We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop when traveling through Amarillo”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great stop when traveling through Amarillo”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This was the second time we've stayed here on our way through Amarillo. The first time the hotel was brand new and while this time it was showing a bit of wear, it was still a great spot for our family of five. Our three girls love the large pool and hot tub (although they always seem to be out of towels) and we like that this hotel feels like a safe location and it within walking distance to several places to eat and even a few stores like Michaels, Burlington, PetCo, etc. We'll definitely stay here again on our next trip through Amarillo.

Room Tip: several people comment that noise from the lobby can be an issue on the 2nd floor so maybe ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptDefeated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    57
    17
    9
    18
See reviews for
67
44
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Park, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We are a family of six (four small children) and chose this hotel for one night b/c the suites could accommodate a family of our size. Around 8 p.m. our room began vibrating because of a boisterous Latino wedding in the ballroom downstairs. The beds in the room were literally vibrating from the subwoofer down below.

We asked to be moved but was told the hotel was booked - unless we wanted to fork over an additional $150 for an "upgraded" room.

Question: why in the world would you put a family with four kids (including a toddler) in a room where you KNOW you have a loud event scheduled?!!

A few hours later my husband went downstairs to chat personally with the front desk clerk, but she was outside taking a cigarette break. She said the wedding would be over by 10 p.m.

By 11:30 p.m. we were STILL listening to the Macarena and ALL of us were still wide awake - exhausted by our 500-mile drive that day but unable to sleep because of the ridiculous noise.

The next morning at check-out we complained again, and the front desk said they could knock off $20 but that was it. She PROMISED her manager would call me and I left my name and number. I never heard from him. Surprise.

We got on the road that morning bleary-eyed, angry, and frustrated by an awful night's rest.

We will obviously NEVER again stay at a Comfort Suites or Choice Hotel. What a waste of our money. They have a LOT to learn about customer service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisacarpediem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulshear, Texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Found the Comfort Inn after staying at another property in Amarillo and cutting the stay short..
First the hotel is very attractive from the outside. The parking lot and entrance are clean and well kept with a couple of classic cars at the entrance to celebrate route 66. The lobby is also very attractive and clean. Check in was a breeze even though I am not a member of their loyalty program. The hallway leading to the rooms are nice and wide and well lit. The room is spacious and clean. It has a nice glass divider from sleeping area to sitting area, not a full divider but nice touch. The TV is large and has a nice selection of channels.
The bed is nice and very comfortable. Bathroom is clean and wll stocked, towels are nice and big. Microwave and refrigerator in the room. Plenty of plugs for charging.

In my opinion the breakfast is a little weak with no variation at all day to day, but there are plenty of options very close by.

Some comments speak to the location, which can be hard to get to, but on the flip side it is far enough from I40 that there is no road noice whatsoever. Also plenty of dinning options right there in close proximity. Once you find it, you realize how easy it is to get back on i40.

I did find the housekeeping to be a little in attentive, the room was always nicely cleaned, but they never re stocked the coffee, which is a drag because you don't realize until the next morning, but then being a coffee drinker I travel with backup. But it did happen each morning of my three day stay.

Overall, it is a very comfortable hotel, I will and in fact am staying again.

Room Tip: Elevator can be slow, so if that concerns you stay on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fbhfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This was our first place to stay after being in the car for a long time. We got one of the very last rooms due to a wedding taking place. The beds were very confortable and the room was clean. We ended up with a handicap access room, but that worked out since the room had 2 queen beds and a sofa bed(the room was extra large). Breakfast was great. What made breakfast extra special was the make it your own fresh Texas shaped waffle. That made my boys happy. I would stay here again. Very very busy hotel for a Saturday night.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quadriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our 55plus church group (47 people) stayed at this hotel for two nights. The hotel and service were great. This is a new hotel with contemporary decor. The rooms were great with very comfortable beds and were very clean in every area. Large flat screen TV, 2 phones, mini fridge, etc. The only thing missing was a room safe. They provide a complimentary breakfast that was very good. There is an attached building with an indoor pool and hot tub. We would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eagle0127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I were stopping through at a half-way point to our destination in New Mexico. This was my first stay at a Comfort Suites hotel and it exceeded all expectations! We plan to always stay at this hotel when in Amarillo. It is so easy to get to - right off the Interstate. The rooms are very clean, tall ceilings, nice decor and very spacious. A room with one king-sized bed is very large. There is a separate area with couch, chairs and coffee table. Nice furniture and great bed! I slept like a baby. Flat screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, closet, desk - all great. I was exhausted when we arrived and the shower/water pressure was perfect. The bathroom was spotless and large. It was very quiet - we couldn't hear anyone anywhere even though the hotel was almost 100% full that night. We didn't have time, but really wanted to take advantage of the nice pool and hot tub. We had a nice, hot breakfast in the morning. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our experience so much that we decided to book a room for our return trip home. Great place to stay and relax.

Room Tip: These rooms are really large. We stayed in a suite with two bedrooms - two king-sized beds the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliciaW209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel was a steal compared to others along the road. The rooms are very clean,professional staff and didn't hear anything all night, even in the bathroom ! The lobby is beautiful and thought that I was in a major city hotel. The breakfast was fabulous with excellent service as well. Do yourself a favor a try it !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuxmanjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#14 of 73 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Amarillo-Western Crossing
2.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 73 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Amarillo
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Amarillo-Western Crossing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 12 Western Plaza Dr, Amarillo, TX 79109-1569
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing