We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place for the right price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown
Ranked #38 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We checked in and they called the room to make sure everything was ok. I have to say the king size bed was so comfortable. Because we traveled in November it was cold and stormy. When we walked into the room the heat was already on. (It seems the house keeping thought ahead and turned it on for us.) We need extra towels and they gave them to us no extra charge and no hassle. They had a great breakfast laid out the next morning in the lobby area. An check out was easy. I will stay there every time I have to travel through that area. Loved it.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms have better view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for staying at Red Roof Inn in Amarillo. We are so happy that you loved your stay here with us and will stay with us again. I will let the housekeepers know how much you appreciated their extra effort in making your stay more comfortable. We hope to see you again soon.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 398 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

Friendly service, clean room, fair price. My wife and I arrived late in the evening and the clerk (Kym) offered us friendly hospitality. The room was clean. The continental breakfast was average. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms NOT facing the interstate are quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MountainMochilero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Red Roof Inn in Amarillo. I am happy that you would stay with us again. We hope to see you soon.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Consistently clean and courteous.

No surprises, just the way I like it.

The continental breakfast was average, but we also stayed on Thanksgiving day. The hotel was mostly deserted.

Within walking distance of a Denny's if you arrive late.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Red Roof Inn in Amarillo. We hope that you will stay with us again.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

After travelling from Oklahoma City, it was nice to come to a smaller town.
This was a comfortable nice stay at this hotel.
Clean, spacious & everything you would expect.
Courteous receptionist.
Great value for money in an ideal location.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on ground level if you have luggage. If not you have to carry them up stairs.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo for your stay. We hope you will visit us again.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Red Roof Inns are usually fine but the one in Amarillo, Texas is dog house. The linens were very old and had stains aLL OVER THEM!! I spoke to the management about it and they did not care!!! The room was filthy and smelled like fabreeze which was used instead of cleaning the bedspread or blanket. It was just gross!!! We were there very recently, mid October.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chachaellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

I'm sorry to hear that you were not happy with your room. Red Roof Inn Amarillo thanks you for your review. Our housekeeping department works hard to make sure all linens, blankets, and bedspreads are clean and fresh. I will notify the housekeeping department of the complaint and we hope that you will stay with us again.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The Red Roof in Amarillo has the nicest people!! Rooms are very clean. We have stayed there on and off for the last 2 months due to husbands job. Would highly recommend this hotel to everyone. We will stay there EVERY time we pass through Amarillo.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. A/C's work very well in the hot summer
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo for your stay. We hope that you will visit us again soon.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Hubby and I have been trying to book rooms in advance on line, we are finding it so convenient..Red Roof's staff was sweet and smiling and very eager to help.
Room was really comfy.. only draw back was there were so many flies in the room, after a bit of ballet and swatting them we were finally fly free LOL
Would return to this place again.. they are cleaning up the rooms and making them more presentable and replacing the TV's for flat screens by the end of the year.
We will probably do alot more bookings on line for the rest of our trip, saves so many headaches :-)
Breakfast was nice,,, no complaints...

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper ask for a room in the far back.. the front is right in front of a busy e...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CloggieUsa2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo. I'm sorry for the inconvenience concerning the flies. I'll be sure to talk to the appropriate department. Take care, and be sure to stop by soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Amarillo East
Days Inn Amarillo East
#36 of 72 in Amarillo
667 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Airport
Sleep Inn Airport
#24 of 72 in Amarillo
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ashmore Inn & Suites
Ashmore Inn & Suites
#22 of 72 in Amarillo
406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amarillo Inn & Suites
Amarillo Inn & Suites
#45 of 72 in Amarillo
108 reviews
5.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
#42 of 72 in Amarillo
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown

Address: 1620 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103-2117 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Amarillo East)
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Price Range: $43 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Amarillo Airport/Downtown is close to the Amarillo Convention Center, Amarillo College, the Tri-State Fairground, and the Cowboy Hall of Fame Museum and less than 3 miles from the Cal Farley Coliseum located in the Amarillo Civic Center. Downtown Amarillo is only 2 miles from this Red Roof. BSA Hospital and Northwest hospital are just 10 minutes away, and West Texas A&M University is only 20 minutes. We have a variety of great restaurants nearby-La Fiesta Mexican Restaurant, Denny's, Wendy's , Arby's McDonald's, and IHOP are all within walking distance, while the Big Texan and Texas Roadhouse are less than 5 minutes away. Red Roof Amarillo Airport/Downtown features free WiFi, free hot and cold continental breakfast, a guest laundry, and a sparkling outdoor pool, open May through August. All rooms have hair dryers, irons & ironing boards, and in-room coffee makers; selected rooms have free microwaves and mini-fridges. This location has Cable TV including HBO in all rooms, free on-site parking, weekly rates, and also offers complimentary coffee in the lobby and handy vending machines for snacks. Red Roof Amarillo features exterior entrances. Ask our friendly staff about tours and information about local attractions. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Amarillo Airport/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Howard Johnson Amarillo
Amarillo Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing