We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel I've stayed at in over 25 years!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites Amarillo

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Homewood Suites Amarillo
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Indianapolis
2 reviews
“Best Hotel I've stayed at in over 25 years!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

While relocating to Amarillo, I had the priviledge of staying two weeks at the Homewood Suites. Upon checking in, I received the normal, courteous greeting at the front desk, but after a few days, they acted as if they had been my best friend for years, especially Kamryn with whom I exchanged greetings with on a daily basis. Their greatest asset is Anita, their Sales Manager. She treated everyone as though she had known them for years.

The evening wine and beer happy hour surprised us, their idea of hot hor dourves were things like grilled chicken breasts, meat loaf, and lasagna. It wasn't supposed to be a meal, but it was. Breakfast exceeded expectations.

The rooms were clean and very comfortable. A truly enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul46033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    146
    54
    59
    29
See reviews for
169
108
28
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

This was truly a "Home Away from Home" experience. From management to housekeeping they made our stay a truly enjoyable experience. Anita is a very special lady and we truly enjoyed her warm smile and bubbly personality. If your travels should ever take you to Amarillo, Texas we would highly recommend you stay at the Homewood Suites.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PTerry2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
purplehazemini
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel several times before. It is one of the most beautifully decorated Homewood Suites I have ever seen. We booked a one room suite and I have to say the hotel is starting to show some age. The kitchen floor appeared to have water damage to the laminate floor and the TV (old kind- big tube) in the bedroom would blank out and go all red. We contacted the front desk and the girl said she would send maintenance up to take a look. Well, one movie on my computer later no maintenance guy. We called the desk again and they sent up a guy who informed us he is not the maintenance guy and he cannot do anything about it. Couldn't we just swap a tv? How hard can that be? The hotel was not sold out. Hmm...next day we got a 'do you want to talk to a manager?' from the front desk clerk to which we declined since management was not right there and we were running late. We requested late check out and it was no problem - which is awesome!

I am sure we will be staying here again, just wish the staff had been more honest - like there is no one I can send at midnight..let me get you a tv from another suite..or something...fell short this time but still a great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purplehazemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

The room was clean and we had a very relaxing stay - we stayed on the way to Colroado and on our return. We had one issue during our outbound trip that was resolved above and beyond all that I expected. One of the managers, Anita was amazing. This is a world class manager. We left this hotel feeling as though we had made a friend. A very rare experience! Thank you Homewood Suites - thank you Anita.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasAussie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

The only reason I am writing this review is because the issue of no pool towels is RAMPANT! I stay in hotels all the time and this problem is only getting worse. There is a sign in your room directing you to NOT take room towels, and that there will be towels at the pool. Then when you are about to get out of the pool (outdoor at that) you notice there are NO TOWELS and the entire family has to walk back to the room soaking wet. Also the food offered at night just needs to be scraped. Go out and eat. There are some great restaurants in Amarillo. Especially the Big Texan!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnEDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

We stayed here over the 4th of July. The rooms were big and there was plenty of space to do everything. The location was handy for restaurants and the Interstate. The rooms were clean and tastefully decorated. We did have some problems with our refrigerator in our kitchenette. It didn't cool very well at all even after adjusting the temperature and it also wouldn't make ice. Also went down to use the exercise equipment and the cycle machine was broken so used the treadmill instead. Also the pool was outdoors and it was bad weather some of the days we were there so it limited it's use. An indoor pool would have been our preference. Overall a good hotel with just a few glitches.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

Nice hotel, clean. Maybe a little overdecorated but that's just personal taste.
My room was clean and comfortable, although there was a dead bug on the floor and the main door seemed thin - wasn't heavy and could hear lots of hallway noise. In the bedroom, though, was quiet. (Was in a suite.)
"High Speed" wireless internet was anything but. We got 100kbps in our room - barely twice the speed of dial-up. Got 20x that fast via cellular service from our provider. Disappointing.
It's located on the west end of town, which is fine if you're passing through on I-40, since it has lots of resturants and even a nearby mall. Neighborhood was fine.
Price was about average to other hotels in the area, so good but not outstanding value.
Staff I talked to were nice and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShadowTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#12 of 73 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 73 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Amarillo

Property: Homewood Suites Amarillo
Address: 8800 W Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79124-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Amarillo 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Homewood Amarillo
Amarillo Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing