We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price!”
Review of Amarillo Zoo

Amarillo Zoo
Ranked #7 of 50 things to do in Amarillo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Founded in 1955 the Amarillo Zoo is a place to share the wonders of the animal world with kids of all ages. The beautiful 15-acre site is located in Thompson Park and features over 60 species of animals. The zoo is designed for fun and discovery and will provide a lifetime of memories. Here, you'll do more than just look...you'll experience the animal world.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
1 review
“Great for the price!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Yes this zoo is small but it has a variety of neat animals. My family ranges from 50 to 14months and we ALL had a good time. The only animals that i saw that didnt have much shade were the buffalo but had lots of room to roam. The reptile exhibit was pretty cool too. And yes they do have misters they are big blue and tall there is a silver button on the side that you push. I dont really understand why this zoo gets bad reviews. You can tell its small by looking at it and you hardly pay anything to get in. We loved it and will be back

Helpful?
Thank kara13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    69
    44
    18
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Need to install misters!!”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The poor animals had no shade on a scorcher day! Felt horribly hot ourselves and no way to cool down. The reptile exhibit was ok, but not the greatest.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It is better than no zoo at all”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My kids and I love going to the Amarillo zoo! It is small, but that means a small admission and even a free day on Mondays. Our favorite part is the lions.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Miranda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“These poor animals!”
Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

If they charged admission on Monday's and charged more than $3 other days, maybe they could give these poor animals a better habitat to live in. They are also spending money to put up 2 other buildings. The monkeys had no shade. There were bare trees, some rope, 2 bench things they sat under for shade, and it was surrounded by shallow water. The lemurs habitat wasn't very big but at least they had shade. The steer and peacock had shade and some dirt. The lions habitat and tigers habitat had nice grass, trees, and shade. The poor black bears were miserable. One just walked back and forth by the fence looking for a way out. The servals were in a little cage and they looked like they needed a big space to run around in. The donkeys, mini horse, goats, and sheep had a little shade but no grass or hay--just dirt or concrete. This place could use some major updating to take care of these animals like they should be. If you do go, go in the morning when they open because it gets hot for you and for the animals.

Helpful?
Thank KristenCouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
368 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“For Amarillo - Good”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Another one and done. Although it's kept in good condition, there's not much to see or do here. I guess if you really want to see some exotic animals it would be okay. Great price but it sure could use some more stuff.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amarillo Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Amarillo Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing