We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, but VERY dirty with repairs needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West
Ranked #8 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2011

The hotel decor is very nice and appealing. The hotel was very dirty, from the floors, to the rooms to indoor pool area. Significant mold on walls in pool room. Elevator, lobby and first floor halls are very dirty. The same shoe prints when we checked in were present when we checked out. Hotel front deak staff was not very helpful. Called the front desk when I was unable to connect to the internet. Wa directed to an 800 number. Upon reaching the tech service rep, he instantly said the hotel staff should have made me aware of the outage at the hotel. The Fitness Center has 3 machines. The 2 treadmills were not operable. 1 would not start at all, the other woud start and stop after about 15 seconds. The bike worked great. Would recommend this hotel ONLY if they cleaned up their act. As of now, do not plan to stay there on my way back through Amarillo, but will find alternate accomodations.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldhhonors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 482 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2010

My biggest issue was from the ladies bathroom down the hall from the lounge where we ate breakfast. I entered the restroom and there are only 2 stalls, the first had the door to it closed with an "out of order" sign taped to it. When I entered the 2nd stall next to it, I noticed a terrible odor, then I saw the cause of it. Someone had vomited PROFUSELY all over the commode in the stall that was closed, it had run down the front of it and was on the floor in the stall I had entered, this red vomit was EVERYWHERE on the floor in the stall next to mine. I exited the restroom and informed a female staff member of the fact that the ladies restroom needed attention, not wanting to state the problem as this staff member was in the lounge where other guests were still having breakfast. (She was not the staff providing the breakfast, it was someone else.) I assumed this had been taken care of only to re-enter the restroom 45 minutes later and finding the same mess!! We were there with out of state family and they all entered the lounge at different times that morning, we stayed in the lounge for an hour & a half visiting & drinking coffee as they came down from their rooms. It really upset me to know that SOMEONE had taken the time to shut the door to that stall, put a sign on the outside of it, and did not bother to clean it up, but when also brought to the attention of staff by me, it STILL did not get cleaned up!!! From the black mold surrounding the tub to the stained carpets, and this incident, there is NO WAY I would ever stay there again, I expected a lot more from a Hampton Inn, this Hotel was a vast disappointment.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inchwormsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Unfortunately, we did not complete our "over-night" stay at this one, although it appeared to be clean enough and otherwise comfortable except for a major noise issue --. we were only in the room for a short time and chose to leave when another room was not available. After over a 13-hour drive and arriving in our room around 10:30 at night, we were put into a room on the 2nd floor The guests above us must have had "active" children because it sounded like a "herd of elephants" was in the room above - as though they were jumping up/down and off the beds and running around (could hear every thump/bump). I called the front desk and requested another non-smoking room, but nothing was available. I always make it a point to ask for the "top" floor because of issues like this, but didn't get it this time around. The clerk was very nice though and did offer to speak to the parents. It has been our experience that most of the time that only "tones" down the problem a little and doesn't fully resolve it. We were "very" tired and I didn't feel like spending over $100 to stay in a room that we couldn't actually "sleep" in. Of course Hampton does have their 100% Customer Satisfaction Guarantee, but again - not worth it if you can't actually sleep. HOWEVER I am still a big fan of Hampton Inn as being the most reliable choice for a clean, comfortable stay - it's just this time, it didn't work out. I "do" know that hotels can not always make guests control their children at 10:30 at night - guests need to realize that there are others below them that have paid good $ to stay as well..and most like to "sleep" at some point...personally do not think that 10:30 p.m. is an unreasonable "quiet hour" request. Honestly, I think overall I have just about given up entirely on the "Amarillo" area as a place to stop over. Even if their base rate may seem reasonable, by the time they tack on their 15% (highest we've come across from even great places like Alaska, Hawaii, etc) - Amarillo's rates are high by the time their taxes are factored in. I have literally tried just about every chain there is in Amarillo - have not come across a single one there that didn't have some kind of issues. I can't say that about anywhere else we've traveled - but can about Amarillo. Unfortunately, there's few towns closer to choose from. We did drive farther last night and had a good stay at the Days Inn in Childress, TX (nice, clean, comfortable room, beds, etc and saved ourselves $40!) We usually use Amarillo as a stop over enroute to/from Texas to Colorado -but even if it takes a bit of extra planning and maneuvering, think I'm done with making Amarillo our stopping point.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TXLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

        
 stayed in Hampton inn last night in Amarillo TX @ 2AM we entered the room with missing thermostat so we called up and ask for 1. around 3 AM we were ready for bed I took the bed cover out and arranged pillows, the pillows are WET! and it's smells! AS IN! I had to change the sheets myself! And the night auditor guy gave us new pillows. That was 330Am! He said that he is going to leave a note for the manager in the morning. 10 am we went downstairs and asked for the manager, she cant even face us! The front desk staff said that she is in the conference call with the owner. WOW! how ridiculous it was! I said it's better so that the owner would know what is going on! We waited for 30 mins hoping to talk to the manager but she didn't see us at all!         
The night auditor was ok. It was a very bad experience. We thought that we will be able to sleep after 11 hours of driving. The whole staff are not friendly and they don't know how to greet people! It was horrible!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hrm05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

I've stayed at several Hampton Inns and this one just isn't quite up to the normal standards. It's OK, but I would probably look for another option next time I'm passing through Amarillo.

First, it really seems like this was originally a Super 8 or something and then converted. Cheaper bathrooms, the arrangement of the halls, and the thinnest walls (NOISE!). I heard every one and everything.

The room was spotless clean, if somewhat dated and smaller than the norm. The staff were helpful. The breakfast was just so-so.

Also, I don't like the location. It's basically on a frontage road of the freeway. Don't expect to go for an evening walk, it seems like a light industrial area.

I've become quite loyal to Hampton Inn, as they are usually quiet good and a good value. This one didn't quite measure up.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAisMyTrueHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

My first stay in a Hampton Inn (by Hilton). It's not really designed for the business traveler. The room didn't have an office chair that rose high enough to use at a desk with a computer. It did have free Internet and breakfast was included. Unfortunately, the breakfast was mostly inedible. Eggs tough as rocks, potatoes greasy. The lighting was very poor both in the room and in the facility. There was no bar. Hilton Garden Inn (my more normal Hilton stay) was next door, and I should have been there. I won't go back to the Hampton Inn if I can help it.l

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grapdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Our rooms were very clean--that is the first item I check. Front office staff was helpful. Breakfast provided a good selection of everyday breakfast foods.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
0.9 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites West Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
1.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West

Address: 6901 W Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79106-2609 (Formerly Amarillo Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Amarillo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
#12 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range: $106 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Texas Panhandle, our hotel is close to Interstate 40 and Amarillo's medical and shopping districts, and is just minutes from Amarillo's top attractions including Cadillac Ranch, Palo Duro Canyon State Park, the American Quarter Horse Association, The Big Texan Steakhouse and Route 66. Each room comes with an always clean and fresh Hampton bed(R) and complimentary WiFi to help you stay connected. Enjoy our free hot breakfast each morning, stay active in our fitness room, take a dip in our heated indoor pool, or stay productive at our business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Amarillo/West
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo/West Hotel Amarillo
Hampton Inn Amarillo
Hampton Inn Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing