gravy and some additional sliced jalapenos on top to suit to ones taste. One of the best chicken fried steaks I've ever had. Ordered fried okra and green beans for sides, also very good. Okra was as good as it gets. Service was excellent and the crowd was light. They also have a full bar so any drink one might imagine is probably available. Water was good. Interesting interior and decor. I will go out of my way to stop in here again. Oh, wait.. I did. This is my second visit and it was even better than the first (had sandwich the first visit).

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arlon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
193 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Very good lunch at Smokey Joe's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was definately one of the best lunch stops I've ever made. I had the Green Chilli Philly Sandwich and my wife wad the Chicken Fried Steak Sandwich. Both were excellent. I like philly cheese steak and this version with the green chillies was just the best one I have ever had. It came with onion rings that were also perfect. Wifes steak sandwich was something else (yes we shared). The steak was twice as big as the bread and tender enough to easily bite through. Tater tots she had were also a nice change of pace from the normal french fries. Water was good, service was excellent. We will try to time any trips through Amarillo so we can try another meal in this place. Decent beer selection but I was on the road so didn't try any. View of the pedestrian traffic on old Route 66 was "interesting", I would call it scenic. My wife might disagree. (-:}

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arlon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokey Joe's Texas Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Smokey Joe's Texas Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing