We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Amarillo East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Amarillo East
Ranked #34 of 71 Hotels in Amarillo
Sturgeon, Missouri
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

This was a nice room for the money. It had big truck parking in the rear and was pet friendly. Both things we need. We had a nice king bed, microwave and refrigerator. Pretty good breakfast also. Will definitely stay here again when in Amarillo.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank tama940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
I appreciate you choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo for your stay, and i'm happy you enjoyed your room. Red Roof Inn is known for being pet-friendly, and i'm happy that you could use that to your advantage. Thank you for letting us know your thoughts,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    120
    88
    48
    29
See reviews for
93
102
48
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Buffalo, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed here unexpectedly after our vehicle broke down on way to my daughter's wedding in Michigan. Great place to stay if you happen to end up needing tools and food. Harbor freight tools next door and lots of restaurants. Front desk staff and manager very accomodating. Let us stay past late checkout so my husband could clean up after fixing our vehicle which was a 5 hour job! Had me put a 20 dollar deposit which they promptly gave back when we left. Hard to find good customer service these days and so refreshing when you do.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo East, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo. I'm happy you liked your room, and we do proud our staff on being accomadative and friendly, so i'm glad we could help. It's good that you took advantage of our location, and you were able to get back up and running. Thank you for posting your experience,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

I made a reservation for a room with 2 beds - was given a room with one bed. Went back to office to ask for correct room - was told that was the only room available. Called the other RRI in Amarillo - no problem - they had what I wanted. This RRI suddenly came up with room I had requested - no apologies. Got into room - killed about 10 flies with hand towel, then realized that carpet in front of sink is soaking wet. Yuck!!! Going to kill more flies now.
Oh yeah - and the wi fi apparently doesn't reach to my room.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthAnn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amarillo hotels

Shaker Heights
Level Contributor
174 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

I got this property via Hotwire. It was a good place for the price. I ate breakfast at the famous Big Texan steakhouse, its a Route 66 landmark, it originated on 66. The room was clean and the tube tv worked fine.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THINGS2LIVE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin, SD
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We only were here for the night. Checked in late like after 10 and left early. Clean room, fridge, sink outside the teeny shower/toilet area which I love so you can have multiple people doing morning bathroom stuff at the same time.
Basic decent breakfast, friendly front desk. Again, for the price, it's a bit more than you'd expect. I'd recommend for a quick night on the cheap. Ask for AAA discount too!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mevac114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
508 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Upon arrival a very friendly check in person gave me a bottle of water. After going to the room she even called to make sure everything was ok. This is an older property but the air conditioning and plumbing worked well. Internet also worked well. Breakfast was cereals, donuts, biscuits and gravy, oatmeal , toast, coffee and juice. Would not hesitate to stay there again especially for the price.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tangojohnDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Be aware that all of these rooms open to the parking lot so all traffic and noise is felt and in some instances heard. Beds are firm, A/C is cold, rooms are relatively clean but don't look too close. We were pulling a U-Haul to Denver, stopped for the night and parked in several spots in the back with others doing the same. Staff was friendly and helpful but wanted us to park with the Semis. Nope.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertENealaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Amarillo East
Days Inn Amarillo East
#33 of 71 in Amarillo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
#39 of 71 in Amarillo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Amarillo Central TX
0.3 mi away
Amarillo Inn & Suites
Amarillo Inn & Suites
#44 of 71 in Amarillo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Amarillo East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Amarillo East

Property: Red Roof Inn Amarillo East
Address: 1620 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103-2117 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Amarillo)
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Amarillo East 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Amarillo East is close to the Amarillo Convention Center, Amarillo College, the Tri-State Fairground, and the Cowboy Hall of Fame Museum and less than 3 miles from the Cal Farley Coliseum located in the Amarillo Civic Center. Downtown Amarillo is only 2 miles from this Red Roof. BSA Hospital and Northwest hospital are just 10 minutes away, and West Texas A&M University is only 20 minutes. We have a variety of great restaurants nearby-La Fiesta Mexican Restaruant, Denny's, Wendy's , Arby's McDonald's, and IHOP are all within walking distance, while the Big Texan and Texas Roadhouse are less than 5 minutes away. Red Roof Amarillo East features free WiFi, free hot and cold continental breakfast, a guest laundry, and a sparkling outdoor pool, open May through August. All rooms have hair dryers, irons & ironing boards, and in-room coffee makers; selected rooms have free microwaves and mini-fridges. This location has Cable TV including HBO in all rooms, free on-site parking, weekly rates, and also offers complimentary coffee in the lobby and handy vending machines for snacks. Red Roof Amarillo features exterior entrances. Ask our friendly staff about tours and information about local attractions. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof Inn Amarillo East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Howard Johnson Amarillo
Amarillo Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing