We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovations are nice but walls are thin!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Renovations are nice but walls are thin!”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Parking lot not well lit. Front desk clerk announced my room # with 2 gentlemen near by - within hearing distance. We are Hilton Honors members so we choose Hilton brands when we can. This Hampton was less than I expected.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisawpt67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    133
    62
    29
    19
See reviews for
147
153
28
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Mineola, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Our recent stay was not impressive at all. First, you could not even tell which people were employees at the front desk and which ones were their friends visiting them. No uniforms or name tags.
The room was very outdated. The bathroom door slammed shut and jammed at the top. An older person hanging on to the door frame for support will get there fingers severely damaged.
The free breakfast was okay but they ran out of plates. One patron was told to use a bowl. For a Waffle???? And sugar free syrup was mixed in with regular syrup. The kitchen person was not very helpful when I couldn't find the regular syrup. You should never mix sugar free with anything else for safety reasons. I will not be staying at this Hampton Inn again and I am a Hilton member.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tammy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed here on our way to Dallas. This hotel is being remodeled but was not a problem for us. Very nice staff and room. We will stay here again. Lots of nice places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingnonni99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
131 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This was a decent, pleasant place to stay. The bed was comfortable. It wasn't a suite, so it did not have a refrigerator or microwave. It did have a flat screen TV. We didn't hear neighbors, so the insulation is better than most.
There is an Outback restaurant and a steak restaurant nearby and we tried both of them. The service and food was excellent at both.
We would definitely stay at this Hampton again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dyana221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We pass through Amarillo each year on the way to and from Colorado. We usually stay at the Residence Inn but chose the Hampton because it is cheaper. We were very pleased with our stay. The rooms were clean, beds were very comfortable, and the employees were polite and helpful. The breakfast room is being renovated so the smell in the lobby was sometimes strong from the paint and glue and such, but it was not a problem once we entered the hallway and our room. The second day we were there, the interim breakfast room was crowded and the attendant had a hard time keeping up with the food demand, but other than that, I have to say that we enjoyed our stay and will stop by next year again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank millrun26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, TX
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

My husband and I made our reservations for our grandson's wedding about six months ago to stay at this hotel. When we arrived, we discovered that the lobby is under renovation with a large piece of plastic dividing the lobby desk from the rest of the lobby where the only access in the lobby is access to the front desk. (The rest of the lobby is not accessible because it is under construction. The pool/sauna area door was also locked with a sign saying the pool was closed for maintenance The pool had no water in it. We were planning to invite our family over for a get together before the wedding, but were unable to use the pool at all. We asked the desk clerk how long the pool would be closed and he said "indefinitely".. We complained about our plans being ruined and he said he would give us a credit for the inconvenience. We got the bill this morning and he had deducted a WHOPPING $10 off our room. I spoke to the manager and complained again about the lack of amenities and explained the story about the family plans. She was patronizing and said we should have known the pool would have to be closed for maintenance and indicated the desk clerk was wrong that told us it would be closed "indefinitely". She did the right thing and gave us the room at no cost in an effort to make things right.
This hotel sits at the back of a property that fronts an alley and overlooks buildings on either side. Our third floor room had a view of two roofs, an alley, and the roof of an adjoining apartment complex. In Hampton's favor, though, the room was very clean and comfortable-if all one wants is a clean, comfortable room with no view, no amenities, and no indoor pool or lobby. Also, they did comp the room, so we were not out any expense-just the inconvenience and aggravation of the whole ordeal on our grandson's wedding day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amarillo_TXPjgeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

It makes a difference when you are honored by the general managers presence. He checkem me in and explained he was from California. In five minutes I felt like I knew a lot about him and that we were lifelong friends. He transformed an overnight stay in Amarillo into an experience that was comparable to a magical stay out of a Disney fairy tale.

First they (hotel staff) comped a desert for me at the Hoffbrau Steakhouse (it was AMAZING) and called ahead to BWW's for me to see if I could get a seat to watch the Mav's game. They got me in, I had a great time, and the Mav's won!!!! When I got back to my room I enjoyed it too. In a nutshell, the rooms are newly renovated, they have the best complimentary breakfast I've EVER had, and always had cookies and refreshments available. If you are in Amarillo you absolutely HAVE to see if you can get a room there!!!

Room Tip: It's a Hilton
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willis_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
0.9 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Amarillo
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 73 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
1.0 mi away
My Place Hotel-Amarillo, TX
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amarillo I-40 West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West
Address: 6901 W Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79106-2609 (Formerly Amarillo Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amarillo
#11 Family Hotel in Amarillo
#12 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Texas Panhandle, our hotel is close to Interstate 40 and Amarillo's medical and shopping districts, and is just minutes from Amarillo's top attractions including Cadillac Ranch, Palo Duro Canyon State Park, the American Quarter Horse Association, The Big Texan Steakhouse and Route 66. Each room comes with an always clean and fresh Hampton bed(R) and complimentary WiFi to help you stay connected. Enjoy our free hot breakfast each morning, stay active in our fitness room, take a dip in our heated indoor pool, or stay productive at our business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Amarillo/West
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo/West Hotel Amarillo
Hampton Inn Amarillo
Hampton Inn Hotel Amarillo
Amarillo Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing