We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel stay in a long time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel stay in a long time”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Driving from NM to NC we looked for a place to stop at night. I called several hotels in Amarillo looking for adjoining rooms (with a family of 5 it's a must). Only Courtyard had them and they were the most pleasant over the phone (thanks Ahmed, the front desk clerk). We were given two large double queen rooms - spacious, each long with a couch and armchair, very clean and roomy. The beds were very comfortable, pillows of varying firmness and thermostat regulated temperature (a must fit my hubby). We carry our own toiletries, but the hotel's were so nice we used them. Morning breakfast was delicious (real eggs!), with the most courteous, friendly staff. After staying on many hotels thus was the best experience our family has had.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTravelers4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    137
    62
    29
    19
See reviews for
150
154
29
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Family of 5. We arrived late, after 1:00am. We had notified the hotel of this in advance both on our reservation and by phone. Unfortunately, it was missed and when we arrived our reservation had been canceled. The girl working the front desk was a trainee and could not figure out what to do. Unfortunately, for the longest time she was unable to find the manager to help her; 30 minutes long. After looking outside and around the hotel, he was finally located in the dining area asleep. We were checked in.

The outside of the hotel and the common hallways look dated, fortunately the rooms are all updated and look great. The lobby, sitting area, and eating area too have all been updated. Our room was more than adequate and up to Hampton Inn standards. Note, even with I-40 right outside it was quiet; we all had a good nights sleep.

In the morning we found the breakfast perfect to get our travels once again started. The eating area is nice size and the food area is set-up efficiently. We spoke to the morning manager about the previous nights difficulties and had she handled it professionally. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyprovence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed 1 night, easy to find, and well situated. Near to lots of restaurants. Reception spacious, and staff helpful and friendly. Coffee in reception. Room 229 very clean spacious, with 2 queen size beds, very comfortable, flat screen TV, table and chairs. Coffee making facilities. Bathroom very clean and toiletries provided. Did have pool but didn't use. Breakfast, good included cereals, toast, pancakes, muffins, bacon, omelette, juice and coffee. Free WIFI , would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marieanddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the West
Level Contributor
151 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We recently visited Amarillo to attend a wedding. The families all stayed at the Amarillo Inn, which is located near a number of eating establishments and with easy access to I 40 and all the places we needed to go for the wedding events. The Amarillo Inn was clean with comfortable beds and thick towels. For those who wanted to use them, there was a swimming pool and hot tub as well as a fitness room and business center. From 6 - 10 each morning, we had access to a continental breakfast that included sausage and french toast.

For $62.00 a night, you can't beat this. I was very pleased with all aspects of our stay and highly recommend the Amarillo Inn to others.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, north wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildfloweroftheWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVONIA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Wonderful Stay! After trying several Chain Hotels, and them either not having what we were looking for or being so ridiculously expensive, we were pushing on 9:30 at night and we had promised the kids they could swim. Not only was this hotel reasonably priced, the rooms were big and very nice! They left the pool open for us. The front desk clerk was so very nice! And the breakfast....better than HI E & LaQ, which are my favs. My daughter was so impressed, we were wishing we could take this hotel with us, so we could stay here every night!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAtwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Every Hampton that I have stay at are always excellent. This Hampton however, was sub par. First of all, they didn't have our reservation on file, but when I call the 800 number it was on file. Since their computers were down, they couldn't give me a receipt for my stay. They also told me that i would not be getting my Hilton Honors points for this stay. Secondly, the first room that they gave me was already occupied by a guest. I am just glad that I didn't walk in on someone. Thirdly, the internet was not working. When I asked the front desk about it, they told me that it had been down for a while. They had no clue when it would be working again. Finally, breakfast for very lacking. The coffee and OJ was watereed down, and there was no milk for the cereal. Hopefully Hilton is going to make some changes soon, because this Hotel is giving them a bad name.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel until they make some changes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Level Contributor
152 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We have stayed at a great many Hampton Inns and have rarely been dissatisfied in any serious way. Our room was pleasant enough, but the a/c did not work, even though there was an adjustable thermostat in the room. My husband then discovered that the thermostat was simply a decoration, not connected to anything! Luckily, the weather was reasonably cool, so we didn't suffer...The breakfast was ok and the front desk person was helpful when we asked questions about Amarillo, but not about the a/c issue. I agree with others that the surrounding area is not particularly pleasant and certainly has a deserted feeling about it. I would not choose to stay here again, as there are many alternatives on the West side.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joelmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.9 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
1.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 73 in Amarillo
663 reviews
1.0 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West
Address: 6901 W Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79106-2609 (Formerly Amarillo Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Amarillo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
#12 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Texas Panhandle, our hotel is close to Interstate 40 and Amarillo's medical and shopping districts, and is just minutes from Amarillo's top attractions including Cadillac Ranch, Palo Duro Canyon State Park, the American Quarter Horse Association, The Big Texan Steakhouse and Route 66. Each room comes with an always clean and fresh Hampton bed(R) and complimentary WiFi to help you stay connected. Enjoy our free hot breakfast each morning, stay active in our fitness room, take a dip in our heated indoor pool, or stay productive at our business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Amarillo/West
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo/West Hotel Amarillo
Hampton Inn Amarillo
Hampton Inn Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing