We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites Amarillo
Ranked #13 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I've stayed many of times in a Homewood Suites Hotel and enjoyed all of them. This one was an average hotel. Now I killed three huge moths in our room but I figure thats Texas (you know everything big) SMILE. The only issue we had was the air condition. It was so LOUD. Each time it turned on during the night it woke us up. It was really loud. You got to do something about that. So with regret I have to rate you average. But I'm not discourage from the Homewood Suites as an alternative when I can't find a Ritz Carlton. So work on the air condition so your customers can sleep comfortable at nigh.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIVELAUGHLOVE30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 562 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

I spent roughly twenty weeks here, over a three year stretch. Each visit was as good as could be expected being away from home, eventually becoming almost like home.
The staff makes the difference between a so-so hotel and a great hotel, in my opinion. Of course a solid, quiet structure makes some contribution. The beautiful decoration and furnishing did not hurt either.
I am especially grateful to Deborah, Mel and Victor.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

My company puts me here. At the end of my stay one month ago I had to complain about the noise. The administration has always been super-nice. The manager arranged for my next stay to be in the quietest area of the hotel. Well, here it is one month later. I am supposed to be in the quietest area of the hotel but I am typing this at 1:00 in the morning because there has been an unbelievable amount of noise since 11 pm. I have stayed at many business suites in many cities because of my part-time jobs and I also put myself in 3-1/2 star hotels through priceline. I have never been bother by noise as much as in this place. Oh, and if you are bothered by the high rushing wind sound of the ventilation, don't stay on the third (top) floor because the air supply comes from the roof and it is strongest on the third floor, less strong on the second and gentlest on the first. My review title is due to the fact that, while reading others' reviews of this place, I was surprised to find that I had written a two star review of Homewood Suites previously. At least I am consistent. Too bad Homewood Suites is, too.
Also, the food has gotten very cheap. It is not as good as Homewood Suites food in other cities. On my last trip, the clock was an hour off, not set for daylight savings time. It took three days of requests for the clock to finally be corrected (Homewood Suites uses the Hilton bedside clocks that are not changeable by the guests). This time the clock was again off by an hour but this time it was set the next day.
All of the staff here seem to have a super-helpful attitude, especially management, but the desk clerks seem to have high turnover and always seem to be bewildered.
My next return to Amarillo is already scheduled but I am going to ask to be reimbursed for staying somewhere else.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side are supposed to be quieter but are a longer walk to the dining service. Uppe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank satipatipatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights this last weekend. Check in was smooth, the rooms were well thought out and clean. The interior public spaces were nicely decorated, and the staff was easy to work with. My only complaint was the condition of the outdoor pool. They told us it was open, but when we walked into the pool area, it was clear it hadn't been cleaned anytime recently. I would not get in that water.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nwapache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I just had a very nice stay at the Homewood in Amarillo. If you are frequent guest at Hilton properties or Homewood Suites than you like I am familiar with what a Homewood is typically like. This one is an above average property as far as elegance and upkeep. You can expect to be impressed with a nice lobby that includes a nice player baby grand.

The one thing you will find that is a slight detractor is that they operate at the minimum standard set forth by Hilton/Homewood. I would stay here again, just do not plan on being wowwed by their service.

I will note that I am a little harder on Hilton properties in my review because I stay often enough to know their standards pretty well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TT_Traveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I have stayed at Homewood's many times and this one is by far the biggest disappointment of any Hilton branded hotel I've visited during my travels.

Plus side....check in OK (someone was at the desk), location was convenient (other Hotels adjacent that I will try on the next trip) and I walked to the Red Robin next door for dinner.

Negatives....room smelled strongly of a combination of cleaning chemicals and air freshener which became quite sickening the longer you were in the room. You had to go to the desk for ice (they keep bags at the desk but finding a desk person to help was impossible), carpet was dirty in the room and didn't appear to be vacuumed, crumbs on kitchen floor, bath tub had dirt in the bottom, no one at the desk available in the morning during check out...the "sign" was on the desk about "being out on the property will return soon". It's prime check out time in the morning and no one is working the desk? Breakfast items were not replenished once something was gone (and I was there within the first 30 minutes of serving) and the selection was by far the worst of any Homewood I've stayed in. using real dishes, glasses and silver ware does not make breakfast better or fancy.

By ratings I see many were happy with this property but other had some of the same concerns and complaints as I did. I definitely would not stay here again and would instead try one of the adjacent properties.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed here on our way through to California. The room was spotless, the bed (king suite) was comfortable and the pillows were awesome! We were a late arrival and so ate at one of the restaurants down the road. We left before the breakfast, so cant help you there. Would definately stay there again. So comfortable, and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank enufovus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Amarillo I-40 West, TX
0.4 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#18 of 72 in Amarillo
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Amarillo

Address: 8800 W Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79124-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range: $92 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Amarillo 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Homewood Suites Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Homewood Amarillo
Amarillo Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing